We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to Stay, but Not to Sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de France to your Saves list
Hotel de France
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59, rue Nationale | Evian-les-Bains, 74500 Evian-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence 2014
prague
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good to Stay, but Not to Sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The price of 60 Eur (bfast incl) was great for a double room. Bfast werved till 9-30, but the canteen's guys arranged that for us at 10!

BUT
Sleeping was disastrous - mattress is simply so uncomfortable that your body doesn't rest at all. The bed is typically French - very narrow - inspiring reproduction, but not sleeping tight. Noise from the street was just awful - a group of benders kept us a wake for an hour.

There is parking available and it may be just tricky to come closer for the construction works going on.

Room Tip: looking at the backyard - if such available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    67
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
57
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We (2 adults, 1 chid and 1 baby) stayed one night. The hotel is clean, tidy, functional and is very central.
We had a triple room on the last floor with a view on the backyard, and it was very quiet.
The breakfast was nice but I found a little pricey for the kids.
We were unable to access their parking lot because the road was temporarily closed by the police, and that was a real bummer.
The staff were very nice and helpful but one who had no sense of customer service in tourism when sarcastically answering us there was nothing to do in Evian on a rainy day...
All together, a nice hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed one night and were looking for a cheap but clean room. The hotel is set at the top of the pedestrianised zone in Evian so easy to reach by foot but not by car. If you are driving I suggest you park on the front, go into the hotel, get a map of the car park location and then try and park, its east when you know where it is but Sat Nav will NOT help! Inside the hotel is what you might expect for 50euro - a little shabby but the rooms are very clean, likewise the bathrooms. Breakfast is very good, lots of choice and served in the conservatory at the back of the hotel. All round good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Family stay (mom, dad, daughter) during a longer weekend and looking for a French feeling.
Hotel de France was a nice place to stay. Clean, nice staff, good breakfast. The location is excellent in the middle of the town. Don't look for a magnificent hotel but a working, tidy rooms for a stay with no problems and good feeling. I will definitively come back.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a stay in a very nice French town (Evian-les-Bains is excellent) with reasona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have just returned from France. We choose this Hotel because of it's location,right in the center and it has a car park. The staff are excellent, can't do enough for you. The rooms are compact, decor alittle tired, but how long do you spend in a room? we had a room at the front of hotel over the roofs you can see the lake, Breakfast is the usual french style but enough for my husband and myself.All in all it is good value for money, wifi was good, tv only french.The pizza resturant at the front of hotel down the steps is very good value. we will stay at this hotel again and recommend it.

Room Tip: front of hotel for views, all action of pedestrian street. back for quiet view of garden and car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

I'll try a specifics review rather than useless nonspecific description like "fantastic" or "cheap" or whatever.

We stayed three days. Hotel la France is decent, affordable accommodation. The rooms are somewhat compact like in rest of Europe but clean with a full bath, TV (French only), internet and free parking. Rooms are quiet and double insulated windows are near new. The lady at counter was courteous and spoke enough English. They are cost conscious and save power when they can - like motion detection in hallways to turn on lights. There is one towel for each guest in the bathroom but you can ask for more if needed.

There were a few annoyances. Our bathroom light switch was finicky. The mattress was too firm for my needs but OK for wife. Like in most older hotels there is not enough electrical plugins for gadgets people bring along. We unplugged one of the lamps and the TV - it was French only anyway. WiFi went out occasionally. Had to ask receptionist to reset it.

Below are instructions how to drive to the hotel and a handy supermarket location.

Driving by car.
If you are driving by car, do not attempt to drive to the address. The hotel street is for pedestrians only. Drive directly to their parking lot which is at the back of their garden area. Finding their parking is the trickiest part with all the little twists and turns. There is only one way to get to it. It is best to start from the main roundabout near lake and go south. N46°24.012' E6°35.223' GPS coordinates should help you find the initial alley way starting point which is on west side of Hotel Bourgogne. Just turn sharply into the lane - hope the construction is still not blocking it, nor the delivery truck. Drive along the lane and straight ahead you will see an underground parking entrance. Turn sharp left into the parking entrance with a small Hotel de France sign. Go through the garage and turn sharp left getting out of the garage and then left along the building. You will find the small parking lot - just park in any of the 12 spaces. Walk into the building - right side - and use the elevator to get to floor 0 reception.

How to find a decent grocery store.
Being somewhat thrifty, most of these tourist priced meat and wine restaurants and small shops were not for us. Walk out front door, turn right and walk about 1/5 mile past all those small shops with sidewalk displays. Turn left on the traffic street downhill and turn left again and about 100m on right side you will see a building with 'Marche FRANPRIX' sign (9 rue Touviere). No shopping carts outside. It's a nice air conditioned supermarket style store with lots of variety and better prices.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolle, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Let's put this review in context, our group of four (2 adults and 2 teenagers) had just cycled for 5 hours around Lake Geneva so we were a bit tired and emotional when we got to the hotel. Within minutes of arriving the friendly, helpful and bilingual receptionist had made us feel totally relaxed. She helped us take our bikes up in the small lift one at a time to a secure room, checked our rooms were ready and gave us all the information we needed.
Our room at the front of the hotel had a good shower, it was compact but very clean with a good view of the main pedestrian street and square. If you like the hustle and bustle of town life and don't mind a bit of noise (subdued well by the efficient glazing), then the front is fine.
Our teenage friends had a room at the back with a bath, so slept like lambs! Their room was so quite they even missed the marching brass band procession through the town.

Breakfast was modest; a buffet with the usual continental choices. The service was good there too.
The location is great for strolling around this compact town and you can find places to grab a beer or something to eat within minutes.

Checking out was completed in an efficient and friendly manner too. I'd recommend this for couples or families. If you're cycling, let them know you have bikes and they are happy to store them.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 59, rue Nationale | Evian-les-Bains, 74500 Evian-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Evian-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.