We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel with Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Portetta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Portetta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Le Portetta
Courchevel 1650 | Saint Bon, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 52 hotels in Courchevel
Helen's Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Super Hotel with Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed with our kids (17&19) just before Easter. With a private transfer we took just over 2 hours from Geneva to get to the hotel. The tone of the trip was set by the friendly manner in which we were welcomed both by the reception staff and later that evening by the Hotel Manager - something that is not common in many ski hotels. Arriving about lunchtime we ate on the terrace; the food was good and served promptly. The terrace is a pleasant place to sit, with fires and rugs on the sofas for when it is cooler. The outside bar has see through side curtains that keep the heat in while you can enjoy apres ski beverages (A large beer is half price at 4 Euro between 4 & 6pm) or lunch.

We had a couple of Valley facing rooms which was not a problem as they were on the side of the hotel and we didn't spend a great deal of time in the rooms The rooms were well appointed but compact, pretty much in keeping with a ski hotel. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom had a bath and combined shower with a movable glass screen. There was a separate WC from the bathroom. Storage for clothes was fine for a weeks skiing.

We were on a half board option which saved the age old dilemma of finding and booking a restaurant every evening. Breakfast consisted of the usual continental clod meats and cheeses, as well as cereals, yoghurts and breads. Cooked breakfast available to order was usually served promptly. The evening menu was very good and more that adequate choice for a weeks stay. Including starters, regional specialities, meat fish, a cheese course and a great range of typical French deserts. Every evening in addition 'specials' were offered (starter & main course). The seafood evening as others have mentioned was very good. The attention of all the restaurant staff was first class and service was consistently delivered with a smile! The wine list was extensive and despite what others have said does contain some wines from outside France (though I'm not sure why when you are in France you should want/need to search these out.)

The downstairs lounge is stylishly decorated and a great place for a pre or post dinner drink. The waiter service is first class and complementary appetisers were served with drinks each evening.

The ski room is is the basement of the hotel and your skis are set outside each morning for you to pick up. The boot racks are heated and make sure boots nice & warm in the morning. From a short walk up the steps the Ariondaz bubble is a short 100m ski across to. If it is busy you can just as easily grab the Marquis drag lift if there is a queue. From the top of the Marquis you are a short ski to the Signal chair lift.

In summary we as a family are experienced skiers and have stayed in many different hotels over the years. While this is the first time I have stayed in Le Portetta and can safely say that I would have no hesitation to return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    22
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at Le Portetta in slope facing room. The hotel is perfectly located at the bottom of the 1650 slopes and not more than 30m from the main gondola. The rooms are beautifully appointed and even though they are a little small, everything is well laid out and the view up the mountain gives the room a sense of spaciousness. Service is attentive and friendly. The hotel features a good spa and a wonderful ski room staffed with excellent ski technicians who are always willing to assist with your equipment. Breakfast is a little disappointing as it could do with more options. Dinner in the restaurant is good, the fish buffet on the Thursday evening is excellent. There is a strong selection of French (only, of course) wines. Happy hour at the hotel's outside bar is a great way to unwind after a days skiing. Overall, a great holiday experience.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra cost to upgrade to a slope facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Second year running we have stayed here having eaten lunch when skiing over from other resorts over 5 years. Its a seriously thought out ski hotel, it 4-5 star without the glitz and deep pile carpets. Simply chic and classy interior design, stones floors, fires, great rooms, great casual staff, and even somebody to help you on with your boots daily. It is also proper ski in ski out. Lunch here is a good swap for dinner if on half board, well worth skiing back for. Great, grown up hotel.

Room Tip: simply ask for a slope view, all rooms however are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just had a week at Le Portetta and consider it to be one of the best run hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff were exceptional. Especially M. Gilbert and Betty in the dining room, the wonderfully welcoming reception team, the really efficient housekeeping and the great guys in the ski room. Everywhere is spotless, our room was always perfect. The dining room was comfortable, the service was excellent,the food was generous and delicious. The location of the hotel is unbeatable! You walk a very short distance to the drag lift or the bubble in the morning and you can ski right back to the hotel terrace at the end of the day.

Our room had a lovely view of the pistes and the goings on at the junior ski school, hours of amusement there! The room was def. compact but it did not matter as we had room for everything. The bathroom was very well fitted out with excellent fittings, always plenty of hot water a very comfy bath to soak in, good shower etc. The wc is separate which good. Bed was comfy. The rooms are incredibly well sound proofed, you don't hear a thing from next door or above which is great, slept like a log.

The lounge was a lovely area for a homecoming cup of tea or chocolate. The 4-6pm happy hour is welcome as prices are Courchevel high. 5 euros for a cup of tea is reduced to 4 euros. We thought that it would be nice if hotel residents had a rate slightly below visitors to the terrace or lounge. All the staff got to know you and never passed by without a friendly "bonjour".

The Fire and Ice terrace looked cool but we did not eat there as we were always up the mountain skiing at lunch time. The hotel made reservations at mountain restaurants for us, no problem. Loved Le Belair above 1650.

This is a wonderful hotel and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Choose a piste view room, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Discovered the 4-6pm happy hour which is great for treating the kids to affordable chocolat chantilly after the days skiing. Great prices and warm, welcoming outside and inside bars. Well done Portetta - you've come a long way since our last visit to 1650 some years ago.

Room Tip: Just had drinks here - hotel interior looked very inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were given a much better room this year. Still a "valley view" (ie no view to speak of) but huge and a proper two bed two bathroom apartment. With that said it was a bit dingy but that was a small price to pay for fantastic space and comfort. Room always immaculately made up and clean. Bed very comfortable. My daughter used one of the two bunk beds in her room and loved it. We were never once disturbed by any kind of noise during our stay and slept very well.

Nice surprise to see a lot of the staff from our last stay still working at the hotel which must be a good sign as I imagine good staff in a resort like Courchevel are hard to hold on to. Everyone really friendly with few exceptions.

We had bed and breakfast this trip rather than half board as we are not a huge fan of the restaurant. Food is only moderately good in a fussy way and really not what you feel like after a days skiing and possibly a good lunch. This is a personal view and others seem to be happy with it. It seems to me at odds with the hotel which has a more stylish approach as if somebody else is running that side of the business. Breakfast served in the same room on the other hand works well, half buffet, half table service.

I had a bit of a set to with the guy who runs the ski room last year but we have buried the hatchet and we had impeccable service throughout. Skis always ready and warm boots appear instantly as you arrive. It is a fantastic ski room by any measure with a rare relaxed and unhurried atmosphere.

We ate at the Fire and Ice bar for lunch this year and loved it. Good value and great food. This is much more where the restaurant inside should be heading.

If I have any criticisms it would be that some of the English staff spoke no French which the French clientele found a bit odd. The hotel is English owned and has a very large majority of English staying but its in France and it should be a French hotel in my opinion. In terms of location being at the foot of the piste gives it convenience but takes away a lot of opportunities for a view and so in that respect you don't get a regular feeling of your location high up in the mountains. 1650 also is a very boring little town with limited choice of restaurants etc. You never have the urge to go for a walk to take in the atmosphere as there simply isn't any. In that respect rather than any criticism of the Portetta, we will probably not choose Courchevel again as there is so much beauty in the Alps that does not have these down sides.

Anyway, full marks to the Portetta, a hotel that is trying very hard to please and upping its game while it does so. If you book to stay here I doubt very much you will be disappointed and my guess is that if the hotel is going anywhere, it is upmarket.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Le Portetta was simply splendid. The staff in all areas were attentive yet not intrusive. Fussy eating was catered for without issue. Fire & Ice provided gorgeous apres ski setting. Sofas on the decking were generally requisitioned by those who had only spent part of the day on piste, wrapping themselves in the faux fur blankets. We would certainly stay again and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: South facing balcony room had the sun from 07:00 - 17:00 when it disappeared below the mountians.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Portetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Portetta

Also Known As:
Portetta Hotel Courchevel
Address: Courchevel 1650 | Saint Bon, 73120 Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Courchevel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in prime position at the foot of the slopes of Courchevel 1650, Le Portetta hotel and Le Portetta Lofts is the perfect base for the ultimate ski experience.Re-designed, rebuilt and fully refurbished, Le Portetta is the ideal mountain retreat. Recently accredited with a French 4 Star rating, this family friendly, ski-in ski-out hotel offers thirty-eight cosy and luxurious rooms all overlooking either the piste or the mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia so you can book your Hotel Le Portetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Portetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.