We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Portetta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Portetta
Courchevel 1650 | Saint Bon, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 53 hotels in Courchevel
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at Le Portetta in slope facing room. The hotel is perfectly located at the bottom of the 1650 slopes and not more than 30m from the main gondola. The rooms are beautifully appointed and even though they are a little small, everything is well laid out and the view up the mountain gives the room a sense of spaciousness. Service is attentive and friendly. The hotel features a good spa and a wonderful ski room staffed with excellent ski technicians who are always willing to assist with your equipment. Breakfast is a little disappointing as it could do with more options. Dinner in the restaurant is good, the fish buffet on the Thursday evening is excellent. There is a strong selection of French (only, of course) wines. Happy hour at the hotel's outside bar is a great way to unwind after a days skiing. Overall, a great holiday experience.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra cost to upgrade to a slope facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Second year running we have stayed here having eaten lunch when skiing over from other resorts over 5 years. Its a seriously thought out ski hotel, it 4-5 star without the glitz and deep pile carpets. Simply chic and classy interior design, stones floors, fires, great rooms, great casual staff, and even somebody to help you on with your boots daily. It is also proper ski in ski out. Lunch here is a good swap for dinner if on half board, well worth skiing back for. Great, grown up hotel.

Room Tip: simply ask for a slope view, all rooms however are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just had a week at Le Portetta and consider it to be one of the best run hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff were exceptional. Especially M. Gilbert and Betty in the dining room, the wonderfully welcoming reception team, the really efficient housekeeping and the great guys in the ski room. Everywhere is spotless, our room was always perfect. The dining room was comfortable, the service was excellent,the food was generous and delicious. The location of the hotel is unbeatable! You walk a very short distance to the drag lift or the bubble in the morning and you can ski right back to the hotel terrace at the end of the day.

Our room had a lovely view of the pistes and the goings on at the junior ski school, hours of amusement there! The room was def. compact but it did not matter as we had room for everything. The bathroom was very well fitted out with excellent fittings, always plenty of hot water a very comfy bath to soak in, good shower etc. The wc is separate which good. Bed was comfy. The rooms are incredibly well sound proofed, you don't hear a thing from next door or above which is great, slept like a log.

The lounge was a lovely area for a homecoming cup of tea or chocolate. The 4-6pm happy hour is welcome as prices are Courchevel high. 5 euros for a cup of tea is reduced to 4 euros. We thought that it would be nice if hotel residents had a rate slightly below visitors to the terrace or lounge. All the staff got to know you and never passed by without a friendly "bonjour".

The Fire and Ice terrace looked cool but we did not eat there as we were always up the mountain skiing at lunch time. The hotel made reservations at mountain restaurants for us, no problem. Loved Le Belair above 1650.

This is a wonderful hotel and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Choose a piste view room, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Discovered the 4-6pm happy hour which is great for treating the kids to affordable chocolat chantilly after the days skiing. Great prices and warm, welcoming outside and inside bars. Well done Portetta - you've come a long way since our last visit to 1650 some years ago.

Room Tip: Just had drinks here - hotel interior looked very inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were given a much better room this year. Still a "valley view" (ie no view to speak of) but huge and a proper two bed two bathroom apartment. With that said it was a bit dingy but that was a small price to pay for fantastic space and comfort. Room always immaculately made up and clean. Bed very comfortable. My daughter used one of the two bunk beds in her room and loved it. We were never once disturbed by any kind of noise during our stay and slept very well.

Nice surprise to see a lot of the staff from our last stay still working at the hotel which must be a good sign as I imagine good staff in a resort like Courchevel are hard to hold on to. Everyone really friendly with few exceptions.

We had bed and breakfast this trip rather than half board as we are not a huge fan of the restaurant. Food is only moderately good in a fussy way and really not what you feel like after a days skiing and possibly a good lunch. This is a personal view and others seem to be happy with it. It seems to me at odds with the hotel which has a more stylish approach as if somebody else is running that side of the business. Breakfast served in the same room on the other hand works well, half buffet, half table service.

I had a bit of a set to with the guy who runs the ski room last year but we have buried the hatchet and we had impeccable service throughout. Skis always ready and warm boots appear instantly as you arrive. It is a fantastic ski room by any measure with a rare relaxed and unhurried atmosphere.

We ate at the Fire and Ice bar for lunch this year and loved it. Good value and great food. This is much more where the restaurant inside should be heading.

If I have any criticisms it would be that some of the English staff spoke no French which the French clientele found a bit odd. The hotel is English owned and has a very large majority of English staying but its in France and it should be a French hotel in my opinion. In terms of location being at the foot of the piste gives it convenience but takes away a lot of opportunities for a view and so in that respect you don't get a regular feeling of your location high up in the mountains. 1650 also is a very boring little town with limited choice of restaurants etc. You never have the urge to go for a walk to take in the atmosphere as there simply isn't any. In that respect rather than any criticism of the Portetta, we will probably not choose Courchevel again as there is so much beauty in the Alps that does not have these down sides.

Anyway, full marks to the Portetta, a hotel that is trying very hard to please and upping its game while it does so. If you book to stay here I doubt very much you will be disappointed and my guess is that if the hotel is going anywhere, it is upmarket.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Le Portetta was simply splendid. The staff in all areas were attentive yet not intrusive. Fussy eating was catered for without issue. Fire & Ice provided gorgeous apres ski setting. Sofas on the decking were generally requisitioned by those who had only spent part of the day on piste, wrapping themselves in the faux fur blankets. We would certainly stay again and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: South facing balcony room had the sun from 07:00 - 17:00 when it disappeared below the mountians.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

being back again after one year, the hotel still is as great as last year.
the great ambiance with the relaxed and enthousiastic staff does makes it a real holiday.
with the hotel located on the ski piste, including a ski rental room, close to the ski school doesnt make you work hard to get some hours on the slopes.
the rooms are cosy and pretty, breakfast and dinner included with every day different menus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Portetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Portetta

Address: Courchevel 1650 | Saint Bon, 73120 Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Courchevel
#2 Family Hotel in Courchevel
#2 Spa Hotel in Courchevel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in prime position at the foot of the slopes of Courchevel 1650, Le Portetta hotel and Le Portetta Lofts is the perfect base for the ultimate ski experience.Re-designed, rebuilt and fully refurbished, Le Portetta is the ideal mountain retreat. Recently accredited with a French 4 Star rating, this family friendly, ski-in ski-out hotel offers thirty-eight cosy and luxurious rooms all overlooking either the piste or the mountain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portetta Hotel Courchevel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Portetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Portetta to your Saves list