We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not happy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Paris to your Saves list
Hotel De Paris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 rue de la Platiere, 69001 Lyon, France (Terreaux - Bat D'argent)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Crossfield, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not happy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

hotel is in fair condition, extremely expensive for what it is, not a 3 start all, no air condition makes an unpleasant sleep can't leave the windows open because is very noisy, bed was uncomfortable.

Room Tip: don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
6
21
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stay for a night. The hotel is absolutely fine. Its clean and tidy and the room I had was a great size. Bed was comfortable and I slept really well. It was quiet and not overbearing.
Staff were helpful and attentive and genuinely caring.
I would stay again and have no hesitation recommending this basic, but fine little hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angers, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights. The hotel is a short walk from la Place des Terreaux. The hotel has been redone recently and the decor is a mix of cheerful design and pop colors but it is still your standard French hotel with old fashioned stairs, a small elevator and cramped rooms. The staff was pleasant enough. The breakfast was nothing special (bread and croissant, butter and jam, juice, coffee or tea) but fresh.
My only reproach would be that the only have two daily papers, Le Figaro and L'Equipe. Perfect if you are a right wing French speaking sports enthusiast !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights with our 12 month son. The hotel is centrally located and has a small lift (fits a pushchair and one adult) which was much appreciated after a day of sightseeing. Our room was a restful shade of light blue (certainly not a garish colour scheme as mentioned by some) and very generously proportioned. There was a large window in the bedroom and a shower over the bath which was great. The staff were wonderful and very helpful at booking restaurants, accommodation and giving advice. There is a city car parking building close by and parking on the street is free on Sundays and public holidays. There is a roped off area out the front of the hotel to allow you to drop off bags. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel seems like a hold one just recently renovated, located in central Lyon and pretty much close to everything. Rooms are ok, service is friendly and you're close to restaurants, bars and cinemas.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlahdp, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De Paris, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Lorzenzo,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience !

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hotel De Paris. We selected this hotel above all others due to the characterful, boutique nature mentioned in other reviews and evident from the range of images online.

It looks like a kind of space age/techno theme in reception from the concert lighting to metal on parts of the walls - very trendy. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and her gorgeous little dog, and we were given a map and a number of excellent recommendations for bars, restaurants and sites around the area (google 'Soda' for a great cocktail bar, and look out for Yomogi's Japanese restaurant). They couldn't have been more helpful.

We mentioned that we wanted the 1970s themed hotel (Bowie and Floyd framed prints adorned the walls, interesting furniture, great decor, a vintage TV and a fully working flat screen TV) at the time of booking. It is classed as a Superior Double Room on various sites, and did not disappoint. It was a large bedroom and also had a good-sized bathroom (we didn't get bath mats but we used a towel instead, so it was no problem at all). The bed was very comfy, a great night sleep. The vintage bedcover was a little marked from biro etc, but totally understandable and happens over time, and it wasn't like it could easily have been replaced as it appeared to be the only room of this theme in the hotel. It was all very clean though. The furniture was just brilliant and the purple and orange decor was very effective. However, if you're not into the 1970s theme, there are a range of other themed rooms, so have a look at other visitors photos.

It's in a great location - close to the river, in the middle of a buzzing area, near murals. The evening we spent in the area was very pleasant and the aforementioned recommendations from the hotel were very helpful. There's nothing worse than going away and having a dodgy dinner or bad drinks, so the hotel's assistance with this was greatly appreciated.

The breakfast the next morning was basic, but decent enough value for around seven euros per person. The coffee was good, the breakfast room welcoming and the service quick and flexible.

It's a great place to stay for a quirky break if you like boutique hotels rather than the standard, bland, identical rooms of larger chains. it was great value for money and we were really happy with what we got for our budget. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Request room no.30 for the colourful 1970s themed room at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlahdp, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De Paris, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Cat D,

What a great review ! I am sure your fellow travellers will find it very helpful, so many details telling them why staying with us...
Thank you so much !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

7-minute walk from metro station Hotel de Ville, and 2 minutes away from Place des Terreaux. Very clean, very helpful staff and simple breakfast. However, our room was completely BRIGHT ORANGE, which was a very tiring color after a day of sightseeing. Big bed was actually 2 twin beds put together, and uncomfortable. Next time we come to Lyon, we will look for another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlahdp, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De Paris, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Alice S,

Thank you for your comment althought we are sorry to hear that you didn't like your room. You may be right, orange may not be the best color for a peaceful room... We will think twice before chossing a color next time...

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Paris

Address: 16 rue de la Platiere, 69001 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of the historical and gastronomic city of Lyon (Opera-Hotel de Ville neighborhood) just a few blocks away from the Vieux Lyon (Old Lyon).Hotel de Paris has all the necessary modern comfort as well as the charm of a beautiful XIXth century building.Our staff, available 24/7, hopes to have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.