We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and brilliant chalet host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Montagnettes, Les Chalets de la Mouria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Montagnettes, Les Chalets de la Mouria
Save Saved
You added Les Montagnettes, Les Chalets de la Mouria to your Saves list
Rue du Plantret, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Cupar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location and brilliant chalet host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Chalet No 3 named Emily is rented by skiweekends.com and we stayed there for a short break between 17/3/14 to 20/3/2014.
The location was very good and close to lifts and ski bus.
Our host Arthur was brilliant, the rooms were clean and tidy and the food served was excellent.
The skiing was very good but we also tried the sledge run which was good fun.
Dinned out one night at The Petite Savoyard which although a bit pricey was close by and the service and food was of a very high quality.

Room Tip: Choose the double room as its on the ground floor and has a rear view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely self-catered ski week with kids in Les Montagnettes/Chalets de la Mouria in Courchevel 1650 in February 2014.

The complex comprises a number of apartments on a quiet road below the main part of Courchevel 1650. We booked a four bedroom room apartment to sleep 8/10 (apt 16), which comprised one double bedroom and three twin rooms . The extra two beds would have been on a fold-out sofa, but we didn't use them.

The apartment itself was lovely. It was split over three levels with a balcony looking over the valley. The stairs going down from the main living room might make it inappropriate for very young kids. The living area was spacious with a wood fire. Kitchen was fine and contained a fridge/freezer, electric hob, dishwasher, microwave, coffee machine (bring your own filter paper) and basic crockery/cutlery/glasses/pans/utensils. Bedrooms were comfortable enough with wardrobes for storage, and there was one bathroom per bedroom (two en-suite, two separate).

There is a central reception from which you can order bread to be delivered or various extras (we borrowed the raclette machine for dinner one night, which was a great success). There is also a laundry room for EUR 8. There is a spa in the complex which you can rent for a session (45 minutes for sole use by your chalet, if I recall correctly), but we didn't try it. There is a towel change mid-week and toilet paper was provided.

The underground parking is great, if you self-drive (pre-book once you've made your reservation). We were very pleased not to have to clear ice and snow from the car before we left given the weather we had.

Location isn't bad, but it was still a good 5 minute walk to the lifts and lesson meeting point. You walk maybe 300m down the road and then up an escalator to get to the centre of town and base of the pistes. It wasn't particularly difficult to do, but location wouldn't be a selling point as such either.

There is a ski locker in the complex, but it wasn't convenient for our apartment so we didn't use it. You can rent one by the lifts, but we ended up with a lot of ski gear lying around near the doorway, which wasn't ideal.

Courchevel 1650 seems like a nice resort with a good mix of shops (including ski rental, supermarkets, pharmacy), bars/restaurants and amenities. The Three Valleys ski area is amazing, and I particularly liked the mountains near 1650. Getting further afield to Meribel and beyond is possible, although we were limited by having to collect kids from ski lessons so we didn't get out of the Courchevel valley much. Courchevel 1650 is not as centrally located as other resorts in the Three Valleys.

What we liked:
* Great resort
* Nicely furnished apartment
* Warm, comfortable, lots of hot water
* Open wood fire
* Underground parking
* Quiet location - no night-time disturbances.

What we didn't like:
* Nowhere convenient to store skis and boots.
* Little bit of a walk to get to the slopes.
* Not enough hooks or places to dry clothes. Not enough power points in the bedrooms.
* A bag of wood was provided for the fire, but no kindling or matches

Things to remember that aren't provided (although easy to acquire from the supermarket):
* Washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs, cloths, bin bags (some provided, but not enough)
* Kitchen towel
* Filter papers and ground coffee for a coffee machine.
* Matches, firelighters, kindling (or an axe to make some?)

Overall it was a very good apartment and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Would definitely consider booking here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Apartment great, location great, staff great.

- Beds VERY hard and probably the worst thing about the residence. A simple mattress topper would do the job. Given that most chalets / hotels are now doing this, I think the Montagnettes team are behind.

- Poor Wifi. Very slow and only allows 6 connections. In a chalet that can sleep 12 (adults), all with phones / tablets etc.... this is very annoying. Also the connection speed is Very slow.

Room Tip: All the rooms are okay. Tip is, get Montagnettes to book you a ski locker at the bottom of the Ario...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have been returning to Les Chalets de la Mouria for 4 years. We definitely recommend it particularly since this year they have updated some aspects. They have moved away from the Chinz look and improved the style with white linen and towels and some updated fixtures and fittings. The first year we booked with Erna Low but ever since have booked direct and this year (28th Jan 14) - got a 4 bedroom appt for just over £208 pp (based on 8 adults sharing). Top tip book direct and early to get 10% discount. People may have rated this down because the UK Ski Companies tend to oversell the apartments. They are not in my opinion 'luxury' but are typical wooden chalets of this region. And well equipped. But compared to other chalets they are very reasonably priced and great location. Particularly when leave your skis / boots in the ski shop and use escalators each morning. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We've had room 24 for two years and suits us just fine. Room 10 was good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Stratford
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed in chalet no. 12 with Crystal for a week from Jan 25th as a group of seven. The location is great, only 5-10 minutes walk from the main lift but all the same you may want to hire a locker at the lift station in 1650 (€40/week but you can get 2 or 3 people's gear in one locker). Our chalet host Sarah worked hard and fed us well all week. The chalet was very clean on arrival, and well equipped. Only one electric socket in our bedroom though so bring an adaptor! Despite what many people have said, the WiFi worked well. Take Crystal up on their offer of HUGE €3 sandwiches to take with you for lunch, otherwise you'll be spending €20 each on the mountain. It's pricey!! Only criticism is NO TOAST at breakfast??! Of the two downstairs bedrooms, the twin is rather small and has no wardrobe whereas the double is nice and big and has 2 wardrobes (I was in the big double). The skiing in Courchevel was wonderful and good for all abilities. Nightlife a little lacking but I recommend La Bulotte (aka Katy's Bar) if you want to get a bit raucous. Otherwise Fire & Ice is nice and civilised with a happy hour from 4pm - 6pm, or try the Bubble Bar. On cook's night off we went to Le Petit Savoyard and it was excellent. It's true the sound insulation between the chalets (really little terraced houses) wasn't great and I'm afraid we did upset our neighbours one night - very sorry.

Room Tip: Avoid the twin room on the ground floor if you can. Very small and faces the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

dont go to the chalet Ariondaz which appears to be in this complex ! on our intro meeting we were told 1 towel per person and it will not be laundered all week( good for the enviroment you know!) No room keys and no safe to put your valuables/money in whilst out skiing for the day. Shared front door keys, we kicked up and the Ingams rep got another couple cut after being locked out 2nd day. Another day we found the front door open and our wallets with lots of cash and cards were in our unlocked rooms. Our shower head was brocken on arrival and remained brocken all week, small basic rooms with shared tiolet. Pillows about an inch thick. It could have been great with a little effort on security, a towell change, mend stuff if it is brocken. The rep Jack and the chalet maid/cook. Ella were really good, attentive, helpful, brilliant made living like a boy scout camping tollerable. Jack the rep took us on a guided tour of the 3 valleys without a doubt the best days skiing ever

Room Tip: there are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked Chalet Toscano through ski holiday company 'Powder White'.

Upon arrival, the chalet bears no name of Chalet Toscano but is actually part of La Montagnettes complex. It seems Powder White rent/own Chalet number 12 within the complex and have re-named the apartment Chalet Toscano just for the sales purpose of the brochure and the website.

As the chalet is in the middle of two other chalets not rented/owned by Powder White, it is affected by noise from both sides. The insulation is very very poor and every footstep, door, voice, children (even though it wasn't school holidays) etc., from the adjoining properties can be heard very clearly. The immediate chalet next door has a large dog which barks and howls each time it is left. I sleep very lightly but even with earplugs I was disturbed all night. Not ideal for a strenuous ski holiday.

I have given 5 for service purely down to Ellie, the excellent chalet host provided by Powder White.

I have stayed at several of Powder White properties, this one is a definite thumbs down in comparison to the quality of the others I have stayed in. I would avoid this particular chalet at all costs.

Beware, Powder White advertise this property as having free wifi. This quite simply is untrue unless the 3G device which I insisted upon being installed after being there for two days, stays. The Wifi via the complex itself is completely inadequate.

There is only 1 out of the 4 bedrooms fully ensuite. The bed frames are unbelievably squeaky and will keep you awake!

So, if you want a fabulous chalet host, a fabulous resort and location then Chalet Toscano via Powder White maybe for you, but you will need to be prepared to take the rough with the smooth and put up with ALOT of noise, no wifi (unless the 3g device stays) and only one en-suite room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Montagnettes, Les Chalets de la Mouria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Montagnettes, Les Chalets de la Mouria

Address: Rue du Plantret, 73120 Courchevel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence enjoys a calm, away from it all environment with an open view of the massifs and the Bozel Valley. A place of relaxation with spa, sauna and hammam.This tourist residence has been designed as a small mountain hamlet to enable the guests to enjoy a stay in a friendly, convivial Savoyard ambience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Montagnettes, Les Chalets de la Mouria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.