We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and people very bad - location superb” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Courchevel

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Courchevel to your Saves list
Mercure Courchevel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quartier du Jardin Alpin, 73120 Courchevel, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Courchevel
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Food and people very bad - location superb”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nice location but very rude people and bad food at buffet , they will have to increase the level of food you can find at la plagne mercure for example . Very disapointed by the management , big factory of money but careless about people , It is a bus in ( 200 people coming at a time ) and they don't really need good review to stay at the top . .
Change people at front desk and Food quality restaurant and remodel restaurant ( a shame with such a beautiful view )
anyway It was courchevel , si who can complain !?
Hoping it will; change things and we can all enjoy great vacations.

Room Tip: Ash a corner room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    52
    24
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
35
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here mid Feb 2013 for 4 nights. We were late in landing at Geneva, then got lost so was nearer 11pm we got to hotel. Half hour prior to that receptionist had phoned us to say that dining room was almost shut and would we like chef to make anything for us which we thought was a really nice thought. It was then delivered to our room....along with the 6euro bottle of evian..

The location for skiing is simply perfect, 20 metres out of ski room and there is a middle gondola station which obviously takes you up, but also takes you free all the way down to the ticket station at 1850, so easy to get down. There is also a green ski run next to hotel, again you can ski straight down to centre aswell. We hired skis from skiset new solarium which is a 5 min walk from hotel, great service there.

Food was good in hotel, breakfast had plenty. We were half board so dinner included, otherwise it would have been a very expensive meal, whole resort is v v expensive!!! Dinner was nice, always something we ate. Puddings are pretty impressive!

The bar was steady, however far too dear for us. 6euros for a can of coke, 12 euros for a pint of Heineken which I thought was taking the p to be honest. We had one pint after getting charged that but we were so tired after a good 8 hours on slope we were bedded early to make most of our short trip.

Service in hotel was good, very polite and attentive. I think you are basically paying so much for hotel, rooms of which are a bit tired and walls paper thin(!), because of location. Almost the highest up hotel, bang on the slopes, don't expect luxury as such, but the sheer convenience for skiing was great.

Not sure I'd stay here again as I though it was just too expensive, could get something cheaper in 1550, la tania or places like that, but if price is no issue and you want to be close to slopes this is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

As most places require you to book a full week, this is one of the few that offer flexibility like a regular hotel. The location for skiing is excellent, a 50 meter walk to the slopes so it can be considered as ski in/ski out. We booked bed and breakfast, but converted to full board. The dinner buffet is varied and generous and of better value and convenience than going to the center of town. The rooms are good and offer 4 beds. Staff is very friendly.
My room had a minor quirk in that there was no shower curtain, but they said it will be taken care of in an upcoming renovation.
There is no spa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Clean modern well appointed rooms in a nice and solid four star hotel. Good, but not great food and a reasonably priced, well selected wine list. I feel compelled to leave this review after staying at a poorly appointed more expensive four star hotel des neiges recently. This hotel is far nicer and less expensive. Make sure to lock up ski supplies as my gloves and goggles were stolen but bat wasn't their fault. Everyone was very polite here and it's a professionally managed hotel vs a Faulty Towers. Also don't believe they cater to bargain ski vacations, so you get what you're actually paying for.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

It s great location, close to gondolas and slopes, amazing view to the lake and mountains. Great staff and service, very friendly and polite. Excellent selection of breakfast buffet and evening meal. There is parking. Room was quite large and had balcony and stunning view.
Facilities very not very new but very clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riffa, Bahrain
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed on April 2012, end of season prices, ski was good, have been skiing in 3 vallys since 1996,since then stayed in all main resorts Val thorens, Meribel, and Courchevel.
The breakfast was good quality, did not eat any other meal there.
Staff were helpful, every morning they book fo us the lunch reservation at the resturant we choose, since we do not speak french.
The cable car nearby works untill 8Pm daily, so we use it to go downtown for shopping and back again every evening, also a car is provided by he hotel for free can be used, we used it only on the first day, but after buying our ski tickets we only used the cable car (le jardin de alpin).
The walk from the ski room to the jardin de alpin ski slope is 50 meters only.
The rooms can accommadate up to 4 persons, two in the bunk beds, two in main bed.
The snow machines at night can be noisy since the slopes of courchevel are well known to be the best maintened in the world, which means you can see more than 6 machines after the slopes close daily working all over the place to fix the slopes for the next day.
One day I left the main bad and slept in one of the bunk beds just to avoid the noise outside, since we were only two in the room with four beds.

Room Tip: Facing the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Courchevel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Courchevel

Address: Quartier du Jardin Alpin, 73120 Courchevel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Courchevel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decorated with natural wood, nestled amongst the Alps, surrounded by mountains, overlooking the Golf course, the Biollay Lake & the De La Saulire mountains range. The hotel features 2 restaurants, a bar, a summer terrace, pool. Sports activities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Courchevel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Courchevel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.