We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Arc en ciel

L'Arc en ciel
Rue du Marquis, 73120 Courchevel, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 76 Restaurants in Courchevel
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Delightful Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a small, family-run restaurant and one which I've visited for lunch quite a few times over the years. If you find yourself in 1650 (as it used to be called - it's something else now) at lunchtime, then you could do far worst than to eat here - it's on the main street opposite where you come down off the slopes and is easy to find.

This sounds a bit boring but I always have the tartiflette, because L'Arc en Ceil always produces the best version of this traditional Savoyard dish that I've had anywhere, but I'm assured by friends that the rest of the menu's just as good. By the way, the portions are very substantial!

It's nice to eat outside when it's sunny but dining inside is very atmospheric because it's somewhat small.

Recommended for a great lunch, and no doubt a very good dinner as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fondue Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Wonderful ambience, excellent wine and fantastic fondue. Hosts were extremely helpful in assisting with menu and wine choices, excellent service we thoroughly enjoyed our experience at this family run restaurant and look forward to visiting again next time we are in Courchevel.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, nice service, great pizzas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a nice restaurant situated right at the bottom of Courchevel 1650, it is next to the Spar supermarket.
I like the service here, it is friendly and helpful. Menu is quiet diverse between salads, and fondue, and steaks and pizzas. Food is good.
My son is very particular about his pizza and is almost always weary of ordering one in a new place. So we got the thumbs up from him on his Margarita pizza. My husband ordredthe rump steak with pepper sauce and that was very good as well.
The only negative is the ventilation in this restaurant. It almost always have a very heavy fondue or cheese smell. Each time i go there i come back smelling awful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fab fondue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Excellent restaurant and really friendly. helpful staff. We have dined here twice over the last few years. Typical prices 22Euros per main but worth it. Cheaper options available.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Slightly different menu for a mountain resturant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Ate here mid week, so not particularly busy but a good atmosphere and friendly service.

Tried the herring salad which I had not seen before which was actually pretty good if you like fish and there was plenty of it.

Main course was a goat's cheese, honey and almond pizza which worked, so great if you want to try a slightly different flavour combination.

75cl bottle of house red was 17€ Ann not bad at all.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Arc en ciel also viewed

Courchevel, Savoie
 
Courchevel, Savoie
 

Been to L'Arc en ciel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Arc en ciel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.