We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holocost Museam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of the Resistance

Museum of the Resistance
14 Avenue Berthelot, 69007 Lyon, France
04 78 72 23 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 70 Attractions in Lyon
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum and depository of historical documents regarding the French resistance to Nazi occupation, of which Lyon played a central role.
lyon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Holocost Museam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This covers the Holocost from a French point of view--- with parts going beyond the terrible event that Jewish people specifically suffered. It is housed in a building that served as Gestopo headquarters during the war. This is certainly not a fun and feel good subject. But an important part of French history.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    26
    15
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worth a visit but should consider non-French speaker needs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Situated in the building that housed the Gestapo in the war, the museum provides a factual view of the times, showing the different resistance groups and other details of the time such as the refugee status and impact on the area. Lyon attracts a number of foreign visitors, and the museum doesn't appear to be set up to attract many of them - little signage outside, exhibits not in chronological order, and mostly with long French text. Some audio is translated, and an English recording was available two hours after we arrived, but the only English guide books were a few copies to borrow. Definitely interesting, but a multi-lingual audio headphone guide or something similar would help the experience, and I'm sure generate more visits - one of the few translated videos of a 16 year old taken prisoner and spending the war in different camps was really moving.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Large space but not enough to fill it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Not as interesting as I had hoped, considering Lyon was one of the most important areas of resistance in France during World War II. It is well laid out with plenty of information. The problem was I felt it rather clinical, not many primary sources and not a great deal of personal reminiscenses except for snippets of audio visual stuff. I was more impressed by the Resistance Museum in Besancon

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“worth going”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

As an American who doesn't know a lot of WW2 history concerning France, I now have a better understanding of how the war affected this region. My husband is a fairly fluent French reader which helped me a lot; however, there are plenty of English recordings and an English movie so that even if I didn't have such a guide, it still would have been worth my time. It was easy to get to by bus and then a short walk from the bus line. I wouldn't take children to see the movie, but the museum would have been okay for the younger than high school child. To be clear, the movie has verbal descriptions of torture, that included violence against women and use of animals.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very moving exhibitions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very moving museum in the old military hospital taken over by the Gestapo during the war. Plenty of things translated into English apart from the Klaus Barbie trial film. My French is ok and you can certainly hear the emotion in the witnesses voices but I couldn't catch everything so some subtitles would have been nice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Resistance also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the Resistance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of the Resistance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.