We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lyon Apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Grange de Fourviere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Grange de Fourviere
Save
You added La Grange de Fourviere to your Saves list
89 Quai Pierre Scize, 69005 Lyon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 56 Lyon B&B and Inns
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Lyon Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We traveled as a family (3 children 11-14years). We stayed 4 nights in the apartment (just next door to the B&Bs). Our stay was very enjoyable and we found our apartment very roomy, comfortable and clean. It had everything we needed for our time there. It was great to have the little storage room for our luggage and even though we needed to use the bed settee in the lounge, still had enough room in the apartment to relax when we were there. Being in a central location, you will get traffic noise. We found it was not a problem if we kept our windows closed at night - we slept soundly. The location of the apartment was great. We walked everywhere as this is the best way to get a real feel for the place. It was only a 5-10 minute walk to Vieux Lyon downhill which we managed with our kids without any complaints. Our experience of the apartment and area in no way compares to previous negative comments. We were very satisfied.

Catherine was very welcoming and gave us plenty of information on the sights of Lyon, restaurants and surrounding area. The apartment does not come with parking but Catherine gave us one of the B&B spots, initially for 5 euro a night (very reasonable) but at the end of our stay, insisted on giving us back the money as her B&B tenants didn't need the car space.

We would highly recommend this accommodation and would definitely use this accommodation again if we returned to Lyon.

Room Tip: Apartment is a good option for families as it is self contained and provides space for the children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    14
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
60
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have read the previous reviews. We agree with elmolincolin. We visited in September, and yes, it was still quite warm. And yes, there is no a/c, but that is normal in Europe for accommodation such as this. If you want a/c, go stay in a hotel!! The room was small, but quite functional, with a nice shower. Bed was great. Catherine was the perfect host, and gave us lots of information about Lyon. Breakfast was simple, but lovely, with home made pastries and jams a feature. The address is also perfect for access to Vieux Lyon and beyond. It's a simple downhill 10-15 minute walk, and you are there! Coming back - there's always the funicular, with a 5 minute walk back home. We thought that, to find a B&B this close to the centre of Lyon, and at a reasonable price, was almost unbelievable. The parking is free - just park where you are asked to!! And, the rooms are NOT in the basement. The communal living area/kitchenette is also an added attraction. Whilst we were there, there was a family staying, who had just moved to Lyon, and were in the process of finding a place to live. They were finding it quite acceptable. All in all, excellent value for the money (remember that - you pay for what you get!). We have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I, too, was at this B&B for two nights in May, was drawn by the free parking, but would never return to these basement rooms in an obscure neighborhood. It's on a short, ugly and hard-to-find side street with no charm at all; it's also one house away from a corner where moped riders accelerated their noisy bikes at all hours of the night. According to the landlady, it was a high-crime neighborhood; so, all windows and doors were barred and we were ordered to unlock and relock two outer doors at every passage. The area was crummy.

Our room was definitely in a former basement and the best of the three which we saw as it had, at least, its own bath. It was tiny, too small to handle unpacking and such, with a hard bed and cast-off furniture. The bath and shower were tiny as well. All three faced the afternoon sun, had no AC, no cross-ventilation and were mighty hot, even in May. No room for nightstands or reading lamps, either. Our room's view consisted of looking at our car's bumper. Breakfast at a long, monk's table was very simple. The landlady insisted on payment in cash, from which you can draw your own conclusions. I saw nothing charming or excellent about this place and would not recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I am at a loss to understand the previous negative reviews. We visited in the middle of a severe August heat wave, and our ground floor room (it is not a basement) remained cool throughout our stay. The room itself is spacious, comfortable, tastefully decorated, and there is a nice lounge adjacent that quests are free to use.
Our hostess was charming, very friendly, and could not have been more welcoming. Catherine went out of her way to be sure that we were comfortable. She provided us with many excellent tips on what to do, and more importantly, where to eat, in Lyon. Her traditional French breakfasts were perfect.
The house is in a quiet and ‘up-market’ neighborhood, and very convenient to transport. Vieux Lyon is two stops on the funicular, which runs every ten minutes.
We cannot recommend La Grange de Fourvière too highly. Given the quality of the accommodation, the price represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

We booked for 4 nights and stayed one. Things started to decline when we got into trouble for parking in the owner's position. The room was hardly big enough to change your mind. After an herrendous night perspiring on a bed that felt like a foam matress on a box and being unable to open the only window we decided to leave and cut our losses.The rooms are in the basement of a home and are hardly quiet as you can hear every footstep of those above. I woud not recommend this B&B. We found a serviced apartment that was much more comfortable and cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oranienburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I had the chance to stay in the apartment as well as in one of the bedrooms and I liked both.
The apartment is the attic floor in a building next to the hotel and quite charming, clean and well equipped (fridge, stove, plenty of kitchen tools, washing maschine, TV and DVD, Internetacess, fireplace).
The bedroom in the hotel was very clean as well and also nicely done up. Shower and sink were within the room (no separated bathroom)- haven't seen that before but it was alright.
Breakfast was typical french-I guess-not very exuberant but completely satisfying (but nothing for cheese and sausage in the morning lovers...just sweet things were served). I highly recommend the delicious homemade jams and cakes-yumm!!
Madame Schilling is very caring and helps out with some maps and good informations about where to go and what to do.
The surrounding is lovely, very close to the Hills of Fourviere and the old amphitheatre+ in a good walking distance to Vieux Lyon )if you don't want to walk you can use the train).
Nightnoises are existent but compared to other parts in the city it still seems like a quite area.
So I really enjoyed my stay there and would ask for a bed anytime again I might be in Lyon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I found very well located La Grande de Fourviere. You can have the feeling of the old traditional quartier and just 3 min away from the funiculare station which connects with the metro. You will be able to see a real French quartier with all ther traditional minimarkets, bakeries and bistros. In only 2 stations you are right in the Vieux Lyon.
It was perfect to move around the city. The house is located on a hill near the Church of Fourviere. This is an amazing landmark with lots of gardens and wonderful view of the city. I am a runner so the gardens and the roman anfitheater was a big plus for me.

Madame Catehrine is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is good and the rooms are clean. If you are looking to an option to a hotel, this is a perfect place at a reasonable price. I would go back again. A bien tot!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Grange de Fourviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grange de Fourviere

Address: 89 Quai Pierre Scize, 69005 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 B&B rooms for 5 people, very well located in old city, on the banks of the Saone. The apartment is at the 1st floor, with lift, of a 19th century building. The rooms are quiet and bright. Private bathrooms with walk-in shower, hair dryer. TV (french channels), free WIFI, AC in each room. Parking free, with reservation only. In the Renaissance area of Vieux Lyon and traboules, you will be also very close to the main areas of Lyon : Fourviere basilica and roman theaters, Place des Terreaux, Place Bellecour, Presqu'ile, Croix-Rousse, Confluence... Many restaurants and bouchons lyonnais, shops. Public transportation : subway stations Vieux Lyon (line D) and Hotel de Ville (lines A et C), bus C3, S1, 31, 19, C14, 40.. Direct access by bus from the 2 railway stations Part Dieu and Perrache. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grange de Fourviere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.