We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class convenience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courcheneige

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Courcheneige
Rue Nogentil, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 52 hotels in Courchevel
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First class convenience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

An ideal location for our party of friends, though it was also clear that it is very family friendly. It has everything you could want for a fantastic skiing holiday, combining the immense convenience of ski-in ski-out with very a good menu (& winelist) that rotates throughout the week. Our rooms were very clean and had heating racks for any wet clothes, the bar is cosy and perfect for relaxed apres skis. The staff were always friendly and helpful, both in the restaurant and in the in-house ski shop (where you can rent top quality equipment & also buy lift passes). They allowed us to change our skis to powder skis very easily when the conditions changed in the middle of our week. The outdoor lunch terrace is also a wonderful setting on a nice day, and the buffet is very well stocked – the oysters in particular are a real luxury. I recommend the Courcheneige for the complete package. It allows you to get on the slopes straight from the hotel, well rested & well fed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    27
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
51
43
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We're a couple who spends ski holidays for 25 years in courchevel all holidays were highly rated hotels
This year we decided to try a different type of skiing holiday and we were pleasantly surprised
The hotel is run very well, the staff courteous and polite, full amenities at the hotel bar in the dining room and reception area and of course ski room
Hotel location excellent ski in ski out
Quiet location and provides everything needed vacation
The rooms are comfortable and clean
A good hotel for a skiing


gadi v
israel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

When I reviewed this hotel in 2008 it merited one blob. I can see it wasn't much better in 2009 and 2010. It has now changed totally - very good, definitely meriting 4 blobs.
This time, the staff were competent and professional, the management was on the ball, the kitchen did an excellent job. Even the rooms had been improved.
The dinner menu didn't offer much choice of starter or main, but what was served was good.
The sweets, and they way they were 'served', were quite exceptionally good.
There is still the long drag up the ramp when you arrive, and the tiny lifts, and poor wifi, but everything else is good.
The value-for-money, by Courchevel1850 standard, is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've been to the Courcheneige many times over the past 12 years and always found it first rate.
This year for the first time, we found the waiters in the inside bar surly and took ages to get served. What was more of an issue was an unhonoured lunch reservation. I had phoned to reserve a table for lunch (the number I have used for several seasons) and was surprised that there was no table for us.
The Maitre d' sat us at a table, telling us we would be looked after. 20 minutes passed, French waiters have an impressive way of ignoring eye contact and even waving arms.
When I was finally acknowledged at 2.15 for a 1.30 reservation, I was told that the kitchen had shut and that no further orders were being taken.
Could I find the Maitre d' or other senior staff, no chance.
Certainly won't be going back, that's for sure, which is a shame as in the past we have always been looked after so well

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

a fantastic hotel and our 4 th visit was as good as the rest - as a family of 5 ( 11 - 8 - 6 ) it is great value with good rooms very clean and comfy beds.

Its incredible for 1850 and ski in and ski out has made the difference with everyone having an easy start and end to the day - it has effectivley taught our kids to ski as we were all beginners.

food and staff lovely and the in house ski shop very helpful.

it was tempting not to write a review as we don't want everyone knowing the secret to a great ski holiday !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was yet another great holiday at the Courcheneige - apart from the weather! This Hotel has a lot going for it - great location and fair prices being amongst the top ones. But what sets it apart from most of its rivals is the service and team work. From boss Neil to the guys who make the beds there is a common team ethos that makes one welcome, seeks to help and is always cheerful. This has to be one of the best run Hotels we stay in. Having its own on site ski hire shop, which although a separate business is also blessed with the same ethos, is for us another big plus. The dinners and bar drinks are great and 50 Euros for a bottle Veuve Cliquot in a ski resort not bad! So why not a five?

Well the bed this year was just on the edge of OK and some of the place has a distinctly "old" feel to it. There were some Russian and Turkish guests who needed a bit of education in their hotelling skills, although you cannot fault the management for this. Thier obstructing of the aisles and hording of fruit and food had to be "admired"!

But overall this is a very good offering given that it is a short ski to the Croisette and that you really can ski in and out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Once again our Family visit Three generations to the Courcheneige was wonderful, As on all our previous visits the Staff especially in the Ski Shop could not have been more friendly. The food excellent and the rooms, clean, hot water to die for. general Manager Benoit seems to work 24-7. After nearly 40 years plus of skiing around Europe, without doubt the Courcheneige
is the best value for money there is. It is interesting that each year we visit we meet old friends who feel the same. A mention of the arrangements for our pick up at Chambery Airport that the hotel sorted out for us could not have been better. We shall return

Room Tip: All represent good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courcheneige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courcheneige

Address: Rue Nogentil, 73120 Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Courchevel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Courchevel
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Courchevel
#7 Family Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Courcheneige Hotel Courchevel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courcheneige, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Courcheneige to your Saves list