We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Peupliers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Les Peupliers to your Saves list
Hotel Les Peupliers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Courchevel 1350 | Le Praz, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Courchevel
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Recently refurbished this is a very comfortable hotel in the perfect position in the finest of all the Courchevel ski resorts. Forget 1850 this is a real living village and the hotel is situated directly opposite the lift system. Family run and very friendly.
We had a lovely junior suite and really enjoyed it - there is a very good restaurant which would be perfect if the wine list had a better selection below 40 Euros or better still if the mark-up was less than 4 fold!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Les Peupliers is a small friendly family run 3* hotel located in the village of Le Praz, lower down the extensive Courchevel skiing area.

The hotel itself oozes charm and from the moment you arrive and are greeted by the owners and their staff, you are made to feel very welcome. There are two restaurant areas (plus outside when it is warm enough) and there is a cosy bar with a log fire downstairs.

The bedrooms are comfortable and decorated in typical Savoie style and all have en suite bathrooms. There is a newly refurbished spa, which includes sauna, steam room, and jacuzi

Evening meals are the highlight of the stay - there is a choice from a set menu for those guests on half board, which has plenty of variety, good portions and all are superbly cooked. Cheese and desert are a dream. The extensive wine list will take a long time to work through! There is also an a la Carte menu to chose from if you are feeling adventurous.

Overall it is the quality of the management and staff which make a hotel and the service at Les Peupliers is second to none.

We look forward to coming back again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

A wonderful find a family run hotel (for 3 generations).

Le Praz is a very quiet town , not for your average skier. Ideal for adults who prefer a quiet restful apre ski and evening.

Les Peupliers is, I think, the only Hotel, in this lovely little town. We stayed in the chalets opposite the hotel and enjoyed a very good simple continental breakfast in the hotel restaurant every morning and some magnificent meals in their restaurant , La Table De Mon Grand-Père.

The staff are wonderful , relaxed , helpful and professional.

The chalets were great for a ski holiday , close to the gondolas , plenty of storage and balcony with wonderful views. I would try to avoid staying next to the main entrance as the guest traffic can be noisy into the early hours. Tea and coffee facilities in the chalets would have been very welcome or even a vending machine.

I am working on my French but it is not yet sufficient for Courchevel and I am looking forward to returning with a better grasp of the French language. We did get by very well, in this region, with a mixture of limited French and slightly better English from the locals. I like the challenge and incentive to improve my language skills.

I did not want to write a review for this Hotel , I wanted to keep it a secret for myself!

I am pleased to say that Le Praz is a lovely haven for mature adults who enjoy peace and quiet. Families and younger parties should find accommodation closer to Courchevel 1850.

We will be going back.

Room Tip: In the Chalets , the rooms next to the main entrances are very noisy with the door buzzers and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed in the summer and loved it whilst ski property hunting. Was unsure about having gone to the expense of the hotel but it was more than worth it! Room lovely - not small by ski room standards and the view breathtaking with great big picture windows and a lovely terrace to enjoy the sunshine on. Restaurant fabulous and ended up eating there every night - couldn't fault it. Would happily recommend this and will to friends for summer or for skiing. Le Praz is a great little town with miles of piste close at hand - just don't tell everyone, we don't want everyone to know! Oh and the cleaners did a great job and we never saw or heard them...

Room Tip: Ask for one that looks onto the square - pretty and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims, Switzerland
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

It's not easy to find a nice hotel in the courchevel area with a good price-value. Les Peupliers that's it. The Hotel fits perfect in to the little town Le Praz. The staff is friendly and helpful. Free Parking. The hotel is charming with a warm feeling after a cold day skiing. The fireplaces are perfect working. The rooms are little but OK. The buffet for desert and cheese is fantastic. The menu is average. The road next to hotel is no problem. Unfortunately people were noisy and hauling around in front of the hotel at friday night.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I stayed in this hotel from 18th - 24th December with my family (wife + 13yr old) and my parents (who have stayed here previously). Together, we occupied 2 rooms on the 1st floor - 1 double & a suite. Rooms were kept amazingly clean, tidy and warm every day and our suite was so homely it was a pleasure to return to after a long day out. Ample size for three of us with everything you would expect by way of amenities.

This hotel is situated next to the main lift hub at the bottom of Le Praz, Courchevel which instantly provides a great location to start and finish every day's skiing. Opposite the hotel front door is a ski-hire shop and lift passes are available under the lift station. Convenience on all counts! Although there is little to do in Le Praz in the way of Apres ski, we found this hotel to provide such a relaxing and welcoming evening there was little need to leave.

The staff are incredibly courteous, professional and helpful to the point of booking our daughter's ski-school for us and checking on all travel issues with the recent weather without a second thought. The owners - Nadine & Norbert - provide a fabulous level of customer service and should be proud of themselves & their staff in every area.

The restaurant provides some of the finest food I've eaten, and certainly the most quality consistent menus you would find in a hotel. The restaurant staff are knowledgeable and personable, delivering meal after sumptuous meal. The breakfast choices are simple and as you would expect - again with great service though.

If your aim on a skiing holiday is to ski all day and return to a first class hotel with great staff and food, this will certainly meet your expectation.

I would happily recommend this hotel and provide more information to anyone who requests it, but will conclude here by saying this is a massively under-rated hotel on TripAdvisor and deserves a much higher grading.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

We committed to meet the family and friends who were staying in Le Praz and booked this hotel as it was the only one in the village. Hotel is very basic and simple, with nice wooden finish but nothing special. The rooms are not the most comfortable. First room we got had two single beds pushed together without anything joining the mattresses. My boyfriend fell in a hole and had to get up in the middle of the night to push the beds back together. Separate toilet was tiny and in the bathroom was a bath with the shower but no curtain or a handle to attach the shower head. We ended up flooding the whole bathroom floor. Music from the bar did not stop playing until midnight and in the morning all we could hear were plenty of people in ski boots walking on a wooden floor downstairs. We asked friendly receptionists for a different room and got moved to the higher floor and a better room - on a fire escape plan it was called a "suit". It had a much nicer bathroom, proper double bed, nice sofa with a coffee table and no noises at all, apart from the daily shouting of two rude Polish cleaners, swearing while cleaning the rooms and commenting on guests in Polish without even considering that one could understand. I was called names (in Polish) while I was switching the rooms because I said I would need time to pack the suitcases we unpacked the night before and I was on my own as my boyfriend was skiing. Never admitted to those girls I could understand them, being scared of some kind of "toothbrush revenge"...
The hotel has a nice cosy bar lounge on a basement level, with a fireplace which smokes the room as soon as it's lit. The staff from the bar and the restaurant do their jobs OK but seem tired and not bothered - maybe at the beginning of the season it differs. The ski room downstairs is very basic with the usual "smelly boots" odor but it serves just fine. We never tried the "spa" bits.
Good thing about the hotel is that most of the village comes there for apres ski. The restaurant has lovely food (mmm, steak tartare... yummy!) There is also a free wifi and we found the reception staff very helpful in every matter. Oh, just check your bill before you pay. We did not have breakfasts included so we ate on the slopes but the hotel assumed we showed up in the restaurant every morning "like most guests do" and charged the room. It was no issue for them to change it but when you check out in the hurry, you may not notice these things...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Peupliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Peupliers

Address: Courchevel 1350 | Le Praz, 73120 Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Peupliers 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Les Peupliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Peupliers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.