We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing shocking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Poelon d'Or

Le Poelon d'Or
29 Rue Remparts d'Ainay, 69002 Lyon, France (Carnot - Gailleton)
0478376560
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 2,402 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Carnot - Gailleton
Description: The whole team is happy to welcome you from Monday to Friday for you to discover a fine an genuine cuisine from LYON, at the heart of the Ainay quarter.Member of the "Authentique Bouchon Lyonnais" association
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nothing shocking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was expecting so much from this restaurant... but I just found a normal salad as started while it had a super fancy promicing name and as main plate, of course a normal place which I could have found somewhere else. The only remarkable thing was the dessert. For the rest I would have fancy tried sushi or a steak.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    68
    17
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We visited last night by recommendation of our hosts in Lyon. It was not disappointing! We both had the Menu de la mer, and it was fantastic! Shared half a bottle of champagne, combined with a very attentive service, which was both warm and welcoming. All in all, a perfect dinner!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Ca va”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Was seated at my usual table in a Lyonnais bouchon (next to the kitchen, where Americans seem to be seated in disproportionate numbers). Food was good, but certainly not spectacular (and a mild disappointment in the context of the many very positive reviews of this restaurant). Had a salad Lyonnaise, the beef with shallot sauce, and the "French toast" for dessert -- each was good, but none was memorable. Good value in the pots de vin. Service was good, especially considering that only two servers were covering a busy dining room. Overall, a serviceable meal, but certainly no better than several (randomly selected) bouchons in I have eaten recently.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you want to experience true Lyonnais cuisine you could do worse than the Poelon d'Or. I visited this restaurant on a rainy Thursday night, and being solo I was asked to join a table with two Americans (who were very friendly - but that's beside the point). They have reasonably priced menus but I wanted to choose a la carte, so the bill ended up just over EUR40.

The signature starter is a steamed artichoke heart with a generous slice of foie gras in the middle: delicious although not exactly diet. The mains was a yummy Parmentier de Canard - think shepherd's pie but with shredded duck as meat; the dessert was a lavender crème brulée that had a surprising abundance of lavender. Overall a very good meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“new favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was recommended by the hotel du simplon (a very nice find). The hotel did not know about the restaurant, but it lookd good so we tried it.
We wanted to eat every meal there but he was closed on weekends. The service was friendly, food was Michelin quality, and the atmosphere made one feel at home in a foreign country. Portland is our home but this made me feel part of an extended family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Poelon d'Or also viewed

 

Been to Le Poelon d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Poelon d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.