We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in 1650!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Portetta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Le Portetta to your Saves list
Hotel Le Portetta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Courchevel 1650 | Saint Bon, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Courchevel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in 1650!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This hotel has a great location, right at the foot of the slopes and the nursery ski school! The decor is very stylish but cosy and the rooms have an alpine feel to them. The lounge area is a great place to unwind with a cocktail or hot chocolate after a long day on the slopes. the outside decking area is a great sunspot for lunch. The boot/ski room is well equipped and the staff very helpful. in fact the staff overall in the hotel were very charming and efficient! The main restaurant was nice, and had a wonderful choice of food at breakfast and dinner. Overall a very happy experience!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria_gibbs, Marketing Assistant at Hotel Le Portetta, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thanks for reviewing us here at Le Portetta - all of your feedback is very useful and we really appreciate you taking the time to do it. I'm glad you had such an enjoyable time with us when you came back in February.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    30
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
paris
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We really enjoy our stay at this hotel. we have a really good time, everything was perfect. We just have prefer to rent our ski at FRANCIS BLANC SPORTS. They were more professionnal and the quality of the material was really better : Thank you Nadine & Sophie. So I advice you to go there as to rent the ski directly with the shop that the hotel works. I will go back there if we come back to COURCHEVEL 1650.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria_gibbs, Marketing Assistant at Hotel Le Portetta, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to review us at Le Portetta. We look forward to seeing you when you return to Courcheval 1650.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We have stayed her on several holidays to Courchevel, an excellent family hotel! Clean, friendly and very helpful staff. The food is good too. With a special mention to the desserts, they are out of this world! Will be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria_gibbs, Marketing Assistant at Hotel Le Portetta, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
We're so glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us again, here at Le Portetta, back in January. Thank you for taking time to review us, it's very important to know what we are doing well and what needs improving on.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa14
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Delightful staff exellent rooms and a great ski shop.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria_gibbs, Marketing Assistant at Hotel Le Portetta, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for reviewing us here at Le Portetta - we're so glad you thought the staff and the rooms were excellent as well as the ski shop. We really appreciate your kind feedback.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

form every aspect this hotel was excellent. It certainly costs every penny but that is very much in line with the courchevel expense rate rather than being hotel specific. It seemed as though the hotel had thought of every point of the skier's experience and provided practical and comfortable solutions. You can ski off the slope into the hotel porch, eat there on a sunny day or walk into the bar at the back of the hotel through a warm reception area where you can leave your ski boots and put on a complimentary pair of fluffy slippers during your break off the slops. The spa, the excellent boot room, food, service all added to the overall experience. It really has set a high benchmark for the next ski hotel we might have to look for elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria_gibbs, Marketing Assistant at Hotel Le Portetta, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Le Portetta. Thank you for taking your time to review us, it is always important for us to gain customer feedback and always nice to know when someone has enjoyed every part of their stay here.
We hope you don't have to look elsewhere for a hotel and that you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

On the whole, had a great experience at Hotel Le Portetta.

The hotel is located right at the base of the lift in Courcheval 1650. The public areas are very nice, and clearly recently remodeled. The rooms are very nicely appointed although small, however, you tend to expect that a bit in Europe. The breakfast and dinner, included in our rate, were more than adequate and certainly saved us quite a bit as eating out in town gets expensive quick.

The spa area with steam room and sauna was very nice. Although there is no pool or hot tub on the property, which was a bit disappointing after a long day of skiing.

Overall, the staff was very friendly and attentive, and spoke English well enough to accommodate those of us who did not speak French well enough. We did, however, have a bit of an issue with the night time staff members at the front desk, whose English was not up to par. One evening, we attempted to ask for the wireless password, and he was unable to understand what we were asking for despite our best efforts to explain it. On another evening he refused to call us a cab, telling us that they were all closed, despite it being 9 pm. They were not closed, and luckily we had been given a business card earlier, and were able to call ourselves.

Room Tip: Lofts are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria_gibbs, Marketing Assistant at Hotel Le Portetta, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to review us, it is important for us to gain as much feedback as possible in order to ensure we constantly continue to offer the best service to our guests. We're glad you liked the hotel overall and apologies that there were a few difficulties due to language barriers - I do hope they were resolved quickly enough.
We hope you will be back to stay sometime in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This was our third holiday at Le Portetta it was simply perfection.
The accommodation is very comfortable through out the hotel and the service is Impeccable. The position of the hotel is directly on the slopes ,with a beautiful ski room so access is Incredibly simple.
The food is delicious and with a wonderful sun terrace lunches are a real pleasure.
The spa is also beautiful with great treatments .
I cant wait till next year for my annual Portetta experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria_gibbs, Marketing Assistant at Hotel Le Portetta, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
We're so glad that you enjoy staying here at Le Portetta so much, it is always a pleasure to see guests returning. Thank you for writing your review, it is extremely important to us and helps us to maintain the standard of service that we have shown to you in the past.
We look forward to seeing you again this season.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Portetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Portetta

Address: Courchevel 1650 | Saint Bon, 73120 Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Courchevel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Courchevel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Courchevel
#5 Spa Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Portetta 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in prime position at the foot of the slopes of Courchevel 1650, Le Portetta hotel and Le Portetta Lofts is the perfect base for the ultimate ski experience.Re-designed, rebuilt and fully refurbished, Le Portetta is the ideal mountain retreat. Recently accredited with a French 4 Star rating, this family friendly, ski-in ski-out hotel offers thirty-eight cosy and luxurious rooms all overlooking either the piste or the mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia so you can book your Hotel Le Portetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portetta Hotel Courchevel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Portetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.