We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Night out with the locals"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cafe des Federations

Le Cafe des Federations
8-9-10 rue Major Martin, 69001 Lyon, France (Terreaux - Bat D'argent)
04 78 28 26 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #229 of 2,402 Restaurants in Lyon
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Night out with the locals"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Only in Lyon for 4 nights so we knew we had to fit Cafe des Federations in..............Thanks French Food Safari!!
We booked over the phone. Walked into a atmospheric, bustling bouchon. Immediately caught up in the joy of food. No airs and graces, welcomed like a local. At our corner table for two (unusual for a bouchon, usually big tables surrounded by happy, hungry locals) we had the perfect view of the whole room. 1 waitress and the man himself Yves Rivoiron. They swish from table to table with the evenings offerings, whatever it may be. We were presented with about 5 to 6 courses and wonderful house wine. The food was rustic , french and surprising, as it was only explained to us in broken english. All amazing and flavours to die for. By the 5th course the room was really rocking. We joined in with the couple of large tables (mainly men) sinigng a joking. What a night!!
On leaving we realised that we actually went into the wrong restaurant, we being tourists were supposed to have gone into the cafe section where you know what you are eating. Not in with the locals.....best mistake we ever made!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    119
    40
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Sit Back and Enjoy It! A Wonderful Bouchon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a great bouchon! Do not go here if you are fussy, if you agonise about what you are going to eat, if you want to modify what is on the menu, etc. Do not go here unless you like Lyonnaise specialties...tete de veau, andouillettes, quenelles, and pig of all sorts, etc. This is no place for vegetarians. But if you like hearty food, turn up, sit down, and enjoy it. The restaurant is a little confusing, as it is composed of three separate rooms, each with its own street entrance, connected only by (my guess) the kitchen and the basement. One room seems to be set up for groups of 6 or more, another for four, etc. So you turn up at one entrance, and may be sent to another. Reservations are a necessity. We made a reservation for 8pm on a Saturday, and when we turned up we were the only people in our room. We were at a table for two in a room that was set up for groups of 6 or more. By 8:30pm the place was full and everyone, clearly groups of family and friends, was enjoying themselves. Without even asking we were served a basket of pork rinds, an amuse bouche that was oeuf en meurette - a poached egg with lardons and some sort of beef broth that was wonderful. Then, without us ordering anything, the entrée arrived - a large salade lyonnaise, which is a salad liberally infused with lardons and eggs, etc., some excellent beef and pork salumi, and a big dish of lentils. Everyone gets this. Then we ordered our main courses (we chose chicken and andouillette, all done Lyonnaise style), which were excellent. That was followed by a huge cheese course consisting of 6 different cheeses plus fromage blanc with chives. Then we got to order desert... we chose a fruit cup, which reportedly was excellent, and a praline lyonnaise which was divine, bit there were many other choices. All of this plus a beer, a glass of wine, two 50 cl pots de vin plus a coffee came to €81, including tax and service. Plus the waitress, who handled our whole room herself, was absolutely wonderful. What was best was that in our room there were four groups of 6+, one group of 3, and us. Everyone except for us was French, everyone including us was having a wonderful time and enjoying themselves immensely. What a great place to be. Bring your friends. A memorable dining experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Bon Bon Bouchon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice and cosy cafe.Very good food with all the tradionnals of Lyon....charcuterie, tete de veau, tripes, boudin and excellent cheeses. The owner's wine from the Beaujolais region is good. Service is fast and efficient.
Good team and patron!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“what a fun place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

FOOD great. WINE great. Owner and staff FABULOUS!!! The next day we visited his vineyard on the Beaujolas nouveau visit and he was as charming as the night before. A friendly and welcoming restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I love this bouchon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a month vacation in France and we enjoyed 2 memorable meals in this cozy and intimate place. It is true, this is not fine dining, just plain, hearty French food in a place packed with nothing but locals. Try the andouille with a creamy mustard sauce or the boudin noir with baked apples. The second day we visited them we were served a platter of pig knuckles as an appetizer together with a meat platter and green lentils, everything was delicious and well executed! I would go back there in a heart beat!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe des Federations also viewed

 

Been to Le Cafe des Federations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cafe des Federations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.