We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Portetta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Portetta
Save
You added Hotel Le Portetta to your Saves list
Courchevel 1650 | Saint Bon, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Courchevel
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Great hotel in excellent location. Lovely lounge area, nice restaurant, very comfortable boot room, and some of the best personal service we have had anywhere in Europe. High points were the ease of getting boots and skis hired in the hotel itself, and then having it all laid out in the building for you; the spa, where my wife and I both had a very good massage. Not cheap, but it does represent value as what is offers is so good.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Outstanding hotel, staff and attention to detail. The service in the ski room and the maitre'd in the restaurant outclass any other ski venue we have tried. The staff could not be more helpful. Taxi transfers to Geneva airport were arranged for us and although expensive it meant that the holiday was stress-free from start to finish. Ski New Generation provide excellent ski/snowboard instruction suited to small groups of english speakers. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed here while skiing for a week in March. The rooms are small but very nicely done. In particular, the bath and shower are excellent. The food is great (although the restaurant is quite smart and all I had were jeans and trainers....). Free wifi in all the rooms too.

Brilliant location - literally at the bottom of the nursery slope and 2 minutes from the bubble lift.

Staff extremely nice and all of them spoke very good English.

The only negative aspects were that they charged EUR 10 to just sit in the spa area (why not increase the price of the room slightly and make it free?), there is no pool/hot tub (strange that they did not include that in their refurbishment), no pay TV and the boot room service was a bit clunky.

The negative points are very minor though - overall a great hotel, good value for the area and we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

We returned for I think the ninth year. The service is fabulous and really friendly and helpful. The location is superb, as the village of 1650 is in my opinion is the best in the Courchevel area, as you defintley get the quietest ski-ing on the slopes in peak season.

The hotel offers wonderful food, and if you really don't want one of the choices on the menu, they will happily subsitute for something else, but frankly the cooking is so good that even I ,the most fussy eater ever, was rarely unhappy! Gilbert the maitre 'D is the friendliest of them all. He works so hard to ensure all guests have a pleasurable stay.

A real must is to have lunch here on a sunny day. The terrace is a real sun-trap and the food is pretty good as well!

Since the hotel was re-furbished this summer the quality of the rooms and public areas has improved immeasurably. The bedrooms had become tired in previous years, but are now an absolute pleasue. However the greatest luxury has to be the ski valet/on site ski shop. They friendly lads will evn help you on with your boots and they make the whole palava of getting boots on, ski's out reaaly easy.

If you have never skied come here as you will be amazed with the service, if you have skied many years then also come here because few if any other hotel will beat this for friendly and great service.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

As other posts have mentioned the hotel has just been refurbished. The hotel looks great (fairly traditional with a contemporary touches) and is in a good location just by the piste in 1650, one minute walk to the lifts and you can ski in/out.

We had a valley room without a balcony on the second floor, it was fairly small but perfectly adequate. The room was pleasantly decorated with a big flat screen TV and smart bathroom (nice aromatherapy associates toiletries). Free wifi is available throughout the hotel.

We stayed on a half board basis and dinner in the hotel was good each night with a choice of two starters and main courses followed by cheese and a dessert buffet. Good wine list with local wine from 30 euro per bottle (they will keep your wine for the next night if you don't finish the whole bottle).

The hotel has a ski shop (branch of Twinner Gilbert Sports) and they will store skis overnight even if you don't hire equipment from them.

Service was great for the duration of our stay and all the staff were friendly. We drove from London (approx 9 hours) and the hotel has covered parking available.

The hotel is quite expensive but it is in Courchevel and the euro is very strong against the pound at the moment so not surprising!

Would really recommend the hotel and 1650 in general. The village is small but there are plenty of bars and restaurants and rarely any queues for the lifts - if you want to go to other parts of Courchevel, there are regular ski buses (5 minutes to 1850).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

The renovation of the hotel is done with the up most taste,the location is perfect and so is the service.
The rooms are small but perfectly finished,with beautiful bathrooms.
It also has a great spa,we will be going back.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Portetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Portetta

Address: Courchevel 1650 | Saint Bon, 73120 Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Courchevel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courchevel
#3 Spa Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in prime position at the foot of the slopes of Courchevel 1650, Le Portetta hotel and Le Portetta Lofts is the perfect base for the ultimate ski experience.Re-designed, rebuilt and fully refurbished, Le Portetta is the ideal mountain retreat. Recently accredited with a French 4 Star rating, this family friendly, ski-in ski-out hotel offers thirty-eight cosy and luxurious rooms all overlooking either the piste or the mountain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portetta Hotel Courchevel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Portetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.