We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,friendly staff and good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New Solarium

Save Saved
You added Hotel New Solarium to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel New Solarium
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quartier du Jardin Alpin, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 52 hotels in Courchevel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location,friendly staff and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for skiing the last week in march. The location is excellent for skiing in and out and the bubble lift helpfully gets you up and down to town with or without skis.we found all the staff pleasant and helpful and polite and the food was excellent. My husband is vegetarian and on the first night we were told not to worry if there was nothing he liked on the menu the chef would make him something if necessary, a rare occurrence in France! The rooms are a little snug and with no view but the bar area and terrace are lovely as is the restaurant, all with views!Would certainly stay here again.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    26
    15
    9
See reviews for
39
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were given room 209- as one of the previous reviews mentions, it was a tiny room "underground". Very dark and you feel like you are in a coffin. I was really uncomfortable so went and asked for a change- the receptionist was a darling and changed our room- 213- very nice and a huge difference from 209. It's unfortunate that the rooms are all "underground".
The bar was lovely- of course expensive but ok for an after ski drink.
Dinner- this was a little sad-they have 5/6 dishes available every night except when we came in they were out of stock of almost everything- we had a choice between maybe 2 things!
Best thing about this hotel was its amazing ski shop and its staff! You leave your skis outside at the end of the day and they would put them away! And also a place to leave your boots to dry and be warm the next day! The staff was amazing!
Thanks to all!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in March. It's in a good location with the slopes just over the road at the front of the hotel. There is also a bubble right opposite which taken you down into courchevel 1850 or up to the higher slopes. The bubble is free down and free up after a certain time, I think 5pm. The last lift up is 8pm. The walk from the centre to the hotel takes about 25mins depending how much you've had to drink. We had a medium sized room in the basement, lovely snow outside the window but just as we'll as you don't have much to look at in the room. The room was ok but the bed definitely was not inviting, the bed was low with the mattress on a slope, looking like they had thrown it together. The furnishing was very basic. The shower had a main rain shower which didn't work with a hand shower which you had to hand hold as otherwise it just aimed water at the wall. 3days out of 4 we were left with 2 towels, no shower mat or hand towels. We ate in the hotel once and the food was basic. The hot breakfast was cold however there was a good selection of cold food. We booked a group lesson through the hotel and was then charged 300ish euros for a private lesson as they couldn't find anyone else for the group. I think this was partly efs 1550's fault however the hotel did not attempt to resolve this until we refused to pay the bill. It was resolved in the end. The pool is lovely with comfy recliners which is exactly what you need after a days skiing to snooze on. Overall great location but the staff need training in basic customer service, I'd expect more than this even from a 3star hotel and finally they need to invest in some solid beds.

Room Tip: The medium room is still small and poor standard, form speaking with other guests they were of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Séverine B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Customer,
We are indeed very sorry and disappointed to read about you experience during your stay at the hotel Le New Solarium.
Please be assured that our manager is aware of the issue and will of course ensure that this does not happen again. We hope we will be given a second chance to offer you the true hotel experience.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I too was a little worried after reading some of the reviews, but have to say bewildered at what some people expect.... If you want 5 star.... book and pay 5 star!
The rooms here are pleasant, clean and well equipped, a little small maybe, but wasn't really an issue.
The staff were pleasant and very helpful, and the food was absolutely fantastic. Great amount of choice, very fresh and creative menu's... really very delicious, and far exceeds a 3 star rating. To not find something you enjoy on this menu, then you must be picky!
We arrived last on our first day, due to transfer delays, but the Hotel had kept aside a cold platter of food, and served to us in the bar as soon as we arrived...
I would agree that 10 Euros is excessive for a small glass of wine, which also, disappointingly put us off drinking in the bar... a little cheaper would generate a whole lot of extra custom. However, if you take a look at the wine menu, there are decent wines for 26 /30 euro mark... so not really expensive when you compare to UK and add in the Courchevel factor..
The location couldn't be better... ski in/out, and telecabine lift directly across the road... bliss!
The guys in the Skiset shop also v helpful, and ski's and boots stored onsite.
Lovely pool are with sauna and steam room.
Not a lot more you can ask for at this price....
I would happily recommend and definitely go back if heading to Courchevel again...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for a week from 9 March with my wife. Nice hotel, great ski in, ski out location. But could do much better. Room not as nice as those shown on the website. Food sometimes pretty awful, sometimes pretty good. The starters and desserts (both served buffet style, and bought in) tend to be good, the mains (cooked in house) not so. Seafood night on Friday was great (fantastic oysters), but Savoyard night on thursday was poor (worst tartiflette and raclette I've had). The bar sometimes has a log fire burning, sometimes not: some evenings they serve canapes with drinks there, some evenings not. It is advertised as a piano bar - there is a piano in it, but the only people playing it where annoying kids. With just a little more consistency, attention to detail, and more honest descriptions/photos on the website, this would be a great little hotel. As it was, it was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I returned from a week's stay in this hotel on 23/03/2013. After reading some of the negative reviews on this site prior to going I must say we were rather worried what we were going to experience. I can only assume that the poeple that wrote the negative reviews are either negative people by nature or are used to staying in grand 5 star hotels. Yes, the rooms are a little small but they are clean, warm and comfortable. The staff were not rude , by anyones standards, to us or any of the other guests while we were there. In fact all of the hotel staff (reception, bar, resteraunt and domestic) were exteremly polite, friendly and helpfull, again I can only assume that the reviewers claiming that the staff were rude are argumentitive individuals with unrealistic expectations. The hotel itself is located perfectly for ski in/out, with the ski set shop located underneath, the shop can be accessed internally from the 4th floor of the hotel, you can leave your ski boots etc. in the boot drying shelves set aside for the hotel guests. The pool is a good size and heated well, the steam room and sauna were big enough for 4 adults, we used these facilities every day, again these area's are kept in a very clean condition and were never too busy. We stayed half board so breakfast and dinner included, the one thing that everyone seems to agree about at this hotel is the standard of the food, and rightly so. Mt wife and I are serious "foodies" and can say without a shadow of a doubt that the food (and service) at the hotel resteraunt is closer to 5 star than 3 star, the choices of buffet starters change every night as does the hald board main meal selection.....not to mention the sweets.......3Kg heavier on return.
If there was one negative thing to say about this hotel it would be the bar prices, we like a few tipples after a day's skiing and would have liked to relax in the hotel bar lounges in the evenings but at 10 euros for a small glass of wine it was simply not an option for us. There are some bars in the resort that you can get a drink for less.......but you'll need to look hard, remember this is Courchevel 1850 and is probabaly the most exlusive skiing resort in Europe.
In summary, if you've booked to stay at this hotel, fear not, the staff will look after you and you'll have a great time.

Room Tip: email the hotel before travelling and state you're prefrence, they got back to me the next day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for 4 days in March 2013. The food is very bland and the hotel rooms are not really what is portrayed on the website. I went with a group of friends so saw severals rooms, they are all very average and the bathrooms are extremely small. The staff could do with customer service training.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly remodelled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel New Solarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Solarium

Also Known As:
New Solarium Hotel
Address: Quartier du Jardin Alpin, 73120 Courchevel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 hotels in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Solarium 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel New Solarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New Solarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.