We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere - attentive service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cour des Loges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Cour des Loges to your Saves list
Cour des Loges
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, 4, 6, 8 rue du Boeuf, 69005 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

What a perfect marriage of an ancient building with modern playfulness. Our room was an adorable duplex. It was lavish in dark reds and stone and very romantic. Their is a bright sunny roof garden and a wonderful sunny (but covered) courtyard for breakfast. The location is perfect for exploring old Lyons. Best part - the wonderful bartender and cozy bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you had a sunny and charming time with us and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    161
    61
    36
    14
See reviews for
71
427
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merles, France
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I have much that is good to report about this hotel and much also that is both sad and bad. To begin positively, I have seldom met such helpful and pleasant front of house staff. Led by M. Ravet, the incomparable Chief Concierge, all personnel who met with clients were warm, polite and efficient. They are well trained and live up to the hotel's 5* status. The problems stem first from the historic building itself and the difficulty of maintenance and second from arguably poor supervision in the kitchen.
Building and maintenance: our room in the cheapest (but not cheap) category was way too small for a 5*: there was a large bath, but no shower. There was at least 0.5 inches of loose play when the door was closed: breaking in would have been easy. No facilities for tea making were provided. However, bed linen and towels were top class and the wifi was fast and reliable. The spa area was poor. No staff except when a massage was booked, the gel and shampoo containers in both showers empty, a tiny pool with a broken wave machine and a sauna which was switched off when I wanted to use it. On my second visit, the water cooler was also empty.
Breakfast was the only meal we took in the hotel. It was a buffet breakfast and the ingredients were first class - all bases covered. However, there were no warm plates so hot food cooled rapidly. We had to send back coffee to the kitchen to be reheated. The bacon was a disaster because it was not kept properly and was dried out. The reconstituted scrambled eggs were dreadful, tasteless and runny. There is no coffee shop equivalent, but fortunately the hotel is surrounded by restaurants. I just wonder why they don't compete.
A minor irritation is the car parking. Your car is taken away for / from you when you arrive and you have no further access to it without a clumsy 15 minutes ordering process to have it driven back to you. At 35 euros per night, this is not good enough.
In summary, this will have been a wonderful hotel some 20 to 30 years ago. It still has a lot to offer the uncritical traveller. In terms of what is expected from 5* today, it no longer fills the bill. My fear and sadness are that it is in decline : I wish the wonderful staff well.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
First of all we are really sorry that you expected a different experience than the one you had and there are many reasons for that that I m gonna try to explain.
Indeed the building is really old and that is probably the most charming side of the hotel. But as you said "old" comes with "imperfection" and nowadays, we are looking for perfection. From that perspective, Cour Des Loges suits people who seek more a time travel to revisit the charm of the renaissance than a flawless stay in a classic palace. It is absolutely true that some of our rooms are smaller than in some other 5* hotels because we chose to keep the volumes as they were from the very beginning. Consequently, we put emphasis on the decoration but offering notwithstanding, all the comfort you expect to find in a 5* stars hotel as all the bathrooms of the 61 rooms were renovated with modern facilities.
We are glad that you appreciated the service, it is really important for the team of Cour Des Loges to always offer our clients the best service she can. And for that reason you should know that you can call the room service whenever you want and ask for coffee or tea or even food.
We don't understand your feeling about our breakfast. We mostly get good appreciations about it, and we'll ask our Chef to be very thoughtful.
We are so aware of the fact that the hotel itself and his location can be inconvenient as it's a listed historical monument erect in a pedestrian area but that is a price to pay to have the chance to live a very unique experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

An enjoyable experience and some enchanting architecture. The staff were very helpful and the restaurant was excellent. The hotel is located in the pedestrian zone, which takes some finding and he sat nav abandons you in a road that runs parallel to the hotel, so you will need the map! For a five star hotel there were signs of wear and the air con did not work, neither of which I would expect from a five star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We thank you for your review.
Indeed, the little streets of the old town are tricky that's why you should not hesitate to call the hotel as the concierge will of course guide you.
Make sure that we will do our best for this air conditioning issue never happens again.
The whole team of Cour Des Loges looks forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Unique architecture. Four 16th century buildings were united to make this charming elegant hotel in Vieux Lyon. The large central courtyard houses a wonderful Michelin restaurant. There are separate elevators going to rooms in different buildings. We stayed in room 39. It was all by itself with no room nearby. Staff was the most helpful I have had a hotel in a long time. They gave us great detailed advise on sites, especially the traboules. Location is excellent in the heart of the old city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We want to thank you very much for you review that pleased the whole team.
We are glad you liked your stay so much and we look forward to seeing you in Cour Des Loges very soon where you should try the Sunday brunch because it is really worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Couple of years ago I had stayed in this enchanted hotel. After one night it was impossible to forget that extravagant place and inhibit the desire of becoming a perennial host.

The year after I went there with my wife who is an architect. Believe me she did not want to go back home :-)

Now we are trying to visit Cour de Loges every year because "All 61 guestrooms at the Hotel Cour des Loges are uniquely decorated, fully equipped with state-of-the-art amenities and intricately furnished to complement the original architectural design." (http://www.courdeslogeslyon.com/ )

Room Tip: Each guestroom is better than the other !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
First of all, we want to thank you for your review which is truly pleasant to read as we wish all of our clients became "perennial hosts". And how can a team of a "so one of a kind architectured hotel" be more fulfilled than by fulfilling an architect?
If I may, I ll suggest you to come back to Cour Des Loges and to stay long enough to have your nouns engraved in the walls and therefore become officially two "perennial hosts" for our greatest pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We love room 28 in particular. The staff is kind, respectful, and fantastic. The rooms are unique, the spa is small but the steam and sauna are small but fantastic. They are a great way to enjoy the facilities with a friend, partner, tea, and the roof deck. The bar is fantastic (margarita and old fashioned) so a steam may be needed in the morning. We really love this hotel. (This was our 3rd time back and see no change)

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
We truly thank you for your review. It is always a delight to know that our guests have the same pleasure to come back to the hotel. We hope that you will get the chance to try our sunday brunch.
We look forward to seeing you shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genk, Limburg, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were taken to a room with some water on the floor. The person taking us there was sincerely ashamed about this and we got an upgrade to a split level room, very spacious, quite unique in its decoration.
The staff in both the hotel and the restaurant are just amazing, they really make you feel at ease. When we were a little too tired to have the desert in the restaurants, it was brought to our room in no time. Great place !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
First of all, we'd like to apologize one more time for the incident in the room.
However, we are delighted that the room you were updated to, pleased you and that the service met your expectations.
We hope to see you again in our hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cour des Loges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cour des Loges

Address: 2, 4, 6, 8 rue du Boeuf, 69005 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#6 Family Hotel in Lyon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#9 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cour des Loges 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cour des Loges hotel is one of the finest jewels in Lyon's old town. Its Renaissance courtyard, home to the Loges Michelin-starred restaurant, 61 rooms and suites, the hanging gardens, the Pure Altitude Spa... Whether for romance or gourmet delights, on business, for a shopping or cultural break, treat yourself to an exceptional stay in Lyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cour des Loges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cour Des Loges Lyon
Cour Des Loges Hotel Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cour des Loges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.