We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iris Lyon

Hotel Iris Lyon
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Iris Lyon
Save
You added Hotel Iris Lyon to your Saves list
36, rue de l'arbre sec, 69001 Lyon, France (Terreaux - Bat D'argent)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Benalla
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hotel Iris is within walking distance of many wonderful places to eat and shop. In addition it is very easy to walk to most places of interest. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and adequate in size and facilities. Internet connections are available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    1
    8
    3
See reviews for
3
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Contrary to a report from last year (in French)...there are no bugs in the rooms. The rooms are very clean..but to reach your rooms you have to move through a common space which looks a bit shabby...For the rest: Excellent cental situation for visits of historic Lyon, top restaurants (bouchons) in the neigbourhood. easy access to public transport (excellent) with a one-day ticket for EUR 5.-. Friendly and helpful staff...Ask for a room to the inner court (quiet)

Room Tip: Room giving on back yard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

After a long drive from Marseille Hotel Iris was able to accommodate us at the last minute. The proprietor was extremely helpful when it came to parking our car. He showed us where we could park for free that day and let us park for free next to the hotel for the following day. The rooms were simple and clean. Across the road from the hotel are great restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

At the end of a day's ride on our moto we arrived at Hotel Iris without reservation and the staff was welcoming and gave us the perfect moto parking place. We found that Hotel Iris is perfectly rated as a 2-star hotel in Europe. Amenities are few but the hotel is in a fantastic location. The hotel seems to be under an ongoing renovation process. Looking past works-in-progress, the hotel has great bones. The staircase going to the room floors is older and pretty. If you are looking for a superior lodging experience you might want to look elsewhere but as a place to stay while exploring Lyon Hotel Iris is the right choice. The place is clean enough, very simple and the staff is super nice. One negative for us was the breakfast. We have read other Hotel Iris TripAdvisor reviews since arriving back home and we did not receive the breakfast others wrote about. All-in-all, that's ok. We had coffee and croissant before hitting the road again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

The room was barely okay althoug both my husband and I got a lot of bites during the night - not sure what kind of bugs..the room was very noisy and looked into the most disgusting ally. the courtyard we had to go through to get to our room was filthy - a scooter covered in cobwebs and pigeon poop! The worst thing was that the woman at the office told us we were welcome to leave our luggage at the hotel behind the desk as our train was leaving 6:30pm. She assured us that the hotel would be open for us to collect our luggage and that the only time the hotel was closed was beween noon and 2pm. Later in the afternoon it started to thunder and rain so we headed to the hotel to collect our luggage around 4 in hopes of catching an earlier train home. When we arrived at the hotel it was closed! there was a note stuck to the inside of window in the door but it was facing into the office so we could not read it! We waited until 5 thinking she would be there by 5 as we had said we would be back at 5 for our luggage...still nobody came at 5. We tried to phone several times but no answer - at first there was a recorded message but then nothing...the people at the cafe across the street were very nice and tried to help but to no avail. Finally around -:6:10 some other guests were heading to their room and we asked them if they knew how we could get our luggage - they didn't but tried to phone again and finally the woman answered and eventually came to the door to let us in. she looked drugged and like she just woke up!! she had nothing to say and just looked stunned so we took our bags and ran to the metro to try to catch our train which of course we missed. It is very poorly run. three sets of people arrived while we were waiting - they had their guidebooks and were looking for accommodation but all turned and left as the office was closed! Don't stay here!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Iris Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iris Lyon

Address: 36, rue de l'arbre sec, 69001 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iris Lyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.