We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & excellent ski guiding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Hotel Dahu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Dahu
Save
You added Chalet Hotel Dahu to your Saves list
Courchevel 1850, Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Courchevel
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location & excellent ski guiding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I stayed at the Dahu in mid-Jauary & had one of the best week's skiing...fresh powder, blue skies every day :-) But ski conditions apart, the thing which really made it was the ski guiding - thanks to Vanessa for sharing your expert knowledge, listening to what we wanted to do, keeping us safe, nurturing a nice relaxed atmosphere in the group and encouraging us to keep exploring (although top of Val Thorens was a bit chilly compared to the champagne ski conditions we enjoyed most of the time). Meeting up with the other groups for lunch worked fine (and restaurants were fine) - and I heard good reports on Mark and Luke's guiding of them.

The Dahu's location is hard to beat - 2 minute walk up to the main lifts. As you'll have gathered from othe reviews, the Dahu is a little rough around the edges, but that's hardly unusual in a ski resort. The rooms are a bit small & not the most modern but they're cosy, clean and the water was consistently hot. I really liked the communal lounge/bar with the comfy sofas - a nice space to catch up with people (and certainly not taken over by the staff). They did a couple of quizzes during the week and had a DVD corner for the kids (who eat earlier than the adults).

The food was also wholesome & tasty and certainly enough for my large appetite. Veg was a bit mixed, but everything else good, including the free wine. And the restaurant staff had a nice informal manner - they genuinely did seem interested in what you'd been up to, but that didn;t detract from good service. So well done Luke, Lewis and the girls. The soup, cakes and tea from 4pm were also an excellent if a little too tempting.

Quite a few people had booked their ski's thru Mark Warner - my advice would be to try instead to get some decent online discounts and avoid the treck over to the ski shop over the other side of town for measuring etc (although they do deliver/collect the skis the distance makes it a litte more difficult to sort out any problems & you're probably paying extra).

Overall, a great week & definitely tempted to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
20
28
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend booked this as a very last minute holiday and we were very happy with our stay with Mark Warner. The staff really do go the extra mile to help you out. And contrary to other reports we thought the food was very good (eg. duck confit, roast lamb, ham hock terrine) some times there were big gaps between starter and main course. But we occupied ourselves with the very good free flowing wine. Breakfast was varied and adaquate and the cakes for afternoon tea were amazing. Really no need to spend money on the mountain for lunch.
The only let down was the accommodation which was very tired. The whole hotel needs a face lift and the rooms are very small, little more than standing room either side of the bed. 2 of the 3 coat hooks in our room broke instantly, no remote for the TV and some of the channels were frozen and neither of our bed side lamps worked. Having said that we spent so little time in our rooms it didn't really impact on our stay. Had we not booked a last minute deal we may have felt a little stronger about the poor accom, however we had a great time and would certainly book with Mark Warner again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant in Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

It is disappointing to read a number of recent disparaging reviews concerning the the Dahu for having returned on 5 February after a week's stay, I believe a more balanced approach will reveal an organisation which seeks to provide a good service at a sensible and affordable price. Fault can be found if you start turning stones but my wife and I came away feeling that in meeting so many like minded people in a atmosphere of warmth and friendship, supplemented by a kind caring staff, excellent food (and wine) and most satisfactory accommodation, we had little to complain about. In short, Mark Warner provided just the tonic we needed in these straightened times and we bless them for it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We were four couples who stayed at the hotel the last week of January. The transfers were well organized and run smoothly.

Good Points

The staff; they are young but enthusiastic and couldn’t help you enough. They are a credit to Mark Warner.
Afternoon Teas; Really good and not to be missed from 4.30 onwards. The cakes are
Fantastic
Location; only a 150 yards from the ski lifts, nearly as good as ski in ski out.

Not so good

The food; Sometimes good sometimes not so good but if anything was wrong the staff were always willing to sort things out.
Reception; Drain problems leave an unpleasant smell in the front lobby.

The accommodation is pretty good for a skiing holiday and the rooms were clean and spacious.

You could worse then The Dahu as its good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Cannot fault the location of the Dahu, within easy walking distance of the main lifts, with excellent & quick access to the slopes. However, having been on Mark Warner ski holidays for 25 years, it was apparent that the Dahu wasn't functioning properly, especially on the catering front. Food was not always hot and the veg cooking was poor: often cold & hardly cooked. The start of dinner was always delayed for some reason and meant the wait for courses could be quite long. Breakfast should start at 7.30am, but the staff were a tad slow putting food out at this time, so again there would be delays, waiting for essentials like bread. The dining room & kitchen didn't seem organised very effeciently this season. The Manager rarely made an appearance in the public areas and so couldn't be seen to be putting things right.
Our room was a twin, but the configuration of it was such that the beds had to be squashed together, so I don't know how friends sharing a room like this would feel about being so close when sleeping! Also, a lot of the rooms on the 3rd floor have inter-connecting doors and you can clearly hear conversations from the next room, so not very private. Both our beds had broken slats, so when I sat on the end of mine, I collaped into the frame of the bed! The staff must know about this, when changing the bedding it would obvious, but have done nothing to fix the beds.
Ski room is well located on the ground floor, a bit cramped with the boot warming device, so the skis get a bit jumbled up.
The decor is tired and the public areas chilly.
A shame about how the Dahu is being run this season, there are no excuses really, as they are well into the season now and any teething problems should have ironed out well before now.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Just got back from a superb week at the Dahu. The location and snow conditions were fantastic.
The staff was young but that is generally the way with ski chalets in my experience . They couldn't do enough for you and were always cheerful and chatty. In fact, there was a bit of sickness going around the hotel and both Luke (the restaurant Manager )and Sam (head of housekeeping) came to see if they do anything for me. No sign of the Manager at any point, we have done Marker Warner many times and this the first time we have not seen the Manager around the hotel chatting with the guests.

The food was nice but would have been much better if it had been hot, I understand there were problems in the kitchen. They did run out of sliced bread for toast most morning, and were a bit slow to refill things when they ran out. Through out our stay any issues/requests Luke was professional and cheerful and he made our stay a pleasure, nothing was too much trouble.

The people cleaning our room did a great job. Yes the decor is tired , but the beds were comfy and you got a good nights sleep in them. The room were not too hot or cold. We had no problems with noise and our room was over the bar area.

We had a balcony room but it is a shared one and far too cold in Jan to use anyway.

We didn't use the ski hosting but those we spoke to said they had a good time and enjoyed it.

The lounge bar had lots of comfortable settees.

Access to the ski room was on the ground floor .

The front door was always locked and the safety deposit bags were free to use all week.

WiFi access was 15 Euros per device and worked well. There was free WiFi across the road in the commercial centre where there were charging points and bar stools to sit on while surfing.

Would we go back ? Yes

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We were there the same week as Steve Kynge and nuhorizons - and their comments fairly reflect two sides of the same coin. Great location, cheerful if a little tired-looking interior, hard working if sometimes inexperienced staff, happy kids in childcare, good ski hosting bar a couple of incidents which i guess can happen at the beginning of a season as staff bed in - but with one exception the returning involuntary night skiers were in good spirits - and the host got told off. Best swerve the cocktails - still learning the ropes here. The manager was seeking to run a tight ship - two staff got fired in the week we were there but for things behind the scene that customers didnt see - but she needs to get out more and should be seen every morning and every night, at some stage. Lux skiing it aint but for families just fine. Would i go back? Yes.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Hotel Dahu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Dahu

Address: Courchevel 1850, Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Courchevel
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Chalethotel Dahu Courchevel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Hotel Dahu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.