We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay in a really cosy Chalet...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sabot de Venus

Sabot de Venus
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Sabot de Venus
Save Saved
You added Sabot de Venus to your Saves list
Promenade du Sabot de Venus, Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Colchester - UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Stay in a really cosy Chalet...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Having read the previous reviews of this accomadation I was really apprehensive about staying in the Sabot, how ever on arrival it was clear that my fears were unfounded. The crew who work in the Chalet couldn't have done more to help the guests, and Callum in particular really demonstrated what personal care and attention should look like....The food prepared by Dan was of restaurant quality, and if I owned a restaurant Dan would now be working there!! The rooms were clean, tidy and maintained daily. No complaints here, thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Hi all,

I have just got back from a week at Sabot De Venus and wanted to add to the reviews that I read before my trip. I must agree with all the points made by Miss Nic's review, she's got it spot on.

For a last minute deal the value is pretty unbeatable considering the location and standard of the overall resort. Saying this, I would have been a bit put out if I had paid the full whack. The accommodation is basic with small rooms. Not all rooms have en suite toilettes and those with are again very small. The route to the chalet is also positioned on a steep downward slope which can be tricky to navigate especially after a bit of apres ski.

The winning points of the chalet are more to do with the standard of the staff. Our Rep (Callum), Head Host (Susie), Host Lily and Chef extraordinaire Dan where all fantastic. The chalet was kept very clean despite its age. The food exceeded all of our expectations every night. The Rep was always available and happy to help with anything from local knowledge to getting us all out and orientated in the resort and the pistes.

If you want to go and get the most out of your lift pass and ski / board full days, Venus is a great place to crash and re-fuel. If you want a more sedate holiday where the aesthetic standard of you accommodation is a priority I would consider upgrading to a 4 star.

I had a great trip and would recommend like minded friends to definitely book here if the deal price was on offer.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

After reading the reviews of this chalet on this site I was a bit worried about my impending trip to stay there... However I've just come back from an excellent week in Courchevel and so wanted to share my thoughts on what was a very positive stay in this chalet.

This is an older chalet. The bedrooms and the bathrooms are very small. I would tend to give this chalet a 2 1/2 star rating rather than 3 stars. However I don't think it's as basic as a hostel, as another reviewer suggested.

The communal living/dining area could do with a revamp (the purple couches are a bit old), however during the week a new red rug, black coffee table and some bright red and white cushions arrived which gave the living room a nice lift.

Re the 2 bedrooms on the very ground floor, yes they are next to where the boots are stored, and so yes as a result there is a bit of a musty smell. However I noticed these bedrooms are bigger than those on the other floors... so it's all a bit of a trade off.

We didn't experience any maintenance problems, all heaters were intact and working well and the chalet was warm and cosy. The chalet was very clean. Also, the chalet manager had given some of the rooms a fresh lick of paint before we arrived. There was a non-smoking policy in the chalet, which was adhered to.

The path that leads to the chalet is steep as other reviewers have mentioned, however it was not a problem and we were just careful to walk slowly. The chalet was in a great position generally though, only a few minutes walk to the slopes and the main ski lift in 1650.

We all agreed the food in the chalet was excellent (great job Dan!).

My overall verdict was that I had a great stay in this chalet. On my first day I was perhaps a little disappointed by the standard of the property, however that was quickly forgotten as I enjoyed the warm and friendly atmosphere created by the staff running the chalet and the fun times we had with the other guests.

Future visitor's experience of this chalet will most likely depend on how much you pay to stay there. I made a late booking, so my trip was for a good price and I was overall very happy with my stay. However if you are considering paying full price to stay here, or if you want a chalet with a picture postcard chalet interior, I'd suggest you spend an extra £100 and upgrade to stay in a nicer 4 star chalet. At the end of the day, you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

The reason the reviews for Sabot de Venus are so bad is quite simple. This is not a "Chalet". It is basically a hostel. The accomodation is very basic and quite old. However, if you look at the price per night you pay, its actually very cheap. So, you get basic hostel accomodation for hostel prices. It is not however a chalet. The Sabot does have 1 redeeming feature - Dan, the cook, is great and put out some great meals for 21 people. So, if you are looking for basic, warm hostel accomodation with good food then this place is for you. If you want a chalet, look elsewhere and budget realistically !!!!!!

  • Liked — Food, proximity to bubble\lifts
  • Disliked — Not a chalet, footpath slope
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danjam9955
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

Althought the reviews above clearly have some truth in them, the fact remains that you pay for what you get. There are a few maintainance issues which we noticed, however these were fixed in due course. The sabot is excellent value for money, It is located only a 2 minutes walk from the main lift out of 1650, and the same distance from all of the best bars. The main selling point of this chalet are the staff. They are a credit to Skiworld, they constantley strived to do everything they could to make the situation better. The food was also excellent. Even Rich the rep and Ewan from the local skischool, New Generation were very helpful, the latter of which would be highley comended as being very proffesional and an excellent choice for the improving skier. One negative point is the hill on which the sabot is located reffered to by the staff as 'suicide hill' but if you avoid high heels, a pointer which i will definately follow if i stay there in the future, then the makings are there for an excellent and great value holiday.

  • Liked — Proximity, Food,
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

The Sabot de venus is the worst Chalet i have ever stayed in. The rooms didnt even have paint on the walls and the bedrooms and bathrooms are so small its difficult to move around! The bathroom was so small you could not bend over to pick up towels etc.. The fixtures and fittings were frequently broken and the lounge area is so uncomfortable i would go so far as to call it hostile... I have stayed in better 1* hostels. The food however was excellent.. that cannot be denied.. This is not the standard i have come to expect from Skiworld.. their other chalets are of a much better standard and was astonished when i discovered the standard of this chalet. Reading other reviews from earlier travellers Skiworld clearly have no intention of either de-rating this Chalet to a 1 or 2 star, or of re-furbing! Stay away and use your cash more wisely

  • Liked — Leaving It!
  • Disliked — The accomodation
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We booked four rooms at the Sabot de Venus for a New Years skiing holiday at the end of 2008. We were extremely disappointed with our overall experience and would recommend to only consider this as a last resort.

The chalet is located down a very steep hill (covered with ice and snow) which was problematic and dangerous when carrying bags and skis back to the chalet. Certainly not suitable for any elder memebers of a party. There is no security at all. There is a key pad on the front door to lock it, however this was frequently not used. There are also no locks on the doors of the individual rooms.

The rooms themselves are tiny. Both the bedroom itself and the bathroom were far too small for even two people and would have been more suitable as singles. The beds are uncomfortable, with a hard mattress placed over a wooden slatted bed. The one pillow you are given is hard and lumpy. There is insufficient space to hang clothing and the shower (although hot and good) has a shower curtain that clings to you when showering.

We had two of the rooms at the bottom of the house next to the entrance. They smelt of smoke (clearly people smoke in them during the summer) and were in terrible condition. The walls where a dingy brown/ yellow colour and the carpet was filthy. The boot room (where all the ski boots are kept) is also directly outside of the rooms and therefore there is a constant smell of feet. The doors and walls are thin and therefore you can hear everyone coming in the front door and everyone directly above in the kitchen. It is almost impossible to get any peace and quiet. You certainly feel you are in a dark basement and to be honest the room felt like a prison cell.

From other guests expereince in other rooms this was typical of all the rooms. Radiators not working or falling off walls, shower curtains too small for the shower, bathrooms leaking into the bedroom, smell of smoke, no curtains on the windows, constantly noisey, hard uncomfortable beds etc.

The communal area again is extremely small and there is nowhere to relax. The sofas that they have are extremely low down and uncomfortable and again smell of smoke. It is not a sufficient place to relax in. The fire in the the living room (advertised as a roaring fire on the brochure) can not be turned on as it is "too smelly". The kitchen again is small.

The chalet staff did their best in very trying circumstances and the food that they prepared for us was good. Although Courchevel 1650 is a great place to be based I would certainly suggest avoiding the Sabot de Venus. This is the worst chalet I have ever stayed in, in 15 years of going skiing!

  • Liked — The Location of being in Courchevel 1650
  • Disliked — Is was filthy and uncomfortable
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sabot de Venus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabot de Venus

Address: Promenade du Sabot de Venus, Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabot de Venus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.