We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great restaurant in Lyon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Boname de Bruno

La Boname de Bruno
5 Grande rue Feuillants, 69001 Lyon, France (Griffon - Royale)
0478308393
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Boname de Bruno is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #397 of 2,268 Restaurants in Lyon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Griffon - Royale
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Another great restaurant in Lyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I enjoy being able to make reservations online so as to avoid language issues so I reserved at La Boname de Bruno before I left home and I'm so glad I did! There were four of us and we all took the fixe price menu and had great taste sensations. The chef, Bruno, was quite creative with his food preparation. I started with a salad of eggplant wrapped around bacon and chèvre with a basil sauce. My main course was pork chops with a beet risotto. Colorful! My husband had a first course of rabbit confit with radishes and mustard and then lamb in a Thai sauce with noodles. Our friends enjoyed squid with asparagus and balsamic dressing and a smoked duck on puréed peas. The desserts were also outstanding, along with the wine. Service was excellent and we appreciated the chef coming out to chat after the meal. A very memorable dinner and a place I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
elgotto1@aol.com
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Delicious food, relaxed atmosphere and good wine list. We had simply the most delicious boar dish and we still don't really know what it was! We were nosey too and looked at just about everyone else's dishes as they came out and only wished we had bigger stomachs. The desserts, especially the passion fruit cheesecake, were fabulous. Having made the reservations by email the responses were always prompt and very accommodating. All in all one of the best we dined at in Lyon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We dined at this restaurant after reading about it in a magazine about France and searching for more upscale than traditional Cuisine in Lyon. We arrived early and were welcomed in and the chef came over to our table as we were attempting to read the French menu to ask if he could translate and he read the entire menu to us in English. The food was wonderful, with great flavor combinations and top quality ingredients from starters to dessert. Was one of the best meals of a two week trip in France and the highlight of a day in Lyon. So glad we discovered it. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food in Lyon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011 via mobile

The talented Mr Bruno and his adorable wife Yeunli are a formidable duo. They passionately care for their gorgeous restaurant. I ate there on my last visit to France and always send my Australian friends to this little gem. I can't wait to be there next week. Definitely worth popping in for the lunch menu and going back for a long dinner.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Here you can eate well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Went to the notary in Lyon who recommended this restaurant and brought us there. We enjoyed a 3 course lunch and it was very good. Good service and very good food at a resonable price.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boname de Bruno also viewed

 

Been to La Boname de Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Boname de Bruno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.