We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality in Lyon old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cour des Loges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cour des Loges to your Saves list
Cour des Loges
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, 4, 6, 8 rue du Boeuf, 69005 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Morzine, France
1 review
“Quality in Lyon old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Fabulous hotel in an amazing location in historic Lyon. Great service and ambience. would definitely recommend it if you fancy a bit of indulgence.
We used the spa which was lovely but verging on the small side.
Our room was comfortable and we loved the decor.
We loved the character of the renaissance buildings and the courtyard setting.
Within walking distance of a variety of "Bouchon" restaurants and bars this is a fabulous choice of hotel for your stay in Lyon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
The whole team of Cour des Loges is happy that you loved your stay at our hotel.
We hope you will come back to try our Café Epicerie meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    178
    66
    38
    14
See reviews for
76
470
19
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of my wife's SRS conference in September, and just after our wedding. This was an absolutely amazing hotel, a huge change from the Radisson we had been staying at for the conference.

This hotel is located in the old part of town on cobblestone roads. It is tucked away and conveniently hidden from the hustle. The local cabs are able to gain access to the hotel, so you won't need to haul your luggage across the cobble stones.

The Decor of the hotel is a step back in time. There are some amazing sites and views and a sightseeing trip in itself. There are several common rooms, granules, staircases, and even the room itself that are photo worthy.

The staff and the concierge are extremely friendly and prompt. Everyone was always willing to assist and with a smile. We had utilized the bar, the restaurant, and the spa. All were quite expensive, but you notice the finer details and unique touches each area contributes. The downside with the spa was they only seem to offer relaxing massages...no deep tissue. It was still a good one though.

The hotel room was beautiful. The coloring, design, and layout were unique. We had a standard room, and it was on the small side. But i also have to remember that the Cour de Loges is a transitioned 14th century building. The uniqueness of the hotel makes up for the size.

I would highly recommend a stay at the Cour de Loges. I hope to go back again myself if ever in Lyon. the location is perfect and the atmosphere really helps you see the finer things in life.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We want to truly thank you for your nice review. It's obvious that you are sensitive to history and that's how our clients are able to live a completely new experience in Cour Des Loges.
We really hope to see you soon in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Warning: if you are arriving by car then get GREAT directions first. We have a brand new car with new GPS and it could not get us there. It's because this hotel is located in the middle of old town, a pedestrian-only maze of tiny narrow streets, no cars allowed. After circling the entire area three times and 45 mins my wife spotted a small sign with the hotel name and an arrow. We followed the road and it ended at the entrance to the pedestrian-only area blocked by one of those short round steel barricades that retract into the street. Nothing on the barricade saying to go through it it to get to the hotel. But I pushed the assist button, no one answered. Then a ticket popped out and the barricade lowered.

I drove through and down the streets, that barely fit the car, through literally hundreds of people who have to stand to the side and look at you like you are a menace. There are no other directions or signs to the hotel. We drove about 4 blocks through people, outdoor restaurants and finally a restaurant worker said are you looking for Cours de Loges? He had us go back a block, up a block and over. By the time we got there we were frazzled, embarrassed and arguing of course. Not a place for cars if you don't know exactly what your doing. BUT...

When you go inside the construction and decor is like little else you have seen. Our room was spacious enough, neat design, great windows,
I understand some reviewers saying not everyone's cup of tea, but we really appreciated the style. As for five-star, well this just does not feel quite like one. Clearly central location, great service, great concierge, great design, neat bar, but very perceptual imperfections and quirks that if I ranked would be 4 star. Especially after arriving from a true 5 star, the Beau-Rivage in Lausanne, Switzerland. See my review of it.
Bottom line I'm glad we found it, glad we stayed, enjoyed it will be hard to forget the uniqueness, would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We want to thank you for your review and we do know that the hotel access is quite difficult, but it's the price to pay to live a unique experience in the old town of Lyon. Nevertheless, we try to make our clients arrival as easy as possible that is why you can find a plan on our website that gives you accurate directions or you can call our concierge for further informations or even if you get lost.
We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location (a nice area in old Lyon), has very helpful and courteous staff and its common areas are beautiful and almost awe-inspiring.

Our room, however, was a disappointment as, apart from being really dark, it was not equipped with a proper bathroom. Instead, it had a bath tub in the window niche and a basin under the stairs (it was a split-level room). The worst part was the toilet: it was in a badly finished claustrophobic cubicle and it gave a loud creaking noise every time somebody was sitting on it. I am sure that some people would appreciate the quirky charm of such an arrangement, but if I am paying for a five-star hotel, I would expect at least a proper bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We are really sorry that the design of your room did not meet your expectations. We truly hope the next time you'll feel comfortable to ask for another room that you will enjoy.
However you would have expected more from your trip in Cour Des Loges, we hope to see you again in our hotel for a different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The architecture is well expressed. However, the rest is not very pleasing. The hotel did send us a inquiry about our experience and we did express our dislike for many things. They sent a response that they were doing their upmost to remedy many of our complaints. The sewer smell coming from the drains in our room was horrid. The fixtures for the sink, toilet, and bath/shower were from the 1970s. Hearing the street sweeper and the garbage truck on a Saturday morning was not pleasant. The breakfast buffet was with old fruit when it should have been freshly made, the bread was overly cooked to crispy. Just a very unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite or suite if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We are sorry you did not like the hotel. It is very original indeed, as the design is inspired from the renaissance. Nonetheless we would like to tell you that the oldest bathroom of the hotel is from 2011 and the fruits juices are freshly made in the kitchen during the service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

As a conference attendant, I stayed for one night (including breakfast and 2 lunches).
This hotel is one of these places where 'everything fits the picture'. Located in the heart of the Old Town. Fantastic decor all around, unparalleled service (hats off to the head concierge and his staff !), friendly staff (English-speaking !) all around, spacious room and ensuite bathroom.
A very tasty buffet for breakfast and two great lunches.
No time to explore the spa/gym and the rooftop garden, unfortunately.
When in Lyon, I will definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We want to thank you for your very nice review. We hope you will come back soon to enjoy another tasty breakfast and live another experience in our hotel as each of our rooms has its own style and soul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a beautiful example of how you can combine thoughtful renovation, luxury and charm in a historical location. The hotel is composed of several adjacent buildings from the Renaissance, which are skillfully interwoven so as to provide wonderful views from almost every angle. Our room was spacious and very much evoked the history, while having all the necessities of modern life. The roof garden was an added treat. The staff is very helpful, knowledgeable and responsive. Their suggestions were excellent. We will return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. You just underlined the particularity of Cour Des Loges: a combination of history and modernity and we are thrilled that it met your expectations. Each of our rooms have a different soul so we hope you will come back soon to discover another one that will make you travel back in the renaissance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cour des Loges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cour des Loges

Address: 2, 4, 6, 8 rue du Boeuf, 69005 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#8 Business Hotel in Lyon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#10 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cour des Loges 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cour des Loges hotel is one of the finest jewels in Lyon's old town. Its Renaissance courtyard, home to the Loges Michelin-starred restaurant, 61 rooms and suites, the hanging gardens, the Pure Altitude Spa... Whether for romance or gourmet delights, on business, for a shopping or cultural break, treat yourself to an exceptional stay in Lyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Cour des Loges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cour Des Loges Lyon
Cour Des Loges Hotel Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cour des Loges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.