We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chabichou

Save Saved
You added Le Chabichou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Chabichou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quartier Les Chenus | BP21, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 52 hotels in Courchevel
Perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Chabichou is directly across from the apartment we rented for skiing this year. What a superb place. Very helpful staff whether in the lounge bar or on the sun terrace. A delightful place which serves up a wonderful selection of snacks in the afternoon and early evening. Crepes and cake at 3pm. Olives and cheese at 5pm. Keeps the cocktails slipping down nicely!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    9
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
38
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales uk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you have to have a day off from skiing try the Spa at this hotel it is fabulous. 40 Euros for the day. Towels and slippers included. public rooms sheer luxury, nice staff on reception. pool large enough to swim in, relaxing area.Various Jaccussi, steam room, sauna, tropical showers.
Nice changing area's lockers and hairdryers.

Room Tip: Sorry I only used the Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile


Le Chabichou came highly recommended as one of only a couple of 2 Michelin star restaurants in Courchevel 1850. I have never been so disappointed in such a restaurant. This place is appalling from start to finish.

When we arrived we were taken straight to our table. Usually in a 2 star establishment you would expect small things like the napkin to be placed on your lap, chairs to be pulled out for you etc, however none of this happened. No major issue at this point, but it felt strange.

The overall atmosphere was ok but quite bright and noisy; again not quite what I expect for a fine dining experience.

My partner and I ordered our food and we were offered a bread roll. Usually you would expect a small basket with a variety of breads, both warm and cold. We were simply offered a cold, and slightly hard, white or brown roll. Again, no big deal bit it felt strange and bearing in mind the sample menu is €195 each, you would expect more.

We chose the sample menu priced at €195 per person and a bottle of Veuve. The meals started to arrive almost immediately and the first 4 courses were cold and nothing special at all. The 5 course was warm and again nothing special. We had also ran out of champagne on a number of occasions and had had to ask out server to refill our glasses. Again, no big deal if you weren't paying a substantial amount for the meal and in a supposed 'fine dining' restaurant.

Eventually we were becoming frustrated by the lack of service and the poor quality meal. Our server asked how everything was and I took the opportunity to say that it was ok but nothing special. She simply smiled and walked away. I perhaps thought it maybe an issue with my English accent and her understanding it. The maitre d then approached us and enquired how everything was. He spoke perfect English and fully understood what I was saying. I expressed my feelings and he simply said, 'ok thank you for that sir' and walked off.

At this point, we'd had enough so got up and went to the reception and collected out coats. They tried to charge us the full price for the dinner which I refused and after some argument they agreed to remove all charges.

Overall, the experience was both frustrating and poor. The 2 stars are absolutely not deserved and this was an average restaurant you would expect in a normal place with a price tag of €20-€30 and certainly no more.

I've experienced a number of 2 and 3 star restaurants and this has to be, without hesitation, the worst I've had the misfortune of coming too. To be avoided.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed in Le Chabichou for a weekend in July. The hotel looks very pretty, stands out with its white color among the brown buildings. Staff was very friendly, cleaning was top quality, and food was delicious - a very nice buffet for breakfast, and delicious meals for lunch / dinner. There was nothing vegetarian on the menu, but cef came up with creative suggestions. There is a small but sufficient fitness area. There is also a very nice newly buillt swimming pool / spa that my husband & son enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

If there is one place in Courchevel I would recommend it is the Chabichou (unless you are a Russian billionaire in which case go for the Stratos). We were there recently as the late snow in April provided great opportunity to ski in good snow conditions, sunny weather and some very good deals. The resort was quasi empty.

We loved the spa, the food, the location by the slopes (no need to walk or drive), the family appartment (for 5).


Courchevel is the land of every excess in luxury. The Chabichou is an exception. It is luxurious but with a human touch. It is a bit hard to explain but it is place where you feel at ease. The owners are extraordinarily nice and very keen to offer value. Unsurprisingly they have developped a very faithful base of clients who visit theme in winter and summer.They have managed to be the only hotel open all year round. So if there is one place in Cpurchevel I would recommend it is the Chabichou.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A charming family run hotel of the highest quality. The michelin starred restaurant is a must for lunch on the piste, and great for dinner too. There is a new Bistrot this year which serves good food in a busy and buzzing environment, with live music in the evenings, but book ahead as its usually packed! The hotel has great charm and refinement, a very understated gem amongst many brasher newer hotels in Courchevel. There is a wonderful new spa this year which is just the place to relax after a hard day on the piste. The staff are friendly and very helpful, and the family are very much hands on: Mme Rochedy runs the table bookings for the restaurant and M Rochedy is still cooking up a storm in the kitchens, whilst son Nicolas is managing the hotel. We loved our stay here and hope to go back one day soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Chabi twice before their new spa and Bistro was added. If it was possible to make the stay any better the Rochedy family have yet again achieved their aim. They have not lost any of their personal touches, and if anything it has made the whole stay that much more pleasurable, as you really do not need to go out of the hotel at night with so much going on inside. The food in the Bistro was reasonably priced and very good. The entertainment was very good - and you still have the lovely quiet bar within the Hotel if you want to have a quiet time, with the lovely Abu and bar staff. We visited the spa once and enjoyed the various rooms within it, the wet room, sauna, salt room - and a waterfall shower. The staff as always are excellent, with particular thanks to Noemie for putting up with all my email questions and Juliette and others. They are all so lovely. And of course Nicholas Rochedy who works like a trooper from dawn till dusk - he surely must have a holiday himself sometime soon?? Thanks again everyone at Le Chabi, Claire & Julian

Room Tip: Reception can help you with photos of the rooms if you need help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Chabichou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chabichou

Address: Quartier Les Chenus | BP21, 73120 Courchevel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Courchevel
#1 Spa Hotel in Courchevel
#1 Romantic Hotel in Courchevel
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Courchevel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chabichou 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Chabichou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chabichou Courchevel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chabichou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.