We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Trois Vallees

Save Saved
You added Hotel des Trois Vallees to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Trois Vallees
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Courchevel 1850 | BP 22, 73122 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 52 hotels in Courchevel
Essex UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed 5 days at this hotel. The location, the ski rental in the hotel, the ski in/ski out was really worth spending a bit extra. I would have enjoyed a more interesting breakfast. The rooms werent memorable but we were comfortable and warm and feel that the staff went out of their way to look after us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didier s, Directeur général at Hotel des Trois Vallees, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Gemma W.,

We thank you for your comment.

We are pleased to let you know that the hotel will be refurbished during the Summer and thus, we hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you next year.

Best regards,

Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
18
24
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located very strategically so you can practically walk everywhere. Also because the hotel is ski in and out so that is also great.

The rooms are so so and breakfast was ok at best, making the price bit too steep. However the staff from management to reception or ski room to even cleaning was exceptionally great. They were very helpful and attentive making the stay very smooth. Definitely would come again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didier s, Directeur général at Hotel des Trois Vallees, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Barisozaydinli,

Many thanks for your review.

We are pleased to let you now that the hotel will be extensively refurbished during the Summer.

We are looking forward to welcoming you next year in a brand new hotel!

Best regards,

Didier Sanz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lounge area- Tired and unwelcoming
Breakfast- Very poor, Hot food at extra charge.
Service- Poor and very very slow

I expected a lot more from a four star hotel in Courchevel 1850. Very very expensive for what we got.

Apparently there was a spa but didn't know about it until I read other reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didier s, Directeur général at Hotel des Trois Vallees, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear RKB22,

Thank you for your review, we've been sorry to read how disappointed you were.
We've taken good note of your comment, witch hlp us to improve the quality of our service.

Best regard's

Didier Sanz
Général Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay in this hotel. This hotel is rated as a 4 star, our personal rating would be at best 1 star.

The staff, although friendly, are young and inexperienced in all aspects of service. They lack training and direction.

The lounge area was "soleless" with tired sofas and chairs, some of the chairs being rigid plastic bucket type seats. The fire in this lounge was never alight on our return from the days' ski-ing. On two occasions we had to ask the staff to light the fire. Also, afternoon tea consisted of left-over croissants, juice and biscuits from breakfast at a charge of 14 euros per head!

Breakfast was poor, service at breakfast was extremely slow with insufficient staff and no supervisory staff present. A wait of 40 minutes for a boiled egg is unacceptable.

Whilst the rooms are of a good size, they are tired and required total overall. Our safe was not working and took 36 hours to fix, but what concerned us most was that our bedroom door was left open by the cleaners on two occasions. We asked to speak to the manager but was told he would be in the next morning/evening but he never appeared.

Needless to say, we will not return to this hotel and would advise others to give this hotel a "wide berth!"

The hotel does not represent "value more money".

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didier s, Directeur général at Hotel des Trois Vallees, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Cremms,

Thank you for you review on tripadvisor. Our guest opinion is valueable to us and help us to improve our service everyday.
The hotel will be refurbished during summer and of course all your comments will be taken into account.
We were sorry to read that you were disapointed by your stay wih us and we hope will have he pleasure to wecoming you next year to change your oinion on us.

Best Regard's

Didier Sanz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel three years ago and the location, food, service and ambience was so good we decided to return with friends and family this year. The food, service and ambience has greatly deteriorated but at least the location cannot be taken away!

There were a few small issues with our room on arrival, light bulbs not working, mirror hanging down in the bathroom but these were corrected the next day.

Breakfast on the first morning was a disaster. We were a party of seven but no table for seven had been set up for us so we sat on separate tables. The breakfast buffet was very poor indeed. Bread (which was very nice), cakes, ham, cheese, cereal and yogurt. There was none of the usual prepared fresh fruits, hot plates of scrambled egg and bacon which you would usually expect in a four star hotel. I asked the waiter if there was any fresh fruit and eventually the apple bowl from reception was bought up.

The tables were set up with just knives and forks and thin tissue napkins. It looked more like a canteen than a hotel restaurant. We sat down and waited for someone to take our tea/coffee order.....and we waited.......and we waited. Eventually one of us got up to find the waiter and asked for four coffees. Some fifteen minutes later the coffees arrived and the hot milk some five minutes after that. We ordered eggs. The boiled eggs arrived in ramekin dishes. No egg cups despite the restaurant being empty. The scrambled egg looked like a bowl of porridge. It looked and tasted like powdered egg or egg which had been prepared much earlier and reheated and whisked. It was totally inedible and we returned it. Nobody asked what the problem was. They simply took it away without comment. The boiled eggs were fresh (as they should be).

The service in the restaurant was extremely poor. Waiters were inattentive and did not clear tables. Dirty cereal bowls and cups and saucers were not cleared before they served our eggs and by the end of the meal our table was piled high with dirty crockery. We watched one family enter the restaurant and clear a table themselves so that they could sit down. The young staff were friendly enough but there was a lack of supervision, lack of order and they had clearly not been trained.

We made a complaint to the reception and asked to speak to the Manager. We were told he was not in the hotel and there was no under manager available but he would be returning the following evening. We asked that he contact us.

The following afternoon we returned from ski-ing at about 6pm looking forward to a drink by the fire. There was no fire prepared in the lounge and we must have asked three of four times before they eventually lit it. Set out in the lounge was a table with croissants, cake and fruit juice at a charge of 14 euros per person. These were not freshly baked but clearly left over from breakfast. We ordered beers and wine and the drinks came in different glasses of varying shapes and sizes, no doily put down on the table, no nuts or nibbles. All the little things one expects from a four star hotel were missing.

Our second breakfast was no improvement on the first. Still no roaring fire to come back to at the end of the day.

There was a problem with room doors being left unlocked by the cleaner. We reported this to reception but it happened every day. On the second day I returned to my room to find my door wide open, the bed half made and no towels in my bathroom. I went to reception to ask for towels and was told I would have to wait until somebody from house keeping arrived. At 6.30pm I went back to reception to tell them I wanted to take a bath and needed some towels and was told "it isn't possible".

On day three of our holiday we discovered large clumps of plaster falling down from a hole in our ceiling. We then noticed the huge crack running up the wall and across the ceiling.

We asked again if we could speak to the manager but this time we were told he would not be returning until monday, the day we left. We never did see the manager.

Our tour operator spoke to the hotel on our behalf and on our final evening we were left a half bottle of sparkling wine with a note of apology.

When we checked out we were told that we would not be charged for the eggs we ordered at breakfast. This came as quite as a surprise as we hadn't even realised that eggs were chargeable. Nowhere did it say that hot food was at an extra charge. I have never stayed in a four star hotel where eggs had not been included. In fact, every four star hotel we have stayed in have a selection of eggs, bacon and tomatoes.

We have stayed in many four star hotels in many ski resorts across Europe over the years and this is quite simply the worst. The only plus point is the location and the beds were comfortable.

The service, ambience and most certainly the food are not worthy of its four stars. If the elusive Manager wishes to keep people coming to his hotel then he needs to make a lot of changes.

As for us......we will never return to Hotel des Trois Vallees.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didier s, Directeur général at Hotel des Trois Vallees, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Cremms,

Dear Wendy,

Thank you for you review on tripadvisor. Our guest opinion is valueable to us and help us to improve our service everyday.
The hotel will be refurbished during summer and of course all your comments will be taken into account.
We were sorry to read that you were disapointed by your stay wih us and we hope will have he pleasure to wecoming you next year to change your oinion on us.

Best Regard's

Didier Sanz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very comfortable and classic ski-lodge hotel with excellent ski-in-ski-out access to the Courchevel slopes. The main Verdons gondola is a 15 second ski down from the hotel - super convenient! Large rooms with comfortable beds, including a big tub in our room (though not sure they come with every room). Our room had a balcony. Staff are helpful and warm, and can help you arrange your lift tickets and arrange transport around Courchevel, although the hotel is situated very close to the center of town. Lots of great shopping within 5-10 minutes walking distance. The guy in the ski shop is friendly and helpful, and will help with getting your boots on and off too. He will take your skis and poles out to the slope and lay them out for you in the morning, and when you return, he'll take them in for you as well - SUPERB!

Breakfast is decent and includes eggs (you have to request for them), croissants, cheeses, cereals, jams, etc....enough to charge you up for a morning on the slopes.

As for things that could be better - the bathroom fittings were falling apart a bit - the faucets were a bit faulty but we've notified management and they should be fixed. Strangely if you have Mac or iPad, you'll experience pretty stable wifi connections. But for some strange reason, Windows based laptops have trouble keep a stable connection. Hope they can fix this soon.

Overall, we were satisfied with the hotel, although it was pricey during the week that we stayed. But then again, everything is expensive in Courchevel...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Courchel town. At night, the city is lighted and offers a terrific vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didier s, Directeur général at Hotel des Trois Vallees, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Paul,

We have been very pleased to welcome you in our hotel, and we thank you for your review.
The renovation that will be starting in April, will allow us to fix the inconveniences you encountered regarding the bathroom and the Wifi.
We have forwarded your comment to Ben at the Ski Room and to the all stafff of the hotel.

Hoping to have the pleasure to welcoming you next year.

Your's sincerely

Didier Sanz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We've just returned from a short break at Hotel Trois Vallees and were delighted with the hotel. Nice big twin room, very good service and the location could not have been better. We had a slight issue with a smelly fridge in the room, but this was resolved within 30 minutes of us mentioning it.

The team at the hotel went out of their way to help and if I go back to Courchevel I wouldn't bother looking elsewhere. Thanks Didier:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didier s, Directeur général at Hotel des Trois Vallees, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Stuart2013
We thank you for your very nice review, we are pleased to let you now that the hotel will be refurbished this summer in order to improve even more our guest's experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you next year,

Didier Sanz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel des Trois Vallees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Trois Vallees

Address: Courchevel 1850 | BP 22, 73122 Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Courchevel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Courchevel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courchevel
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Trois Vallees 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel des Trois Vallees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Trois Vallees Courchevel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Trois Vallees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.