We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter 14 Chalet de Mouria - 1650” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Les Montagnettes, Les Chalets de la Mouria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Montagnettes, Les Chalets de la Mouria
Save Saved
You added Les Montagnettes, Les Chalets de la Mouria to your Saves list
Rue du Plantret, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Winter 14 Chalet de Mouria - 1650”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Apartment great, location great, staff great.

- Beds VERY hard and probably the worst thing about the residence. A simple mattress topper would do the job. Given that most chalets / hotels are now doing this, I think the Montagnettes team are behind.

- Poor Wifi. Very slow and only allows 6 connections. In a chalet that can sleep 12 (adults), all with phones / tablets etc.... this is very annoying. Also the connection speed is Very slow.

Room Tip: All the rooms are okay. Tip is, get Montagnettes to book you a ski locker at the bottom of the Ario...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have been returning to Les Chalets de la Mouria for 4 years. We definitely recommend it particularly since this year they have updated some aspects. They have moved away from the Chinz look and improved the style with white linen and towels and some updated fixtures and fittings. The first year we booked with Erna Low but ever since have booked direct and this year (28th Jan 14) - got a 4 bedroom appt for just over £208 pp (based on 8 adults sharing). Top tip book direct and early to get 10% discount. People may have rated this down because the UK Ski Companies tend to oversell the apartments. They are not in my opinion 'luxury' but are typical wooden chalets of this region. And well equipped. But compared to other chalets they are very reasonably priced and great location. Particularly when leave your skis / boots in the ski shop and use escalators each morning. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We've had room 24 for two years and suits us just fine. Room 10 was good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Stratford
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed in chalet no. 12 with Crystal for a week from Jan 25th as a group of seven. The location is great, only 5-10 minutes walk from the main lift but all the same you may want to hire a locker at the lift station in 1650 (€40/week but you can get 2 or 3 people's gear in one locker). Our chalet host Sarah worked hard and fed us well all week. The chalet was very clean on arrival, and well equipped. Only one electric socket in our bedroom though so bring an adaptor! Despite what many people have said, the WiFi worked well. Take Crystal up on their offer of HUGE €3 sandwiches to take with you for lunch, otherwise you'll be spending €20 each on the mountain. It's pricey!! Only criticism is NO TOAST at breakfast??! Of the two downstairs bedrooms, the twin is rather small and has no wardrobe whereas the double is nice and big and has 2 wardrobes (I was in the big double). The skiing in Courchevel was wonderful and good for all abilities. Nightlife a little lacking but I recommend La Bulotte (aka Katy's Bar) if you want to get a bit raucous. Otherwise Fire & Ice is nice and civilised with a happy hour from 4pm - 6pm, or try the Bubble Bar. On cook's night off we went to Le Petit Savoyard and it was excellent. It's true the sound insulation between the chalets (really little terraced houses) wasn't great and I'm afraid we did upset our neighbours one night - very sorry.

Room Tip: Avoid the twin room on the ground floor if you can. Very small and faces the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

dont go to the chalet Ariondaz which appears to be in this complex ! on our intro meeting we were told 1 towel per person and it will not be laundered all week( good for the enviroment you know!) No room keys and no safe to put your valuables/money in whilst out skiing for the day. Shared front door keys, we kicked up and the Ingams rep got another couple cut after being locked out 2nd day. Another day we found the front door open and our wallets with lots of cash and cards were in our unlocked rooms. Our shower head was brocken on arrival and remained brocken all week, small basic rooms with shared tiolet. Pillows about an inch thick. It could have been great with a little effort on security, a towell change, mend stuff if it is brocken. The rep Jack and the chalet maid/cook. Ella were really good, attentive, helpful, brilliant made living like a boy scout camping tollerable. Jack the rep took us on a guided tour of the 3 valleys without a doubt the best days skiing ever

Room Tip: there are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked Chalet Toscano through ski holiday company 'Powder White'.

Upon arrival, the chalet bears no name of Chalet Toscano but is actually part of La Montagnettes complex. It seems Powder White rent/own Chalet number 12 within the complex and have re-named the apartment Chalet Toscano just for the sales purpose of the brochure and the website.

As the chalet is in the middle of two other chalets not rented/owned by Powder White, it is affected by noise from both sides. The insulation is very very poor and every footstep, door, voice, children (even though it wasn't school holidays) etc., from the adjoining properties can be heard very clearly. The immediate chalet next door has a large dog which barks and howls each time it is left. I sleep very lightly but even with earplugs I was disturbed all night. Not ideal for a strenuous ski holiday.

I have given 5 for service purely down to Ellie, the excellent chalet host provided by Powder White.

I have stayed at several of Powder White properties, this one is a definite thumbs down in comparison to the quality of the others I have stayed in. I would avoid this particular chalet at all costs.

Beware, Powder White advertise this property as having free wifi. This quite simply is untrue unless the 3G device which I insisted upon being installed after being there for two days, stays. The Wifi via the complex itself is completely inadequate.

There is only 1 out of the 4 bedrooms fully ensuite. The bed frames are unbelievably squeaky and will keep you awake!

So, if you want a fabulous chalet host, a fabulous resort and location then Chalet Toscano via Powder White maybe for you, but you will need to be prepared to take the rough with the smooth and put up with ALOT of noise, no wifi (unless the 3g device stays) and only one en-suite room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had 15 people in two 8 person/4-bedroom chalets (numbers 3 and 13). We found the chalets to be well appointed in terms of equipment in the kitchen (dishwashers/crockery/etc) and had no trouble catering for 15 people in one of the two chalets each night.

In terms of location you should have no concerns. The chalets are a short (50m) walk up to the main road through 1650. There is a Carrefour (food shop) right by the chalets and a Boulangerie close by as well. The main Ariondaz lift is 5-10min walk or the free ski bus to/from Courchevel 1850 stops right where the road from the chalet meets the main road through 1650.

There are about 5 or 6 bars in Courchevel 1650 and a nightclub open most nights. We had no issue with finding decent nightlife (as a group of 24-28 year olds).

The chalets are part of a complex of about 15 chalets serviced by a single reception which is open for most of the day with helpful staff. We used the spa (jacuzzi/sauna/steamroom) which we booked through reception without any difficulty.

I would ignore comments regarding the location of the chalet's boot room. There is a specified bootroom within the complex, but also ample room in the entrance lobby of each chalet to store skis/boots. So if your chalet is closer to the main lifts than the boot room store your skis there and vice versa. However we are only talking a matter of meters here in distance (you would think the boot room was miles away from the chalets by some of the comments on here - some perspective needed!!).

I would also ignore comments about there being nowhere to dry ski gear - the chalets were nice and warm and a clothes horse was provided in each - we had no issue drying clothes overnight.

In terms of size, we were impressed by the size of the chalets (the caveat being that we had two of the larger chalets - I don't know what the 2-bed chalets on offer would be like). The living room/kitchen area was of a good size (again, no issue with us having 15 people in one 8-person chalet each night). There were also 4 bathrooms in each chalet (3 en-suite and 1 main bathroom) all well appointed with showers.

The TV in the chalet had three or four english language news channels and we were able to borrow (for free) a DVD player from reception.

The wifi was a touch temperamental at times, however, we were all able to connect to the wifi on a variety of devices using a single code given by reception. You wouldn't be able to stream a film, but no issues with sending emails and using social networks, etc. Again this was free.

My only criticism is that some of the beds were a bit squeaky! They are all wooden bed frames and some creaked rather loudly as you moved on them. However this is a minor thing in the end.

In a nutshell, if you're after 5-star luxury this is isn't it (but isn't advertising itself as such either). If you want a good, solid, clean, well-located, chalet that won't cost you the earth then this is it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed here the week after half term with a 6 and 7 year old, initially we were a bit worried as the website said it was 400 metres from the lift, and we weren't looking forward to carrying kids skis as well as our own! Needn't have worried, there is a flat walk of only about 200 metres along the pavement, then there is a big escalator that takes you up to the bubble - easy!

We got a call from the resort rep Josh before we left the UK - talked to us about the lessons/ski passes etc which had all been booked and paid for, he just wanted to make sure every thing was in order before we came, and he explained about transfers weather etc which was really nice to talk to the person who would be meeting you off the plane.

The chalet is 4 bedrooms, 2 on the ground floor, and 2 on the top, with the living space on the middle floor, we were on the ground floor, which meant we didn't have to carry our bags up 2 flights, but the top floor has a balcony which makes up or it!
The chalet was very warm and cosy, with a log burner which we didn't use, and there was plentiful hot water (I've found this an issue in some chalets before when you get 8 or so people wanting baths/showers at the same time but here it never ran out.)
The rooms were clean and comfortable, we had a double with ample cupboard space and storage, and the kids had a sweet twin with little hearts on the headboards which they loved!

Food wise, the poor chalet girl bent over backwards to accommodate the needs of our 2 kids, and the other 2 kids of another family who was staying there, (a 10 and 13yr old) she ended up cooking 3 different meals on a few occasions, a meal at 6 o'clock for our 2 so they could get to bed, a separate meal for the other 2 kids who were quite fussy eaters, and then finally canapes and a 3 course dinner for the adults!

We also got a magnum of champagne on the first night (between 4 was more than we could get through!) unlimited supply of red/white/rose with our meal, and a bottle of port to go with a cheese board one of the nights after dinner. Food quantity was substantial (as you want after a day skiing) and delicious. We had good variety, and it was well cooked as the chalet girl told us she has the same menu each week so was well practiced! Particularly good was the duck breast with red berry sauce and daupinoise potatoes, and also the tartiflette which is my favorite local Savoyard food so was pleased to see this on the menu.

Courchevel is quite expensive if you eat out - especially on the mountain - so we tended to have a big cooked breakfast at the chalet and eat as much as possible, then pick up something from the fantastic bakers opposite the escalator at lunch time, (would recommend the pear cakes and the pizza slices!) this kept us going during the day for about 10-15 euros for the 4 of us (we also had a supply of musili bars and mini mars bars which we brought from home - would recommend doing this also!) Each day at the chalet there was a different cake (v. tasty!), and loads of bread/jam etc to fill up before dinner at 7:30.

wednesday was the staff day off - we went and bought pizzas and had them at the chalet - very good, thin and crispy with lovely toppings - can't remember the name but its just over the road - worth a visit!

This was my first time to courchevel - loved it! we did have blue ski and perfect snow all week, so that always helps, but would 100% go back like a shot! the tree runs are absolutely beautiful, plenty of wide pistes for learning children who tend to go far too fast than they should! and lots of more challenging runs up high. Try the long red run 'Creux' - my favourite and the kids loved it too. This is now officially my favourite resort!!!

Thanks for a brilliant holiday Alpine Elements, I'll be back!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor to get the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Montagnettes, Les Chalets de la Mouria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Montagnettes, Les Chalets de la Mouria

Address: Rue du Plantret, 73120 Courchevel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence enjoys a calm, away from it all environment with an open view of the massifs and the Bozel Valley. A place of relaxation with spa, sauna and hammam.This tourist residence has been designed as a small mountain hamlet to enable the guests to enjoy a stay in a friendly, convivial Savoyard ambience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Montagnettes, Les Chalets de la Mouria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.