We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot water, good bed and (un)cleanness. What do you need more?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vert Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Vert Hotel to your Saves list
Le Vert Hotel
964 Route Des Gaillands, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
Th Hague
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hot water, good bed and (un)cleanness. What do you need more?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We traveled as a young couple and booked this hotel just because of good (low) price and that it is near city center Chamonix-Mont-Blanc (2 km). I saw there was a bus stop near this hotel but as we were traveling by personal car it was not important to us what kind of public transport they have.

We were coming late in the evening and reception was working only till 7 p.m. We were trying to call them and notice it but nobody answered so we called to booking.com call center as we have booked this hotel using their internet page. They also could get in touch with hotel by phone so they wrote an e-mail to them and then got answer that the key will be left near reception window. That's good!

So, we came to hotel, took our key and went to the room. What was disappointing that the floors (actually carpet) was very unclean. So it was kind of ugly to walk without shoes. I guess they could take this carpet away and just make simple wooden floors better 'cause everything there is "old style".

Towels and bedclothes were clean. And there was hot water!

Room is simple: double bed, a table, 2 chairs, 1 chest-of-drawers, closet.

Bed had a hard mattress (and that is good!). Wall are made of paper I guess, 'cause you can hear everything...

There were two lamps at the side of bed and one more on the wall (with two lightbulbs). The first two were not working and another one was not working fully (only one lightbulb was actually illuminating). We showed it and asked to repair or change. Next day they said sorry that they can't repair first two at the moment and when we went into the room we saw that they didn't even change lightbulb for lamp on the wall. So it was kind of romantic and dark inside...

In the morning we looked through window an saw a mountainside near it!

All in all it's a good deal but I cannot give more that 3/5 because room was not clean. But we were not disappointed because all we needed was hot shower and good bed!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    76
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
31
70
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We spent to delightful nights at Le Vert in Chamonix in May 2011. A warm and cozy place (low season in May), silent and calm. With a great view of Mont Blanc's glacier and only 1 km from the city center.
Breakfast was great: baguette, jams and croissants with tasty coffee. The rooms, simple yet cozy. A minute bathroom but a great wifi internet connection. TV.
Good for its value!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were here in the summer of 2011 staying two nights. As other people commented, walking it would be about 20 minutes to Chamonix. For us, the distance to the town centre wasn't an issue, as we went back and forth by car (5 minutes). There is plenty of parking space near the hotel (not so in Chamonix though, but that's another subject).

We got a room at the front, way up under the roof. It seemed like an attic. The wood beams and all made it cosy. The tapestry behind the bed was a bit dusty, like the rest of the room. Nice little balcony though and a great view on the Mont Blanc. The bathroom is under the roof, which did not allow for much space to stand up. Tall people would have a problem here. The room was relatively large. Two steep stairs had to be climbed with all the luggage, but that's not too much of a problem.

In the summer, the location has a nice bonus in the form of the little lake, just beside the hotel. Great place to spend a sunny afternoon, sunbathing, swimming or rock climbing. A big plus of the Le Vert Hotel was the excellent wifi connection. The room was quiet and we slept like roses.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nice view of the peak of the Mont Blanc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Nice and friendly place, but a little run down. I was there for the hotel's opening party way back when, and I was a little surprised now to see how hard time can be on a Cham hotel.
We had a good sized family room and slept like babies (apparently through a sequence of garden parties outside our window, but we didn't hear a thing).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were kind of surprised by the location of Le Vert, because no one mentioned it. It's a good 20 minute walk from the old town of Chamonix, or a 10 minute shuttle bus ride. However during non-peak season, the frequency of the bus is not high. The walk is scenic in the backdrop of the Alps, but not when you have a heavy backpack to lug!

Anyway, the hotel is good value for money at 55 euros a night (cheaper than anything you'll find in old town) and has a bar with a chilled out ambience. Worth a stay, as long as you know what you're in for!

My travelogue from Chamonix: http://theshootingstar.wordpress.com/2011/05/13/chamonix-of-french-alps-summer-snow/

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Alps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various, UK, Aus, NZ, HK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The good:
It's cheap. Staff speak English - when you can find them to talk to them. Location is good if you are on a hiking holiday in that it's close to bus and train connections and the hiking trails.
Good bar with huge TV. Free wifi.
The bad:
Rooms are small; bathrooms tiny. The electrics are dodgy (blew and destroyed the plug in our friends phone charger and the entire reservation system had been blown out by a storm the day we arrived). The bar is noisy.
Reception hours are extremely erratic and response to phone/email requests (we tried to book a second night) is spotty.

If you are young, like to party and are budget constrained it's not a bad option; if you are looking for a quiet romantic getaway I would avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

You'll be really impressed by the brilliant location of the Hotel Le Vert, underneath Mont Blanc. Fantastic Bar and fantastic views of Mont Blanc from the Bar and Bar Patio Terrace. Very helpful staff making the hotel a real home from home. Rooms are clean and comfortable, if a tad basic, but ideal to crash out into, after a few beers and some good skiing that day.. Excellent, well equipped Pro Shop available for Ski / Board and Boot hire, off the hotel reception, where Ju is a really helpful and knowledgeable guy. The hotel can be very noisy on the exceptional evenings, i.e Saturday night, boom boom boom, through the whole place. 15 minutes walk from Chamonix village. The Ski Shuttle bus stops outside the door, for getting to Le Tour, Les Grandes Mondes, etc..Top blokes having a great time having a go at running the hotel, livng the dream. Nice one. Excellent for savouring the Big Mountain Scene and looking forward to the next visit SKI trip to Chamonix and Hotel Le Vert,

Room Tip: Front of Hotel for the best views of Mont Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Vert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vert Hotel

Address: 964 Route Des Gaillands, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#16 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vert Hotel was opened in 2006 by a group of long time Chamonix residents. It has 21 ensuite double, twin and triple rooms, a restaurant, hire shop and lively bar. The bar was voted best in Chamonix in its first 2 seasons by the local events guide and has big screens showing sports events, DJ nights and regular live music nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Vert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Vert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.