We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Val d'Isere

Le Val d'Isere
64 Rue Bonnel, 69003 Lyon, France
0478710939
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 2,402 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Corby
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It was wet and we wanted something close to our hotel for an evening meal. We were amazed at the atmosphere at this restaurant; and prices were good too! Service was just right with staff who really seemed to enjoy their work. We had no problem with Val d'Isere and would heartily recommend it to others.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    54
    9
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“exquisitely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Absolutely divine Lyonnais cuisine! Try the fried pigs feet smothered in baked cheese and the fried tripe. The foie gras was perhaps the best I have ever had in France! Highly recommended.
The owner is extremely welcoming and enthusiastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good Bouchon near Part-Dieu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The restaurant was 2 steps from the Mercure hotel and we (2 adults ,2 kids) went there for lunch during the week. We arrived at 12 sharp, restaurant was rather empty, but very rapidly, the white collars from the numerous offices crowded the restaurant. That was a sign, the cooking is good as adopted from the Lyonnais themlselves.
Welcoming from the owner was very nice and warm. A rather short menu, which means that everything should be fresh. Time to prepare and deliver the meals was perfect. What concerns the cooking, we decided to eat typically food from Lyon. I know it quite well and enjoy it a lot. This time it was fine. Even my kids who took the sausages and 12 snails eat all out!. Regional white wine proposed was fine and not pricey.
Dessert was home-made also and rather tasty, kids had standard ice cream.
I had a pretty good bill with digestive so I would have expected the coffees for free, but not. I hope next time

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious local cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A great atmosphere, our family with children, found this place cozy and friendly. The food was excellent. It was mostly local lyonnaise cuisine that offered enough variety that we all found a dish we enjoyed. Chicken, veal and sausage dishes followed a great salad. We had dessert, wine and drinks also for 4 of us, approx 100 euros.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I spent a few days in Lyon France with friends and we tried several "suggested" restaurants. We were not really impressed with any of them so we went out on our own and found this little gem just a short walk from our hotel. The atmosphere is homey and friendly. You feel like you're in someone's family. The meals were the best we had so far. I had a puff pastry style dish with lobster sauce that was delicious. One friend had the scallops with a drizzle of fresh lime and was very pleased and another friend had the beef fillet. All our dishes were very good. This is a must try if you're in Lyon. It's not listed in the books but it is worth checking out. We would go back to this restaurant if we revisit Lyon in the future. Friendly, quiet, clean, great food :O)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Val d'Isere also viewed

 
Champagne-au-Mont-d'Or, Rhone
 

Been to Le Val d'Isere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Val d'Isere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.