We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Continental
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Rue Nationale, 74500 Evian-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riyadh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Location down town; Free Wif Internet; Clean.

Staff could have been friendlier; No free parking nearby; a bit expensive for the facilities.

Rooms on the street are noisy; No Air Condition.

Location down town; Free Wif Internet; Clean.

Staff could have been friendlier; No free parking nearby; a bit expensive for the facilities.

Rooms on the street are noisy; No Air Condition.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. All the parkings in Evian are free at night from 19h-9h except for Parking Charles de Gaulle.
We hope you will better enjoy your stay next time.
Catherine, Mike and Alex Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    83
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
33
77
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We missed our train from Thonon-les bains to Lyon and decided to stay for one night in Evian. Continental hotel has great price-quality level. Location is also great - Town center is in 5 min. walking distance, Gare is 10 minutes on foot. Rooms are clean and tidy, and there is nothing to complain at.
So we highly recomend this hotel if you want to have a great stay for reasonable price

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased your enjoyed your stay and hope that you have the opportunity to come back for a longer stay next time and visit our beautiful region!
Cheers,
Mike, Catherine and Alex Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very good hotel at central location. The only minus is that there is no direct car access, but it's not a big one - there are three underground parkings nearby. No idea about the breakfast though, as we didn't order it. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back and visit more of the region.

Catherine, Mike and Alex Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

As far as quality for the price goes this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. What I loved the most about it was the care that had been taken with the decoration which highlighted the charm of the building. We took the queen size room and were glad we did as the double was a little small for 2 people. We had a tasteful, airy room with a small but well conceived bathroom. We even had some UK channels on TV, proper ones, not BBC World! The breakfast room was lovely with classical music playing gently in the background. As the hotel is in the town centre there was inevitably some noise from the road during the night but we wanted to be near all the faciltities. If I come to Evian again I will stay in this hotel but ask for a room at hte back as I think it would be quieter

Room Tip: The back may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thanks so much for your enthusiastic review! Hope you come back soon!

Mike, Catherine and Alex Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were there for 4 days in Jul 12. The hotel was charming and a great value. Catherine spoke excellent English and was really helpful with recommendations on things to do. The hotel was perfectly located in the town and close to the lake. Everything you would need or see is within walking distance. However, there was no air conditioning, but the room had a nice breezy window.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thanks for your stay with us, we are glad you enjoyed it.

Mike, Catherine and Alex Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Another gem when you do not know quite what to expect. Right in town on a pedestrian street. Carpark was very handy and cheap. Handy (walk) to everything includeing market in the adjoining square, resturants (some great little authentic ones to choose from), the springs, finucular, and the lake and ferry. Room very comfortable, though the shower was a bit small. Very quiet.The petit dejeuner was good and in a gorgoeus little dining room. Receptionist very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Hi Phillip, thanks for your nice review. Hope you'll come back on your next trip in Europe!

Alex Coleman,
receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights towards the end of a 7 week tour of Europe. We loved Evian - it has such a nice feel to it and just a ferry ride across the lake, Lausanne and Montreux were lovely places to explore. We also drove to Geneva for a visit. The hotel was perfectly located in a pedestrian mall with lots of atmosphere but only 1 block from the lake and a short walk to the ferry, Although there was no parking at the hotel, public parking was available for about 6 euros a day 20 paces away. Our room was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed and nice furnishings. Although situated in the pedestrian mall we never heard any noise in our room - a small fridge would have made it perfect. The hotel had great charm and it was a pleasure.to be there. This is a family run hotel and each family member was friendly and helpful. We did visit the surrounding areas whilst there but saved the last day to enjoy Evian and we were so please we did. There was a music festival taking place - 18 bands and 600 musicians played in different areas of Evian from 11am until around 7pm and then the entertainment continued with a female singer performing in the main square. It was all just wonderful. We strolled around all day listening to the bands and soaking up the atmosphere, What a perfect end to our visit. Thank you to everyone at the hotel for helping to make our stay so memorable. We'll be back and are already recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcontinental-evian, Propriétaire at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thanks for your great review, I don't think there's anything we can add to what you've already said!
We hope you have a great time the next time you come back!
Catherine, Mike and Alex Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 65 Rue Nationale, 74500 Evian-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Evian-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Evian-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1868, Hotel Continental has preserved all its charm from yesterday but with the comforts of today.Located in the heart of Evian in the pedestrian street, step out and discover the numerous shops and restaurants the town offers. Take a walk to famous Lake Geneva, the beautiful Casino, the thermes (spa) or the conference centers.Between lake and mountains, Evian is ideally situated to explore the Chablais region and nearby Switzerland.Our spacious and nicely furnished rooms evoque the 19th century past of Evian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Évian Les Bains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.