We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Esprit holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Hotel
Save
You added Crystal Hotel to your Saves list
rte de l'Altiport, Courchevel 1850, 73120, Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Courchevel
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Esprit holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had a great week at Crystal hotel. The accommodation is a little worn out but the winning Esprit formula makes up for that. This chalet is literally on the piste and the range of skiing is fantastic. Courchevel is a great resort, you just have to forget how much it is costing !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent the Easter week at the hotel with Esprit and had a great week as always. As we have stayed in Meribel the last 2 years we will not stay in the 3 valleys next year but would not book at the Crystal anyway unless some renovations were done to the hotel. The location is brilliant with ski in /out however the given the cost of the holiday the accommodation fell well below par - many carpet stains in bedroom and mould as well as bath plugs that did not work. Obviously we are there for the skiing but in our view Espirit should be providing a resort a bit better than this.

Room Tip: Even number rooms have view over the piste.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tony_j_simmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is an excellent option for a family ski holiday
The slightly shabby hotel is situated right on the piste with ski in out and great views
The esprit team sort out excellent child care ski lessons and everything else children - wise
Rooms are ok ,swimming pool on site is great and staff are enthusiastic, genuine and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from Courchevel on the 17th March having had a brilliant holiday. All the staff were different from last year but just as good. The food wasn't quite up to the same standard as last year but was still enjoyable. Leah & Evie would like to say a big thank you to all the nannies and snow rangers, especially Marc (tickle monster). The girls have enjoyed singing all the Esprit songs on the way to school in the mornings. We adults would like to thank Mat and Harry for all their hard work behind the bar and they were happy to go that extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. If you get a chance to try the 'ski lady' cocktail give it a go, its great and a Mat and Harry invention! Please see my previous review on the hotel/bedrooms and photos I upload from last year!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from Courchevel 1850 and a week at Crystal Hotel. Excellent location for slopes, team running hotel were awesome, food delicious and child care brilliant. Hotel in need of renovation but not an issue! Booking for next year :-)

Room Tip: Choose an even number for slope side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggywinkle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

this was our second stay at this hotel for February half term - many families also from previous year had returned. Just cannot beat the location of this hotel for ski in & out. Fantastic set up by Esprit for children learning to ski and childcare. Esprit staff are great. Hotel is passed it's sell by and there are rumours of only having one more season there so book it while you can. Hotel is clean and warm and basic - but everything else makes up for these things.

On the staff night out we booked Le Chabotte - fabulous family friendly trendy restaurant - it has a 40 euro per person menu option - starter, main & dessert - where you can choose highlighted items from main menu with really good choice. Wine was not outrageously expensive either considering you are in Courchevel 1850. Make sure you are hungry as the portion sizes are huge!!! Fab food - kids shared a meat fondue which again was huge. Live jazz band starts at 9pm - very entertaining & fun - highly recommended!

Food at hotel was ok - same menu at all Esprit hotels - same for last 3 years so guys you need to change this - no need to try to do fancy food - same for kids - they don't want a roast dinner twice in one week. Small tip the house white wine at the bar is better than the free stuff at dinner and only 12 euros a bottle. Bar staff great with the kids - my son loved the Courchevel Sunrise! Cocoa kids club a big hit and the Cocoa kids plus activities are great for the older ones. The staff work fantastically hard to make your holiday a hit so a big thanks again to Esprit. What are you waiting for - get it booked!!!

Room Tip: Get a third floor room so no one above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from the Hotel Crystal 2000 in Courchevel on 10/3/2013. Had a great time. Kids clubs are fantastic from morning til 10pm so adult time is allowed. Banter with all off the staff is great.Location of the hotel has got to be one of the best in Courchevel for beginners and advanced skiers alike as you can ski out of the door and back into it. We had room 201 which is at the back but has 2 rooms for 4 people. Basic but clean and big- just what we need with kids and wife throwing clothes all over the place..
The hotel is 20 years old and is getting a bit tatty here and there but I knew that before I went and I was not expecting 5 star accommodation.
The chefs have to be applauded as the food at dinner was really good and well presented. All served by the same staff that run the rest of the hotel. Atmosphere in the restaurant was really good with wine (included) flowing... Wine was quite good on flavour too.
Breakfast is good. Usual cold meats with bread, cereals, crepes etc but there also was a hot option of sausages bacon egg, beans which was good.
Beer prices in the hotel were EU6 for a pint of amstel which is probably the cheapest in Courchevel. Next door it was EU30 a pint...
Dont be tempted to eat out as its costly and not as good as the hotel in my opinion unless you have plenty on cash to throw around. For example, we were recommended a place called Le Passage which cost EU260 for 9 pizzas (not as good as Sainsbury frozen), steak and chips, 2 pints, bottle of wine and some pop for the kids. And that was one of the cheaper places. One place called Ku Da Te did burgers (circa EU22) which were not a place on a Harvesters but the rack of ribs was full on fantastic.
Anyway, back to the skiing.. Ski club for kids is very well run- our 2 (3 and 11) loved it. Pistes are wide and well groomed. Lifts not busy.
Our holiday itinerary stated that we had "one free lift pass included". This turned out to be for under 5's which are free anyway... Pre booked ski school does not include a lift pass either. We had to pay £600 on the first day...
If we go next year we will be more aware of things and A-take less clothes (for 'just in case'). B-know what to expect to pay on the first day. C-know that wine is included...

Room Tip: Even number rooms face the piste while odd numbers face the rear which may be a tad noisier outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.6 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#1 of 53 in Courchevel
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#9 of 53 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#30 of 53 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le K2
Hotel Le K2
#2 of 53 in Courchevel
5.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de la Loze
Hotel de la Loze
#10 of 53 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: rte de l'Altiport, Courchevel 1850, 73120, Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 51

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing