We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous February” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Portetta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Le Portetta to your Saves list
Hotel Le Portetta
Courchevel 1650 | Saint Bon, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Courchevel
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous February”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Le Portetta was simply splendid. The staff in all areas were attentive yet not intrusive. Fussy eating was catered for without issue. Fire & Ice provided gorgeous apres ski setting. Sofas on the decking were generally requisitioned by those who had only spent part of the day on piste, wrapping themselves in the faux fur blankets. We would certainly stay again and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: South facing balcony room had the sun from 07:00 - 17:00 when it disappeared below the mountians.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

being back again after one year, the hotel still is as great as last year.
the great ambiance with the relaxed and enthousiastic staff does makes it a real holiday.
with the hotel located on the ski piste, including a ski rental room, close to the ski school doesnt make you work hard to get some hours on the slopes.
the rooms are cosy and pretty, breakfast and dinner included with every day different menus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We've been going to the Portetta for a number of years and think it offers an outstanding all round package. The 3 key elements to the Portetta experience are:

1) Comfort, hospitality and great food

The rooms and public areas of the hotel are all very comfortable. If you're too warm or cold in your room phone reception and they'll immediately adjust the temperature as you want.

The wi-fi in the hotel has recently been upgraded and is now rock solid. I run an online business and had no issues at all with connectivity this year.

The meals are great, and at times better than some I've eaten in Michelin starred restauants. A couple of tips:

At breakfast you can have bacon, sausage and eggs in addition to the extensive buffet options. If you want these extras just ask and they'll be prepared for you quickly.

At the evening meal eat the full 4 courses. Starter, main, cheeses and pudding. If you do this you'll have a well balanced and very filing meal. My wife and I always talk about having another 'portly meal at the Portetta'. The dishes are varied and I've always found options I like, but if you have issues the staff are always helpful. For example, asking for a salad instead of a starter is not a problem.

2) Outstanding location. Built at the foot of some of the best slopes in the 3 Valleys ski area

You can't ski out of the hotel, but you can ski back. The walk to te lifts is a short one. About 100m on the flat to the gondola, or 30m (ish) uphill to the pull lift. I dont agree with some of the comments saying this is tough. It rally isnt!

3) Very helpful and friendly staff. The management team, restaurant staff (particularly maître d' and sommelier) and room service staff are all excellent.

The key staff haven't changed since we started going to this hotel. That's always a very good sign in my view.

In summary I can that having stayed in many hotels in big cities as well as ski resorts, the Portetta certainly ranks among the very best. Quite possibly the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

As far as we are concerned there is nothing that we could find to be negative about!
As per the title, we keep coming back as everything is just as we want a ski hotel to be.

We note Wilson9Surrey comments and we did have a lower floor room above fire and ice and although there was a faint smell of smoke. In our case it was not objectionable.

As a minor point, we would like to see the balance of nationalities redressed a little.

See you next year, thanks for a great time as always.

D & I

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have skied in the alpes for the last 24 years,sometimes 2 or 3 visits each year. The Portetta is easily the best hotel we have stayed in.I first stayed here with family & friends in 2003 and we have been coming with family & friends ever since,we have just returned from our thirteenth successive trip.
You can have absolute confidence when you book a holiday in this hotel you will have an extremley enjoyable break. Nicolas, the hotel director and his staff are passionate about their hotel,and they have every reason to be,it is simply superb, I compare it with staying in other 4 star hotels thoughout the alpes, Chamonix,ValDisere,Tignes,Courchevel 1850,Wengen and Zermatt.
Combine the care and attention the staff take with position of the hotel at the foot of the slopes in Moriund (Courchevel 1650)and you have skiing paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We love the Portetta but just be warned that they have introduced a Fire and Ice bar which has a real fire at it's centre which is lit often from about 9.30 to well into the evening. If you have a piste view room the smoke makes it impossible to use the balcony and even with the doors shut the smoke still comes in through the air vents. You might be better off by booking a valley view room.

Food is sometimes not quite up to standard but other than that we love it here and the staff are fantastic.

Room Tip: All much the same apart from the fire problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were bemused by some of the other reviews. We've just returned from a week at the Portetta and were delighted by it.

The location at the bottom of the pistes is outstanding, and gives easy access to the slopes of 1650. But what we loved about it was the comfort of the room and the warmth of the service, which was excellent.

This quality of service started at the front desk and continued to the restaurant and the truly outstanding boot room, the best we'd ever seen. Nothing like skiing in warmed boots

The food was very good, and the room was excellent - not massive as others have said but immaculately furnished, spotlessly clean and perfectly spacious enough for the two of us.

The food was generally very good, and the breakfast buffet really set us for a day on the slopes. The Thursday seafood buffet was memorable, but on other nights we'd have liked to see a few more local specialities - at times it felt it was trying a little too hard. Make sure to ask for a fondue one night!

The spa in the basement is very relaxing but it's a shame they didn't think of installing a jacuzzi especially as they have so much space.

Minor quibbles though and while it's not cheap, it's not outrageous by Courchevel standards - we got a good value special offer - and is a lovely place to spend a week. We'd wholeheartedly recommend it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Portetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Portetta

Address: Courchevel 1650 | Saint Bon, 73120 Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Courchevel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courchevel
#3 Spa Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in prime position at the foot of the slopes of Courchevel 1650, Le Portetta hotel and Le Portetta Lofts is the perfect base for the ultimate ski experience.Re-designed, rebuilt and fully refurbished, Le Portetta is the ideal mountain retreat. Recently accredited with a French 4 Star rating, this family friendly, ski-in ski-out hotel offers thirty-eight cosy and luxurious rooms all overlooking either the piste or the mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia so you can book your Hotel Le Portetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portetta Hotel Courchevel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Portetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.