We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality for money hotel, with awesome extra's (restaurant and bar)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vert Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Vert Hotel to your Saves list
Le Vert Hotel
964 Route Des Gaillands, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good quality for money hotel, with awesome extra's (restaurant and bar)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Good hotel, clean, descent rooms, we had a mountain view room. Small bathroom. But very good for the price we paid! HAve been here before and the same as the previous time.
Very good help en service as well for the breakfast.
Also what was for us one of the major advantages, only UK staff (ofcourse which speaks French) Also the atmosphere and amazing restaurant is fantastic!
Will definitly come again!!

Room Tip: Mountain view was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    85
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
36
80
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nazareth, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel is very simple .. everything .. shower room and breakfast. I expected the hotel was as good as the rest of my orders .. but I was surprised at grade level And his score at tripadvisor .
Staff are courteous and helping .. especially the woman who helped us in the morning

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed here at the end of doing the Tour du Mont Blanc and got a good price for the room, so can't really grumble. The pros are friendly and helpful staff (all seemed to be English, a bit of a shame, because up to then we had enjoyed being in France and speaking French); a good restaurant, a cabinet of books to swap and a pleasant stroll into town past interesting places including an organic supermarket. The cons were a dark, fairly basic room right up against a steep hillside, rain banging off a metal roof below, the shower spraying right into the room (wet floor and w.c.), no hairdryer, only one bath towel for two. It it a nice enough place, but you didn't really feel that anyone cared too much about it, e.g. a crumpled towel left propping open the door when we arrived and jars of half-dead flowers on the tables at breakfast. It was a reasonable base to go out from, but there are lots of places to stay in and around Chamonix and I wouldn't be rushing back to this one.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Le Vert Hotel is located 15min walking from the centre of Chamonix but don't be put off by this! There are buses and a train to take you there if you don't want to walk.
We stayed in a room with a fantastic view to the mountains, very spacious and comfortable.
The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. There's a restaurant/pub which serves great food at reasonable prices (do make a reservation 'cause it's always full). The pub attracts young people, sometimes there's a DJ, so there's always a lively atmosphere!
We had a great stay here and I think this hotel is a good value for money, I'll definitely recommend it for my friends.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The hotel is located about 1.2 miles from the center of Chamonix. There is a shuttle bus that runs frequently to and from the center of town. It stops running, however, around 7:30 p.m., so plan on a pleasant after dinner stroll back to the hotel if you eat out. I can't comment on the restaurant because we didn't eat there this trip, although the menu looks excellent. The rooms are on the smaller side and are fairly spartan, but they are exactly what we needed, were clean and quiet in the evening. I think most of the hotel occupants are in some way engaged in hiking, biking or some other outdoor activity, which likely explains why the hotel is quiet at night, but generally gets an early start. The walls aren't awfully thin, but once your neighbors start to open and close their doors, don't plan on sleeping in. The staff was all very pleasant and helpful. Because we were hiking the Tour de Mont Blanc, the hotel accomodated us by letting us store our things with them so that we could take the minimum of stuff on the hike. The price we paid seemed very reasonable in light of the quality of the hotel, the service and the convenience of its location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A very well priced, comfy hotel, a light stroll away from Chamonix centre. Clean linen and a huge bed welcome your aching muscles after a day out. The hotel is well equipped with a bar and a restaurant, as well as a ski shop...But what made our stay extra special was the help from the staff and hotel owners... We had a small hitch at the beginning of the holiday and they literally went out of their way to make our stay memorable. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel and definitely will be visiting in winter. Well done!!

Room Tip: We had a room facing Aiguille du Midi and Mont Blanc... you see the golden hue of the morning sun an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed for two weeks over early summer, used Vert as a base for summer Alpine fun for the family.
Had a double room, two bedrooms connected one for us and connected room for the kids - perfect.
Free parking, great food, met people from All over the world in their bar and the staff were knowledgeable and very helpful many times.
I've been going to CHX for 10 years but this time was special - our boys were old enough to join in the fun. Big Thanks to the team at the Vert - We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Vert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vert Hotel

Address: 964 Route Des Gaillands, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vert Hotel was opened in 2006 by a group of long time Chamonix residents. It has 21 ensuite double, twin and triple rooms, a restaurant, hire shop and lively bar. The restaurant is consistently rated one of the best in Chamonix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Vert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Vert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.