We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Hotel Central
26 Cours Verdun Perrache, 69002 Lyon, France (Perrache - Charlemagne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Coventry
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were pleased with our room, which although small was modern and clean with a powerful shower. The staff are helpful and friendly with a good command of English. If you are arriving at Perrache Station as we did, it would be a good idea to ring ahead to the hotel to get directions for exiting the station. We took the wrong 'Verdun' exit and ended up on the dodgy side of the station, near the tented encampment.

Once the friendly staff gave us good directions to get through the tunnel to the nearest square, we found getting round the City easy. We were blessed with lovely weather and enjoyed many a leisurely meal or drink in the open air, as the People of Lyon do. On our one rainy day, we visited the museum of miniatures and cinema in The Old Town, which was fascinating.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the noisy courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    96
    36
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
82
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here one night, and chose it due to the location from the train station. The neighbourhood isn't anything special, but it is close to some of the main attractions and shopping areas. Our room was on one of the higher floors and was overlooking a highway, but was still fairly quiet with the window closed.
The room itself was small, but clean and had all the amenities we needed for the night. The front desk staff were very friendly. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast, but did appreciate the free wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just spent a week in Lyon staying at the Hotel Central which was a perfect base for exploring the City.
The Perrache Transport Hub is adjacent to the Hotel and with the ease of transport in Lyon you can get anywhere in a short time.
The Hotel is small but very clean and good value for money.Reception speak good english so our french language skills were not overly required!
Only downside was our room overlooked a small courtyard at the back containing bins and people seemed to like noisily emptying their rubbish there from very early in the morning!
Walking to central areas and the old town was very easy,although there is a tented village on the other side of the station which is a bit off-putting.
Recommend the open top bus tour,trip to the Roman Ruins,and the Paul Bocuse indoor Market.
Set price menus are available in most restaurants for under 20e and food is normally first class.
Beer is expensive but the Pots of local wine available in restaurants are good value!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the coutyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed two nights in hotel Central Lyon and enjoyed the experience. It was a short stroll from Perrache station after our arrival on the TGV from Paris and a pleasant stroll along pedestrian streets to the centre of Lyon. The decor is modern and the location is quiet despite being so close to main roads and railway lines. The layout of the two-bedroom suite was practical, with plenty of space and facilities were clean. The only drawback is the lack of space in the ground floor dining area during peak breakfast times - it can be quite crowded with the need to share tables.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Modern, small and clean hotel tucked away behind the train station! Selected after looking at other reviews and the pictures of the hotel, it did not disappoint us. The rooms were very well kept, clean and very nicely arranged, albeit a little hot (unfortunately, opening the window did not always work to cool down the room).

 All the staff were very attentive and friendly and did everything in their hands to accommodate us (like helping us find a tailor). The  breakfast area, by the lobby, was also a good representation of the hotel.  Do not expect anything fancy for breakfast but the assorted selection of cheese and meats, accompanied by yogurt, bread, fruit and coffee will definitely get you through with your excursions in Lyon.

It is a shame that this hotel is just behind the train station and a major road.  Although we were not disturbed by either one, coming back to the hotel at night (either by a tunnel under the train station or an underpass), while it did not feel unsafe, it did feel a little unsettling. More than that, it is a great hotel and definitely a jewel for its price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was an overnight stay and the hotel had everying you could wish for on an overnight stay. We would have like to be a bit closer to the old town and thought we were. However, it was an interesting 20 minute walk to get there. The staff are very helpfulwe would definitely choose the hotel if we went back to Lyon.

Room Tip: Parking can be a problem but ey have a spot outside the front of the hotel for unloading bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spend 5 nights in May at this hotel. Born in Lyon I knew the area was central. Despite the rom's camp quite close the area is pretty safe. The hotel was clean, modern. The room was cleaned, the towels changed every day. Beakfast a little bit expensive but honest. The staff was nice and friendly. For young with few money I'll recommend it! Except the bed which was a little inconformtable (you could feel the spinges). Very close to the Brasserie Georges, a must do in Lyon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 26 Cours Verdun Perrache, 69002 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.