We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wondeful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherpas Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sherpas Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMOMA.com
Sherpas Hotel
Jardin Alpin | Courchevel 1850, 73440 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 52 hotels in Courchevel
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“wondeful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

we staid at that hotel several time in the past and, every time we are going there it is PERFECT!
you can reach the hotel with your ski on and compared to the other hotels in the station, the price is excellent for what you get.
The rooms are comfortable and the swimming pool is so nice after a day on the slopes.

definitely a place I will visit again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

4 times in this hotel , I return with my kids this years and we loved.good service ,amazing tensing room , good pool and great restaurant.ski out and only 150 meters to ski in

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We have stayed in Courchevel several times over the past ten years in hotels ranging from basic three stars to the Aman resort Melezin. Sherpas is an excellent mid range option. The food is outstanding restaurant quality and all the more surprising for a ski hotel. It was varied, very French, with first class ingredients and on the modest size, portion wise, which suited us perfectly. The rooms are adequate, nothing more and certainly not spacious but the beds were very comfortable. There is a small pool which our younger children enjoyed every evening and a sauna and steam room. There is also an in house ski hire shop although we all had difficulty with our boots and skis and some of us ended up going elsewhere after the first day. There is also a useful unsupervised playroom near the bar and restaurant with a small selection of toys and a playstation and DVDs, which was very welcome in the evenings. The only downside for me was that although it is ski in, it really is not ski out and it is also up in the jardin alpin area so you are out of the village and not convenient for any of the amenities there. The hotel shuttle bus was fairly available though. There were lovely bar staff who mixed us a great variety of cocktails every evening. Location notwithstanding, I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The location is excellent to go skiing. You can leave/arrive with your skis on as long as there is snow on the road
The management and staff are very friendly.
There is a game room for the children with video games and all. Easy and free internet access.
The decoration is outdated - orange chairs and carpet in the dining room; fake flowers - still orange and yellow- in the stairways. You seem to be back in the 70s. Our room has been renovated so no orange there but browns and beige, much better. Small bathroom but brand lush towels and bathrobes. There is no service in the evening to open the beds, replace the towels
The restaurant is excellent.
The clientele at Christmas is mostly Russian.
The price is the same as the other 4 star of Courchevel but when you see what other hotels have to offer your wonder if the price should not be lower. I guess they have changed the criteria for 3 and 4 stars and The Sherpas is still a good 3 star but not 4 and the price should go with that.
Another problem not worth the 4 star was the smell of septic tank in the elevator and landing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riffa, Bahrain
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

This hotel is located on top of Courchevel 1850 with easy access to town or slopes thru the hotel bus which is almost always avalible to take u to either,.Also the gondola is a short walk away and works untill 8pm which suited us well since we dine and sleep early at the hotel we were on half board.
This is a ski in hotel but not Ski out, the bus takes U to the slopes within 2 minutes away and you can ski back easily to the hotel
.Food is gourment.
Spa girl is exellent.
Swimming Pool almost empty ,there was no children around at the time we stayed there.
This hotel is priced well for expensive courchevel, it is waiting to be upgraded to 4 stars soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed here as two couples on a ski holiday in two rooms, half board. The evening dinners were utterly delicious & the service from wait staff was friendly, efficient, first class. We also enjoyed night caps in the bar by the fire each evening. The facilities are well maintained & the rooms are very cute, with our breakfast served in the room! I have such good memories of this place & I would not hesitate to recommend it or to return again one day.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

Stayed through Scott Dunn which uses this hotel extensively - very popular with families. The management is excellent but, at the end of the season, at least one staff member was a little frayed at the edges. We stayed with our two young children in an adjoining room and they were accommodated well - there is a children's tea at 6.30 which is a little late for some English kids.
For the grown-ups, the table d'hote is excellent - soup, first course, main course, chariot de fromages and an elaborate pudding. Execution stays just on just the right side of over-elaborate. The wine list goes from expensive to astronomical - this is Courchevel, after all. As with many Savoie hotels there's an over-abundance of yellow pine, but you can always gaze out over the Jardin Alpin piste if it all gets a bit much. The pool and sauna complex is a godsend for over-excited kids and over-worked muscles alike. It's a five-minute schlep to the Jardin slope, right where the 'Magic Carpet' beginners area, but if you ask nicely they'll drop you in the navette - those ski boots and skis can get heavy....

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sherpas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherpas Hotel

Also Known As:
Sherpas Hotel Courchevel
Address: Jardin Alpin | Courchevel 1850, 73440 Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 52 hotels in Courchevel
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High up at Courchevel 1850, in the Savoie region of France, Les Sherpas hotel invites you to recharge in a calm and relaxing environment. From a privileged location amongst pines and only a few steps from the pistes, it is the ideal location for you to benefit fully from everything this outstanding ski resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sherpas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherpas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.