We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing miniatures” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musee Miniature et Cinema

Musee Miniature et Cinema
60, rue Saint Jean, 69005 Lyon, France
33 0 4 72 00 24 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 69 Attractions in Lyon
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This stately old building is located in Vieux Lyon.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing miniatures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The most detailed and real like miniatures I have seen in my life. I felt like I'm in Adventures of Gulliver's. I especially liked the fruits. The cinema part was not very satisfying some of the cartoons and films were only in French.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    260
    33
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Unusual museum, worth a look”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a strange place. You start off with some faithfully recreated sets from the 2006 film 'Perfume' (which, unless you've seen the film, can only be of limited interest). Then there are two floors of props and models from films (moderately interesting).

But at the top of the building is a fascinating collection of extraordinary detailed miniature sets of different types - inside an opera house, a living room in the 1970s, a restaurant etc. The work that must have gone into these miniatures is incredible. I would suggest skipping the lower floors and going straight to the miniatures - have a quick look at the cinema section on the way down.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Well worth a detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This museum deserves to be better advertised.
This is an attraction for people who are interested in the many aspects of miniaturism, whether it be film, models or dolls.
Our family party of three generations was easily entertained here

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little museum for adults and kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Beautifully crafted scenes with lots of details. The film masks etc were less of interest to me but others seemed to enjoyed them. Can be a little bit of a crush getting round when busy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This museum is split into roughly 2 parts, movie miniatures, mock-ups, and models as well as more classical miniature displays built to scale (mostly 1:12)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Miniature et Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Musee Miniature et Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee Miniature et Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.