We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great views and comfortable decor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Cygnes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Cygnes to your Saves list
Hotel Les Cygnes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8, avenue de Grande Rive, 74500 Evian-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great views and comfortable decor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We loved this hotel; of our 3 weeks in Europe it probably represented the best value for money. The hotel itself is beautiful inside, well decorated, cute teddy bears and fruits and displays everywhere; very homey feeling, not at all like most cold hotel hallways. Our room was perfect, the large double doors opened right onto a view of the lake, we could've layed on the bed watching the world go by forever, and the sun sets in perfect view accross the lake from the room. The room was also well-appointed, again probably more-so than any of our hotels. It even came with a free shoehorn lol. Our ONLY complaint was that the staff, while not rude, were not particularly friendly or helpful either; when I was having trouble connecting to the wifi I asked a woman at reception and she simple replied "I don't know how wifi works" lol. There was also free nearby parking, we would absolutely stay again, and will be!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    122
    48
    33
    41
See reviews for
52
238
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The hotel is located near the lake. Beautifull view over the lake. The hotel itself is a kind of museum with antique stuff. The rooms are very small and full of pillows and all kind of things you don't need. Eevn ribbons around the toiletpaper....No elevator in the hotel.
Peolple are nice, diner and breakfast ok, but not very special. One night is more then enough. The city Evians les Bains is on walking distance (10 min ) and is a nice walk and the city worthwile to visit.
It was an experience.......

Room Tip: You have to book a room at then lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed here one night in July of 2011. Nice hotel and nice town. The hotel is right on the water and was a short walk to the restaurants in the casino area. The room was clean but very small. The furnishings and decorations were darling. An excellent breakfast was available for 13 Euros. Free parking was available as was free WIFI. We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We felt very conflicted after our stay at this B&B. The good: Great location on the lake front. Many interesting antique pieces and furnishings in the room. The dining area in back was in a beautiful setting. Two great dogs lived on site and provided a dog "fix" while we were away from home. Very helpful and good staff. The not so good: The rooms had far too much furniture and we ended up putting our shoes and some empty luggage on the balcony to create more room. We had a Garden View (mistake) and the noise from the heavily traveled road was yards away. (Lake Views rooms on the back side were worth the extra price). We loved our dinner ambiance but as the dinner turned into the second hour it became quite cold on the outside dining area. We noticed several groups of patrons asked if they could finish their meals in the enclosed dining room but were all told no. We ended up going to our rooms for jackets. We drove in from the east and didn't realize until we left that Evian was a rather large town with many activities and was only about a kilometer farther down the road. Not very well planned on our part. The small parking area across the street was filled so we had to park farther up the hill and carry our bags down the hill and back up when we left. No drop off in front of the hotel. Despite the negatives, we felt the owners have taken much pride in their establishment and we understand the other more positive reviews.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

It was the worst hotel experience we have ever had. We arrived late in the afternoon and wanted to eat dinner at the hotel restaurant. We entered the restaurant 10 minutes before it opened because the door was open. Since there was no staff, we sat by mistake at a table which was apparently booked (there was no sign). Then we were kicked out of the restaurant with a message from the owner that there were many other restaurants in town. We were somewhat piqued over the message since we after all were guests at the hotel. When we afterwards expressed our dissatisfaction, the owner told us repeatedly that it was his home - we got the impression that guests' needs in any case did not come first. When we checked out from the hotel he ignored us completely. There is a long way from the pleasant pictures on the website to reality. This hotel is definitely not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Les Cygnes is an old style "vintage' decorated B&B style property, nice if you like that kind of thing. They have went to a lot of effort with the decor, they have tried to squeeze a lot of stuff into the bedrooms so much that it feels cluttered and very short of space.

The location benefits from some great views over the Lake, but the hotel itself is a little further out from Evian. There is a small but free car park nearby. There is poor noise isolation between rooms which may be an issue if you are a light sleeper and there is also no elevator to higher floors, so if you have difficulty navigating stairs then forget it. We did not find the hotel staff particularly friendly, asking for the WiFi code seemed to be a chore(?), very strange.

We did not feel comfortable enough in this hotel to sample breakfast, make of that what you will! It is very cute and situated in a nice position, however I do not think I would recommend Les Cygnes unless you have a desire to stay in an old dated room and can adjust your expectation level accordingly.

Perhaps it has a charm we missed out on this time and perhaps your mileage may vary, but we felt there are many better options in Evian particularly for the Western or English speaking traveller.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

A charming, very romantic and personal little hotel, on the shores of the Geneva Lake. Much attention has been given to the decoration of this hotel. The location is excellent, on the shore of the Geneva Lake, with a beautiful garden, swimming pool and docks belonging to the hotel. The restaurant has a built in terrace with a panoramic 180° view of the lake, and the rooms with lake view are gorgeous, the only negative point is that they are very small. Rooms and bathrooms are very fresh and clean. The breakfast buffet is sumptuous and the staff is very friendly and helpful. As we came by motorbike, we had the possibility to put our bikes in a locked garage across the street. We would certainly love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Cygnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Cygnes

Address: 8, avenue de Grande Rive, 74500 Evian-les-Bains, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Evian-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Cygnes 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Les Cygnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Cygnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.