We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel St Louis - Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Louis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Saint Louis
Save
You added Hotel Saint Louis to your Saves list
Rue de Bellecote, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colchester UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hotel St Louis - Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here as a group of 7. The hotel, its staff and the overall stay was fantastic. My wife broke her arm whilst we were here and the staff could not do enough to help. The food was consistently excellent, always a good choice and selection. The food was easily at the standard you would expect of this type of hotel.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, our party had two of the Quad rooms and this was more than adequate for the 6 adults and 1 teenager that travelled. The communal areas of the hotel are ideal and furnished to make the hotel feel very homely whilst also setting a great social environment.

The greatest asset for this hotel are its staff. They are young and bright and make every moment of your stay a pleasure. This team work really hard to make your stay a good one. There is a great balance between providing a service and interacting with the guests. A good fun, knowledgeable and polite team - well done!

I would stay at this hotel again and I am already looking at my diary to find a slot. If you fancy a fantastic skiing break in a great hotel which feels homely yet delivers great service then this is the place for you. The slopes are within 20 metres of the door and this provides great access to some of the best skiing in Europe at a reasonable cost for Courchevel.

Room Tip: Quads are nice for a family or larger groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    53
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
46
50
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lovely little hotel and helpful staff.

Only problem was the food was not really up to it. Paying what we did I would have expected decent food. It was really hit and miss on most nights and some were particularly poor.

Great location near the slopes though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSLHotelManager, General Manager at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Kernow72,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay with us at Hotel Saint Louis. I was pleased to hear that you liked the hotel and found the staff helpful.

I was sorry to read that you did not find the food up to the standard you were expecting. Looking across the customer satisfaction questionnaires from this week, it seems that most people who stayed here over the past week have rated us as "above expectations" for the choice and quality of food. I am sorry to hear that this was not the case with your party.

We take all feedback seriously to improve our service to guests, and I appreciate your taking the time to comment. I am sorry that your issues were not dealt with in resort.

I hope to welcome you back to Saint Louis in the near future.

With Kind Regards,

Scott Rutterford-Byrne
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have recently returned from spending a week in the Hotel Saint Louis in Courchevel and have to say this was one of the best skiing holidays we have had. Travelled with my husband and stayed in a standard double room, the bedroom was adequate for our needs, not huge and a little worn in places however exceptionally spacious comfortable beds and very clean. The lounge areas in the hotel were welcoming and comfortable as was the dining area. The food every night was very good indeed, always a varied choice and with 5 courses in total more than ample! I usually only managed 3! The little extras such as the afternoon tea and cakes and canapes and champagne served before dinner were a lovely touch and very tasty canapes too. The location of this hotel to the slopes is excellent, you literally walk across the road along a path and you are on the piste, so convenient. We were very lucky with the weather too, lots of sun and blue skies and skiied every day. Last but not least the staff, a lovely young bunch of people, all easy going and friendly and always willing to help, too many names to remember but thank you to: James, Matt, Holly, Jess and the manager Scott. We will most certainly revisit this ski area and in particular the Saint Louis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Geat hotel and staff, excellent location, great food. Bar a little expensive but then all of Courchevel is expensive. Rooms were a bit on the small size but clean with excellent beds. Could do with a little bit of TLC here and there. Will go back next year

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the St. Louis from 23rd-30th Jan. Excellent location - just across the road from the Bellecote piste and a 5 minute walk into town. The public areas are well decorated but the rooms look a little 'tired'. However, they were clean (with Molton Brown toiletries) with bigger beds than some of the very expensive hotels we have stayed in in Courchevel and each room had a balcony. Extra pillows were supplied on request. The staff were fantastic, very approachable and very helpful and the chef made us a couple of stunning curries (special request after chatting to the bar staff one evening!) . Nothing was too much trouble and the girls on reception were happy to book tables for us in various restaurants for lunch. Buffet breakfasts with cereals, yoghurts, pastries, fresh fruit, ham, cheese and fruit juices together with a choice of bacon, sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms, scrambled eggs and poached eggs - something for everyone! We didn't manage to eat afternoon tea and cakes - instead we headed for the bar at 7.00pm for canapes and champagne (well sparkling fizz really, but it was a very good one) followed by a 5 course dinner. Excellent value for money and a return visit is definitely on the cards next year! All the staff made this holiday exceptional and we can't thank them enough for their outstanding service, especially Charlie, Luke, Jake, Helen, Holly and "Stacey"!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Saint Louis and would have marked it as average because of the food which was really poor compared with anything else we have ever had in France. It was low end English gastropub type food without a hint of Frenchness about it. As we ski in France because we love the place and the food and the language this was very disappointing. However, the reason I have marked it as very good was because of the location right across the road from the Bellecote piste and mostly because of the staff....they are fantastic. Although the staff are all English & it would be nice to hear and speak some French now & then, you really cannot fault their enthusiasm and helpfulness. This hotel really does have just about everything just right - just sort the food out!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSLHotelManager, General Manager at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel, I am pleased to see that mostly you had an excellent stay with us, and that you were happy with the location of the property and the attention my staff gave you in resort. We aim to delivery exceptional customer service to all of our guests and it is so nice to hear that this is what you felt you received. I will be sure to pass this onto the staff.

I was sorry to see that you did not enjoy the food in resort, this is something that we have been scored particularly high on across TripAdvisor and also in our Customer Satisfaction Scores. We aim to deliver a varied menu on a day to day basis, and I am sorry that on this occasion the food did not meet your expectations.

I hope to welcome you back to Hotel Saint Louis shortly.

Kind Regards,

Scott Rutterford-Byrne
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My family have been doing ski weekends for years and never have we come across a hotel with such a perfect location, great food, fantastic staff and such value for money!

We stayed in one of the chapiteau' in the hotel and the room was a perfect size and well presented! The menu at dinner suited everyone and the whole atmosphere of bar/reception area was fantatic!

Last thing to comment on is the staff! The staff make this hotel! With there approachable and kind attitudes they really made our stay enjoyable and we will 100% be going back next february!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Louis

Address: Rue de Bellecote, 73120 Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint Louis benefits from a wonderful location opposite the Bellecôte piste for convenient doorstep skiing and is just a five minute walk from the centre of Courchevel 1850. The hotel is spread over four floors with a choice of comfortably furnished en-suite bedrooms in twin, triple and quad formations. In addition, the hotel offers a number of superior rooms. Offering flexible durations throughout the season, the Hotel Saint Louis is the perfect option for a short ski break. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.