We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this if you like SciFi and/or cult fils” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musee Miniature et Cinema

Musee Miniature et Cinema
60, rue Saint Jean, 69005 Lyon, France
33 0 4 72 00 24 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 69 Attractions in Lyon
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This stately old building is located in Vieux Lyon.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Don't miss this if you like SciFi and/or cult fils”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We happened across this as we were visiting Vieux Lyon. It is over 8 levels so is quite large. The first levels are sets for a Dustin Hoffman film called Perfume. The Story of a murderer. This is followed by models from films such as Independence Day and The Three Musketeers. It then has costumes, props, figures from a whole host of SciFi and cult films including Star Wars, Buffy, Hellboy, Aliens etc. The top four floors are devoted to exquisitely detailed reproductions of scenes and places in French life e.g. Maxims, Lyon Prison, tea shops, boulangeries, schoolrooms etc. the eye for detail and workmanship is amazing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    260
    33
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went to view the film sets and props, but were completely seduced by the miniatures on the upper floors. Every time we thought we had seen the most amazing object, we would come across something even more astonishing a little further on. A definite must for sci-fi and film geeks, but I think it's well worth a visit whatever your interests. Personal favourite was the replica of Maxim's restaurant in Paris, right down to the 2mm long cutlery. Just gorgeous!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angers, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great sci fi - movie props and effects”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went in with trepidation, it was bigger than expected. Preferred the movie sci fi things inside than the miniatures. Take a bottle of water - it gets quiet warm with so many people. One good thing - there are toilets inside.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Strangely interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I wouldn't have thought to go to this attraction, but my friend wanted to. Afterward I was surprised that I really did enjoy it. There are many levels in and out of adjoining buildings that have large rooms presenting works. The first few floors encase relics from movies and some actual movie sets, including Perfume: The story of a Murderer. Never heard of it? Neither had it, so of course I had to watch it that night.
The remaining few upper levels revealed the bizarre world of people that built miniatures. Not sure if you're into that, but some of them were SOOO tiny!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Went in based on other peoples recommendations and are pleased we did. We had our 10 year old boy with us and he enjoyed it very much as did we.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Miniature et Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Musee Miniature et Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee Miniature et Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.