We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly better than last year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Portetta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Portetta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Portetta
Courchevel 1650 | Saint Bon, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 hotels in Courchevel
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Mostly better than last year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were given a much better room this year. Still a "valley view" (ie no view to speak of) but huge and a proper two bed two bathroom apartment. With that said it was a bit dingy but that was a small price to pay for fantastic space and comfort. Room always immaculately made up and clean. Bed very comfortable. My daughter used one of the two bunk beds in her room and loved it. We were never once disturbed by any kind of noise during our stay and slept very well.

Nice surprise to see a lot of the staff from our last stay still working at the hotel which must be a good sign as I imagine good staff in a resort like Courchevel are hard to hold on to. Everyone really friendly with few exceptions.

We had bed and breakfast this trip rather than half board as we are not a huge fan of the restaurant. Food is only moderately good in a fussy way and really not what you feel like after a days skiing and possibly a good lunch. This is a personal view and others seem to be happy with it. It seems to me at odds with the hotel which has a more stylish approach as if somebody else is running that side of the business. Breakfast served in the same room on the other hand works well, half buffet, half table service.

I had a bit of a set to with the guy who runs the ski room last year but we have buried the hatchet and we had impeccable service throughout. Skis always ready and warm boots appear instantly as you arrive. It is a fantastic ski room by any measure with a rare relaxed and unhurried atmosphere.

We ate at the Fire and Ice bar for lunch this year and loved it. Good value and great food. This is much more where the restaurant inside should be heading.

If I have any criticisms it would be that some of the English staff spoke no French which the French clientele found a bit odd. The hotel is English owned and has a very large majority of English staying but its in France and it should be a French hotel in my opinion. In terms of location being at the foot of the piste gives it convenience but takes away a lot of opportunities for a view and so in that respect you don't get a regular feeling of your location high up in the mountains. 1650 also is a very boring little town with limited choice of restaurants etc. You never have the urge to go for a walk to take in the atmosphere as there simply isn't any. In that respect rather than any criticism of the Portetta, we will probably not choose Courchevel again as there is so much beauty in the Alps that does not have these down sides.

Anyway, full marks to the Portetta, a hotel that is trying very hard to please and upping its game while it does so. If you book to stay here I doubt very much you will be disappointed and my guess is that if the hotel is going anywhere, it is upmarket.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Le Portetta was simply splendid. The staff in all areas were attentive yet not intrusive. Fussy eating was catered for without issue. Fire & Ice provided gorgeous apres ski setting. Sofas on the decking were generally requisitioned by those who had only spent part of the day on piste, wrapping themselves in the faux fur blankets. We would certainly stay again and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: South facing balcony room had the sun from 07:00 - 17:00 when it disappeared below the mountians.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

being back again after one year, the hotel still is as great as last year.
the great ambiance with the relaxed and enthousiastic staff does makes it a real holiday.
with the hotel located on the ski piste, including a ski rental room, close to the ski school doesnt make you work hard to get some hours on the slopes.
the rooms are cosy and pretty, breakfast and dinner included with every day different menus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We've been going to the Portetta for a number of years and think it offers an outstanding all round package. The 3 key elements to the Portetta experience are:

1) Comfort, hospitality and great food

The rooms and public areas of the hotel are all very comfortable. If you're too warm or cold in your room phone reception and they'll immediately adjust the temperature as you want.

The wi-fi in the hotel has recently been upgraded and is now rock solid. I run an online business and had no issues at all with connectivity this year.

The meals are great, and at times better than some I've eaten in Michelin starred restauants. A couple of tips:

At breakfast you can have bacon, sausage and eggs in addition to the extensive buffet options. If you want these extras just ask and they'll be prepared for you quickly.

At the evening meal eat the full 4 courses. Starter, main, cheeses and pudding. If you do this you'll have a well balanced and very filing meal. My wife and I always talk about having another 'portly meal at the Portetta'. The dishes are varied and I've always found options I like, but if you have issues the staff are always helpful. For example, asking for a salad instead of a starter is not a problem.

2) Outstanding location. Built at the foot of some of the best slopes in the 3 Valleys ski area

You can't ski out of the hotel, but you can ski back. The walk to te lifts is a short one. About 100m on the flat to the gondola, or 30m (ish) uphill to the pull lift. I dont agree with some of the comments saying this is tough. It rally isnt!

3) Very helpful and friendly staff. The management team, restaurant staff (particularly maître d' and sommelier) and room service staff are all excellent.

The key staff haven't changed since we started going to this hotel. That's always a very good sign in my view.

In summary I can that having stayed in many hotels in big cities as well as ski resorts, the Portetta certainly ranks among the very best. Quite possibly the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

As far as we are concerned there is nothing that we could find to be negative about!
As per the title, we keep coming back as everything is just as we want a ski hotel to be.

We note Wilson9Surrey comments and we did have a lower floor room above fire and ice and although there was a faint smell of smoke. In our case it was not objectionable.

As a minor point, we would like to see the balance of nationalities redressed a little.

See you next year, thanks for a great time as always.

D & I

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have skied in the alpes for the last 24 years,sometimes 2 or 3 visits each year. The Portetta is easily the best hotel we have stayed in.I first stayed here with family & friends in 2003 and we have been coming with family & friends ever since,we have just returned from our thirteenth successive trip.
You can have absolute confidence when you book a holiday in this hotel you will have an extremley enjoyable break. Nicolas, the hotel director and his staff are passionate about their hotel,and they have every reason to be,it is simply superb, I compare it with staying in other 4 star hotels thoughout the alpes, Chamonix,ValDisere,Tignes,Courchevel 1850,Wengen and Zermatt.
Combine the care and attention the staff take with position of the hotel at the foot of the slopes in Moriund (Courchevel 1650)and you have skiing paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We love the Portetta but just be warned that they have introduced a Fire and Ice bar which has a real fire at it's centre which is lit often from about 9.30 to well into the evening. If you have a piste view room the smoke makes it impossible to use the balcony and even with the doors shut the smoke still comes in through the air vents. You might be better off by booking a valley view room.

Food is sometimes not quite up to standard but other than that we love it here and the staff are fantastic.

Room Tip: All much the same apart from the fire problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Portetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Portetta

Address: Courchevel 1650 | Saint Bon, 73120 Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Courchevel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courchevel
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Courchevel
#2 Spa Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in prime position at the foot of the slopes of Courchevel 1650, Le Portetta hotel and Le Portetta Lofts is the perfect base for the ultimate ski experience.Re-designed, rebuilt and fully refurbished, Le Portetta is the ideal mountain retreat. Recently accredited with a French 4 Star rating, this family friendly, ski-in ski-out hotel offers thirty-eight cosy and luxurious rooms all overlooking either the piste or the mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia so you can book your Hotel Le Portetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portetta Hotel Courchevel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Portetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.