We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like textiles, go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musee des Tissus et des Arts Decoratif

Musee des Tissus et des Arts Decoratif
34 rue de la Charite, 69002 Lyon, France (Carnot - Gailleton)
33 04 78 38 42 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 69 Attractions in Lyon
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic collection of textiles and decorative arts.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If you like textiles, go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Very enthusiastic staff who make sure you visit every section! Was a bit difficult maintaining the attention of our children (12 & 8) but good for adults

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    66
    31
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Do you love fabric art? Then this is heaven. Tapestries. Carpets. Silks from Lyon's past. Modern fabrics. Ancient Egyptian fabrics. Oh yes, and half the museum is full of decorative arts, but I didn't get there as I was seduced by the fabrics.

At the time of my visit there was an temporary exhibit of chairs by modern designers scattered throughout the museum, and the guards kept insisting I sit in them! As I was often the only person in each room, and my French is limited, I would give in and simply sit on the works-of-art chairs. I can't wait to tell my furniture-designer brother-in-law that I sat on a Archile Castiglioni!

The museum is not crowded and gift shop is full of fabric temptations.

On the down side, the museum lacks air conditioned and was stifling the day I was there. Plan your visit accordingly. Visit this gem if you have any interest at all in decorative arts or fabrics - it is worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando fl
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Two museums at once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Note that the arts deco museum is closed between noon and one pm but no problem, I began my visit with the musee des tissus.
I personally preferred the museum of tissus (fabrics). Good presentation.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Out of the way, poorly displayed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Interesting material but poorly displayed. Hot inside and poorly lit. Gift shop worth a visit. Some unusual modern decorative arts. A different museum experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Double museum depicting both the history of fabric and applied arts.
Magnificient temporary exhibition of Ruth Gurvich.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee des Tissus et des Arts Decoratif also viewed

 

Been to Musee des Tissus et des Arts Decoratif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee des Tissus et des Arts Decoratif, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.