We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again Esprit delivered an excellent holiday!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Hotel
Save
You added Crystal Hotel to your Saves list
rte de l'Altiport, Courchevel 1850, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Courchevel
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Once again Esprit delivered an excellent holiday!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from Courchevel on the 17th March having had a brilliant holiday. All the staff were different from last year but just as good. The food wasn't quite up to the same standard as last year but was still enjoyable. Leah & Evie would like to say a big thank you to all the nannies and snow rangers, especially Marc (tickle monster). The girls have enjoyed singing all the Esprit songs on the way to school in the mornings. We adults would like to thank Mat and Harry for all their hard work behind the bar and they were happy to go that extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. If you get a chance to try the 'ski lady' cocktail give it a go, its great and a Mat and Harry invention! Please see my previous review on the hotel/bedrooms and photos I upload from last year!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    23
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
67
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from Courchevel 1850 and a week at Crystal Hotel. Excellent location for slopes, team running hotel were awesome, food delicious and child care brilliant. Hotel in need of renovation but not an issue! Booking for next year :-)

Room Tip: Choose an even number for slope side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

this was our second stay at this hotel for February half term - many families also from previous year had returned. Just cannot beat the location of this hotel for ski in & out. Fantastic set up by Esprit for children learning to ski and childcare. Esprit staff are great. Hotel is passed it's sell by and there are rumours of only having one more season there so book it while you can. Hotel is clean and warm and basic - but everything else makes up for these things.

On the staff night out we booked Le Chabotte - fabulous family friendly trendy restaurant - it has a 40 euro per person menu option - starter, main & dessert - where you can choose highlighted items from main menu with really good choice. Wine was not outrageously expensive either considering you are in Courchevel 1850. Make sure you are hungry as the portion sizes are huge!!! Fab food - kids shared a meat fondue which again was huge. Live jazz band starts at 9pm - very entertaining & fun - highly recommended!

Food at hotel was ok - same menu at all Esprit hotels - same for last 3 years so guys you need to change this - no need to try to do fancy food - same for kids - they don't want a roast dinner twice in one week. Small tip the house white wine at the bar is better than the free stuff at dinner and only 12 euros a bottle. Bar staff great with the kids - my son loved the Courchevel Sunrise! Cocoa kids club a big hit and the Cocoa kids plus activities are great for the older ones. The staff work fantastically hard to make your holiday a hit so a big thanks again to Esprit. What are you waiting for - get it booked!!!

Room Tip: Get a third floor room so no one above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from the Hotel Crystal 2000 in Courchevel on 10/3/2013. Had a great time. Kids clubs are fantastic from morning til 10pm so adult time is allowed. Banter with all off the staff is great.Location of the hotel has got to be one of the best in Courchevel for beginners and advanced skiers alike as you can ski out of the door and back into it. We had room 201 which is at the back but has 2 rooms for 4 people. Basic but clean and big- just what we need with kids and wife throwing clothes all over the place..
The hotel is 20 years old and is getting a bit tatty here and there but I knew that before I went and I was not expecting 5 star accommodation.
The chefs have to be applauded as the food at dinner was really good and well presented. All served by the same staff that run the rest of the hotel. Atmosphere in the restaurant was really good with wine (included) flowing... Wine was quite good on flavour too.
Breakfast is good. Usual cold meats with bread, cereals, crepes etc but there also was a hot option of sausages bacon egg, beans which was good.
Beer prices in the hotel were EU6 for a pint of amstel which is probably the cheapest in Courchevel. Next door it was EU30 a pint...
Dont be tempted to eat out as its costly and not as good as the hotel in my opinion unless you have plenty on cash to throw around. For example, we were recommended a place called Le Passage which cost EU260 for 9 pizzas (not as good as Sainsbury frozen), steak and chips, 2 pints, bottle of wine and some pop for the kids. And that was one of the cheaper places. One place called Ku Da Te did burgers (circa EU22) which were not a place on a Harvesters but the rack of ribs was full on fantastic.
Anyway, back to the skiing.. Ski club for kids is very well run- our 2 (3 and 11) loved it. Pistes are wide and well groomed. Lifts not busy.
Our holiday itinerary stated that we had "one free lift pass included". This turned out to be for under 5's which are free anyway... Pre booked ski school does not include a lift pass either. We had to pay £600 on the first day...
If we go next year we will be more aware of things and A-take less clothes (for 'just in case'). B-know what to expect to pay on the first day. C-know that wine is included...

Room Tip: Even number rooms face the piste while odd numbers face the rear which may be a tad noisier outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Level Contributor
322 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just had our third trip to this hotel. Great location for skiers who can ski in/out to the boot room door. Rooms are a good size for a family of 3, plenty of space and a good view of the mountain from the balcony. The building is tired looking, marked carpets/ walls etc but the Esprit team do what they can to keep it clean. My only issue this time was the quality of the food - with the exception of breakfast which was good. The options at breakfast provided everyone with what they could want, hot options, porridge, pancakes, cold meats/cheese, cereals, yogurts etc Afternoon cakes and the savoury pastry option were quite tasteless; the soup option was fine. Canapes were decidely bland and often very similar each night. My child loved the childrens' dinner option, we were less happy with the adult meal. The options offered sounded great, but the quality of the meal that arrived did not deliver. Staff were all great. There is a bus service that runs once an hour to town, so it is not that easy to pop into the resort centre - you can walk down the piste which takes c. 30 mins.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel can not be beat on location.... true ski in/ ski out.

Yes the hotel is tired and I worry how much longer Esprit will be able to continue to lease the property.

However, Tim the Manager and his team make up for the lack of aesthetics with their enthusiasm and service.

The food was good (my children aged 7 & 10 loved the pancake option at breakfast). The childcare was excellent as always (this is our 5th Esprit holiday)

I am keeping my fingers crossed that we will be able to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We returned in Feb for our second stay at the Crystal 2000 and our 10th Esprit trip, which should reveal how highly we regard the company's approach to family ski holidays. Many other reviewers have described how fantastically well they deliver child care, with enthusiastic young staff and very palatable food in the chalet hotels in particular (we've sampled 3 such hotels, twice each).

The Crystal's location is perfect with ski to/from the boot room door, a drag lift right outside and the Pralong chair just a 100m glide away. The whole of the 3 Valleys is then available.

The bedrooms are fine - cleaned daily, tidy and with plenty of hot water. Some maintenance issues exist and our towels disappeared altogether for several hours on Wednesday, but otherwise it's comfortable.

Negatives - The public lounge areas are cramped and uninviting when the hotel is full, with sofas whose springs expired many years ago. The swimming pool was freezing cold at the start of the week, nicely tropical for 1 day mid-week, then freezing cold again. Restaurant prices in 1850 for the staff "day off" are astronomical - we paid less to eat at the Ritz in London last year! Not much Esprit can do about that one, except perhaps to consider that in their Hotels there is a case for providing food every night.

My main gripe was reserved for the in-house ski hire. The hotel's remote location means that a stroll to a local shop isn't practical, so the only options are either a mobile service (we used Ski Higher last year and were very impressed) or to rent via Esprit from the in-house shop. This time we took the easy option - big mistake. We hired the most expensive "Black" skis, which normally represents equipment new this year, or perhaps last season. The first disappointment was the shop was already closed when we arrived (on-time) at 7:00 pm Sunday. All the hire shops in town were open as we drove through. No skis until Monday morning then.... so up before dawn and first at the shop when it opened at 07:30 am. Just 1 assistant and a policy of only supplying kids equipment until after 09:00, so the children were ready for their lessons. That's fair enough, but it meant the rest of us didn't get out until after 10:30, all for the want of another pair of hands in the shop and/or an extra hour put in the night before.

When we *did* get some skis they were clearly all well past their best, scored, no edges and seemingly waxed with sandpaper! We were lucky - we witnessed several other guests, including children, being given completely inappropriate length skis because that's all they had left. At the start of Day 2 we complained about the kit and asked for the skis to be serviced. There is no machine at the Crystal, so servicing involves them taking equipment elsewhere. The assistant basically shrugged his shoulders, asked what we expected from hire kit and tried to charge us 35 Euro each for a wax/sharpen. When challenged that the kit supplied was in no way "Black" quality he relented and agreed to service them FOC, but next day they were still there, not done! The regular assistant apologised for staff "being busy" and said they would be done the following day. They were, but overall we had to ski 50% of our holiday on very inferior skis, which was unacceptable and not what we paid for, so beware!

There are always improvements to be made, but rest assured we're studying the 2014 Esprit brochure for where to take the kids skiing next winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
1.0 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#8 of 54 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#29 of 54 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Les Peupliers
Hotel Les Peupliers
#7 of 54 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#1 of 54 in Courchevel
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Chabichou
Le Chabichou
#3 of 54 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Airelles
Hotel Les Airelles
#14 of 54 in Courchevel
5.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: rte de l'Altiport, Courchevel 1850, 73120 Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.