We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Ducs de Savoie

Les Ducs de Savoie
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Les Ducs de Savoie to your Saves list
Les Ducs de Savoie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Au Jardin Alpin, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Courchevel
London
1 review
“Impressive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is my second time I have been here and for just a 3 star hotel I thought it was very impressive although it was a little on the expensive side! I would defiantly choose it again next year and the staff are all really friendly here and make you feel welcome to the hotel. The spa in the hotel was very nice and a good time to relax after a full days skiing or snowboarding and especially if you get tired easily!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

In a town where most of the hotels are now 5 stars, this little gem of a 3 star hotel really has everything you need for a superb skiing holiday. Though still not cheap, the service and friendliness of the staff and their manager, Sylvie, is worth every penny. The hotel's location directly on the Jardin Alpin allows for easy ski in, ski out. Catch the small gondola in the mornings up to the slopes, and you even avoid the line-ups from the village.
The ski shop is fabulous - I wish I could've brought those boys home with me. Where else do find your skis laid out for you in the morning? And how many times have you been offered help in taking your boots off after a long day of skiing, while your slippers are brought to you?
The hotel boasts a spa with a nicely heated pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Perfect after a long day on the slopes.
You will not starve at Les Ducs, as the dinners are spectacular 5 course affairs. So much for the plan to work off a pound or two on the slopes....you'd be lucky to return home without having gained weight! Breakfast is a buffet, with loads of gorgeous fresh French baked goods. Yum.
The service is impeccable - both in the restaurant and in the bar.
The rooms are not large, but they have everything you need, and are kept in immaculate condition thanks to the excellent housekeeping staff. The beds are super comfortable. We had a standard south facing room, but I am not sure it was worth the extra money. Sure the view is nice, but, let's face it, the nicest views are from the top of the slopes!
This was our first visit at Les Ducs, but definitely not our last. Courchevel itself is a fantastic ski destination, with lots to do for skiers at all levels. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I came to Ducs de Savoie with a girlfriend for a few days away skiing. I had previously only stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels in Courchevel and wasn't expecting the standard to be the same. I was wrong - the hotel was delightful. We loved the service given by Olivier and Gregory in the ski room where our boots were put on and taken off each day - what a welcome back after a hard day on the slopes. The food was excellent - possibly even better than at the sister hotels as it was less fancy and the Dining Room was a lovely large room with windows along 3 sides. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble - from getting our lift passes organised to having a late check-out on the day of departure. Yes the rooms were a little tired and small but they were well equipped and when we asked for the heating to be turned off an engineer came up promptly to complete the task. We loved the location which is so peaceful yet near enough to town to get in and out easily. And the pool and spa were clean and well maintained and provided welcome respite after all the exercise. We will definitely return and are delighted we have found this little gem in the mountains.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had seen earlier Tripadvisor reviews of "Les Ducs" and was not disappointed. The hotel is absolutely first class. And a great place to stay in what is in my opinion acknowledged as quite simply the the best skiing resort in Europe. Spending a week here as a single traveller I found the room comfortable with all necessary facilities. I experienced no trouble with noise. The restaurant is well organised & standard of food excellent. You will not go hungry at this hotel. Restaurant staff are efficient, proud of their environment, & plentiful. I was made completely welcome from the start. Not only by them but by the owner & all reception staff. The breakfast is self serve with as much variation as you could possibly need. Altogether, the dining experience & lounge apres dinner were comfortable & pleasant places to be. The hotel has an outstanding swimming pool area. With robes & footwear provided. It is warm & comfortable. With equally good sauna & massage facilities. Unlike many hotels I have stayed at where the pool is deliberately kept cold. The hotel has its own in house ski & boot facility which is an absolute gem. The staff in charge could not have been more helpful. Taking all the unpleasantness out of the usual renting exercise. It may not be cheap. But to have skis put out for you each day just to slip on & ski off was great. Of course the location must be regarded as an outstanding feature. On the Jardin Alpin. Closely surrounded by lifts to virtually every area of choice. Few queues. Given the superb snow, clear blue skies, and this wonderful hotel, this became quite simply the classic ski week for those of us who regard ourselves as enthusiastic recreational skiers. Inghams have chosen carefully to include this venue. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try & get a room higher than level 1 if you can. But this may result in a sharp increase in tari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was a bit weary at first, and was suprised by the cost of the room (although Courchvel is always expensive). The amazing service by the staff made the difference though.
Plus:
- Actually ski in - ski out
- Ski rental in the hotel (it took us 30mn watch in hand to go from parking the car to being on the slopes, with rental!)
- Friendlyness of staff (the made off-menu sandwiches for us to catter for our allergies, without asking us to pay a premium, offered to drive us to town with their private cars, ...)

Minus:
- Parking (18€ per night) is really a pain to get out of
- Spa could use a bit of refurbishing
- Not exactly walking distance to center (15 mn)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This is the second new year we have spent in this small gem of a hotel. The staff are delightful, special mention must go to our waiter(Matheus?, from Alsace) - he was very attentive and helpful. Also the ski store staff are awesome, it is really truly special to walk out of the hotel in the morning and find skis laid out ready to step into. I also love coming back at the end of the day and they help to take ski boots off...and bring slippers out. Food and wine are excellent. Location impossible to beat. Rooms are still a bit tired and bathrooms could be updated. However, we said last "we will be back", I think I can safely now say "we will be back...again".

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have come here twice a year for the last 8 years .It is one of the only remaining modest three stars hotels (and still quite expensive) in a sky station where all new hotels are five stars and where there is no limit to extravagancas and indecencies since the richest people of the planet (and in the first place russian oligarcs and saudi princes) have decided to spend their sky holidays here . The hotel is just comfortable , extremely well managed by wonderful Sylvie Corniault , assisted by a superb team of hostesses , maître d'hôtel , waiters and waitresses of great competence.The food (family style) is nothing but excellent and the wine list has everytning to please all wine connaisseurs . The same clients are coming back year after year which makes it a wonderful family hotel where everybody is happy to meet everybody .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Les Ducs de Savoie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Ducs de Savoie

Address: Au Jardin Alpin, 73120 Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Ducs de Savoie 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Les Ducs de Savoie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Ducs De Savoie Hotel Courchevel
Les Ducs De Savoie Courchevel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Ducs de Savoie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.