We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski holiday 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au Coq de Bruyere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Au Coq de Bruyere Hotel
Save Saved
You added Au Coq de Bruyere Hotel to your Saves list
Rue Park City, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Courchevel
Stratford upon Avon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“ski holiday 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have just returned from a ski holiday at this hotel, me and my party of five thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
I found the hotel very good value for money, the location is good, the food excellent, the wine was flowing, the staff were very helpful and friendly, particularly Steve (assistant Manager) Ollie (Head Chef), Lucy (chalet maid)

Although the hotel is a little 'tired' this should not put you off, as the overall holiday is very good.

BobF

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
21
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Few reasons for that:
1) Tiny rooms with no facilities, except for the very basic ones (sink, WC, shower, wardrobe. Period.), smallest 'double' bed i've seen in the recent 10 years, all squeezed in ~15 sq m, including bathroom
2) Our room was very noisy. Two discos right in front of the windows, trucks passing by the bed starting from 5-6 am, paper walls (we could hear people speaking 2 rooms away from us) - we could sleep only with windows closed AND earplugs on. Having just one of the two did not help. Thus no chance for a sleep if you forgot your earplugs OR like some fresh air (although as rooms don't have a/c you don't have much of a choice to breath other than opening the windows)
3) No any extra facilities in the hotel, such as sauna, which is quite common in the skiing hotels, no hot tub either in the room, or as a common mini-pool. No nothing.
4) Lot's of rules and limitations, some of them quite unreasonable and annoying. For example, our friends came with a 10-years old boy and when we came to the hotel we learnt that he is not allowed to eat dinner with the adults. Naturally, as vacation is primarily an occasion to spend more quality time with the kids, our friends were quite pissed off. Nobody from the staff could explain us any logic or rationale behind this rule, how can a well behaved 10-years-old bring any discomfort to others diners. We started thinking that dinners turn into adults-only orgies at some point, but were disappointed in that regard :-) Regardless numerous and lengthy discussions they stuck to that rule and the boy was sent to his ghetto when the meal started
Another standard thing was equipment and ski passes offered on the place, which seemed nice at the beginning, but then it turned out that for credit card payment they charge 3% extra, that we cannot try and choose our equipment, that we can pay in pounds only, etc., etc. all justified by some super discount they provide. It ended up that we walked out of the hotel and got everything directly from the ski rentals both cheaper and without any limitations, annoyances and extra charges.
5) Everything is quite worn out, rooms cleaning is rather formal, towels get replaced just once a week and even then after a few reminders, which overall does not create a feeling of a comfortable and well kept place
6) Price absolutely unreasonable for that level of the hotel. Well, I know that's Courchevel and that was top season, but paying 300 GBP (370 euro) per room per night for nearly a youth hostel - that's by far unjustified. I have always travelled to the Alps in the Christmas/NY season, I've never payed more than 300 euro per night, and this has always been places incomparably nicer and more comfortable than Coq de Bruyere.

Few reasons and occasions why you can still choose this hotel:
1) If location and good skiing is the only thing that matters to you - the hotel is 1 minute walk from La Croisette, the place where all the ski lifts start and all the activities happen; and skiing in Courchevel is perfect as always;
2) If you like meeting new fellows and prefer communal atmosphere over comfort;
3) If you get a good bargain, e.g. 100 pounds or less per room per night, then the hotel is totally appropriate for that price

As (the only) positive things I can mention proximity to the ski lifts and quite good food for dinners. Staff was generally trying to help, nice and helpful, although there was a limit of what they could do within the facilities, rules and limitations they had.

Sorry for such a negative review, but i was quite disoriented by the other's super-positive feedbacks, and hope this will help to the next guests of the hotel to manage their expectations accordingly and make their choice clearly recognizing all the pro's and con's.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the rooms facing the street - VERY noisy due to the 2 discos right in front and truck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, Manager at Au Coq de Bruyere Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We would urge readers to consider the balance of reviews placed on this site before giving perhaps over due consideration to this reviewer’s opinions based on a holiday which, seemingly, was provided in accordance with our contract, but contrary to the reviewer’s own expectations.
The Chalet Hotel Coq de Bruyere offers guests an excellent location in the prime resort of Courchevel and, we feel, offers fantastic value for money on this basis alone! As a Ski Total property, yes, our under 13 dining rule applies – the adult only evening meal is exactly that, and we endeavour to keep it that way (guests are advised of this on their holiday invoice, as well as in our brochure).
It is of course disappointing that this reviewer was not entirely satisfied – we hope that you will see for yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family which included myself my husband and our two children recently spent a week in Au Coq de Bruyere. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were warmly welcomed by the hotel manager Louise and the staff. They couldn't of been more helpful with our luggage and making sure our first impressions of the hotel was one to remember,and so it was. We were given all information about the resort that we could possibley need which made us feel very confident to go and have a walk around resort. From breakfast straight to Dinner service has been outstanding and nothing was to much trouble for the team at Au Coq de Bruyere. The hotel is not as spacious as most but it works out in favour as it creates such a cosy atmosphere and builds up to the statement of 'A Home Away From Home'. Our children (like most) get very bored quickly but were constintly kept entertained by all the team at the hotel. An all around fantastic stay and we have all ready booked to come back again next year. Hopefully our next stay will be as memorable and outstanding as our last.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

In summary this chalet hotel is really good value for money, based on its central position in Courchevel 1850. The Three Valleys is one of the most extensive ski areas available, and Courchevel 1850 has to be one of the prime resorts here!

Compared to other chalet hotels that I have used with Ski Total, this one is a little smaller, is a little more tired and lacking some ambience.

However, this is in a prime position - 5 minutes walk from La Croisette (centre) and the ski slopes.

Ski Total staff were very good in terms of efficiency, service and friendliness.

The room we had was adequate - clean, with a shower and bath and a small balcony. Not very spacious though.

Couldn't fault the food here. Breakfast was ample comprising coffee, tea, cereals, juices, croissants, bread, jam, cheese, honey etc., and with the option of hot dishes such as eggs or porridge.

After skiing, between 4.30 and 5.30 afternoon tea is served. Plenty of hot soup, bread, cakes, biscuits and hot drinks.

Dinner, was even more ample. Pre-dinner drinks and canapes were served in the bar before a sumptuous three course meal with the option of a fourth cheese course and coffee after dessert. There were always several options for each course including excellent vegetarian options. Plenty of house wine (with choice) was served with dinner - all complimentary. Dinner is served six days a week allowing you to sample the local resturants for one day. The bar was OK, not too atmospheric, but Carlo the bar manager manned his post expertly and the drinks prices are quite reasonable for the expensive resort.

Ski locker room can get a bit crowded, but has really good boot warmers and ski racks. Just don't get caught up in there with any more than three people.

Ski Total provided plenty of entertainment in the evening (pub quiz, bar crawls etc.) and also offer a free hosting service three times a week, to help you get your bearings.

All in all, if I decide to stay in this resort again (and who wouldn't!) I wouldn't hesitate to book myself in the Coq De Bruyere with Ski Total again for the location and the excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This chalet hotel being used by Ski Total does look a little tired and the rooms are small. However, the rooms (and especially the bathrooms) are clean, there is plenty of hot water, the lounge area is comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent - lots of choice and special requests catered for on a daily basis. We were on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel and did not experience any noise during our week long stay. Ideal location for ski-ing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back were quiet. Wine is taken away as soon as dinner is finished but there was plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Just back from Courche 1850.Stayed at this hotel.
Read the reviews in here before we went. I was a bit concerned regarding some of the comments. Needn't have worried. This hotel is excellent value for money.The food is great and the staff excellent. If you live in Claridges in London then book in next door at St Joseph s at £2500 a night.
Rooms excellent
Staff first class
Location could nt be bettered
Bar Cheapest in 1850
Summary; We have skied all over France and this little place offers great value for money.The staff are top notch and unless you are looking for problems, you wont find any.We are booking for 2013

Room Tip: book a room away from road. disco comes out at 4 am and then the bin lorries arrive at 5 am.Can wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed here week beginning 8th Jan. Room had recently been refurbished and was spotlessly clean. Shower room small but did the job. Our room was on the first floor and was front facing. One or two mornings we did have a snowplough start very early outside the hotel but at least there was lots of snow to clear! Staff in hotel were extremely friendly and helpful & food was very good. The resort in general is very pricey compared to Mottaret & considering how expensive drinks/food were around the resort the hotel was extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Au Coq de Bruyere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Coq de Bruyere Hotel

Address: Rue Park City, 73120 Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Courchevel
Number of rooms: 36

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Coq de Bruyere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.