We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Oustalet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel L'Oustalet to your Saves list
Hotel L'Oustalet
330 rue du Lyret, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
Provo, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We would agree with the previous high ratings for location, staff helpfulness, cleanliness and comfortable (firm) beds. We were with another couple and we both had intermittent problems with the internet. This we would consider a small distraction unless you are one that cannot survive a couple of hours without WiFi connectivity. The only other minor concern is the posted note in the room that food is prohibited within the rooms. I have never had this request before. This may be a problem for prediabetic or diabetic patients and certainly makes it difficult finding a place to get a quick snack after hours when you would like to be dressed for bed. This is still a very nice and secure place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are rather equivalent and all face the same side. The rooms on the ground floor, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    47
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
87
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Chalet like rooms with toilet separate from bath and sink, and very clean. Located less than 10 minutes from the rail station, and 5 minutes from restaurants. Only issue was the free Internet, it went off for almost 12 hours, and was off and on a few times. Hiking maps would have been nice to offer, but we purchased them from the Tourist center, a 10 minute walk. The water was very hot and instant, the shower as my other France review stated, had a glass enclosure which only covers half the shower, so turning the water on full speed makes a mess of the floor. Breakfast buffet for $14 Euro's was fine, cereal, juice eggs, yogurt, etc., coffee was not to good my wife said. Mcdonald's opens at 10:30, so no breakfast there. There was a good omelette place( La Poele) which served a nice omelette and green salad for $10 Euro, so there are options if you can't get down for breakfast on time. Our 1st floor room #3 looked out on the backyard and had a nice view of Mont Blanc. We opened the door at night (late September) and enjoyed the fresh air with very little traffic noise. The front desk was pleasant and very helpful, the $120 Euro fee from September 22-27 was well worth it. Our double bed with separate down blankets was very comfortable. There are stairs or a lift to get baggage up to the room. We went to the Casa Valerio Italian pizza restaurant 3 nights in a row, go out the front door, go left under the train track, it is only another minute after on your left. The house white wine was $3 Euro, the pizza excellent, and pasta good. (gnocchi's like homemade). I highly recommend this place for a great non French meal. Chamonix is a picturesque town with many nice shops and decent food. There do not seem to be many great walks for us couples who enjoy hiking 3 hours or more at a time. The best walk was after paying to go up the first part of the lift, then walking to the glacier. Better walks are found in Zermatt, longer, better marked with more trail places to eat at. That said Oustalet and Chamonix are nice places to visit and vacation in.

Room Tip: The mountain view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here one night at the beginning of a guided hiking tour. I can't speak to the value because we didn't pay for the room directly. Raves for the location, atmosphere and room. One small complaint - we had a bit of difficulty figuring out how to get someone's attention to order lunch on the patio but maybe that had to do with how hungry we were and the time of day (late afternoon when most people were enjoying ice cream rather than something more substantial). The lawn and pool area are very sweet and I could see spending time relaxing there if we ever got the opportunity to do so again. The views from the property are spectacular (is that all of Chamonix?) and you're very close to the Aiguille du Midi cable car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We, 2 adults and 3 children, used the hotel as the starting and ending pint in our TMB. This was a great choice; the hotel is well kept, clean and tidy. Service is excellent and value for money is good. The manager was very helpful with different organizational issues we had towards the tour.
Although they did not have connecting rooms, side by side was fine as every small has a very small number of rooms.
Location is good. Very close but not in the hustle, lovely garden with a pool (freezing water). We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: all rooms have a balconyand face te pool and MB, the 1st floor have larger terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights mid August (2012) at this hotel based on a recommendation from Rick Steves....and he was spot on. The owners, two sisters, could not have been more accommodating.....even when put to the test, one of them, Agnes, never wilted in helping me with an issue I had.....they were born to be hoteliers. We have been to Chamonix many times before to review some great and some not so great hotels, but this one is by far the best, in every category. Book it sight unseen, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Mt. Blanc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a fantastic hotel in very busy Mont Blanc. Great location very central but just far enough away from very busy town centre. Extremely helpful staff who cannot do enough for you but not in your face. Lovely breakfast available daily. Stunning view of the mountains. Pool and outdoor area was great fro relaxing and having a beer when not sightseeing. Rooms basic a little 'kitsch' but you sure feel like you are in the French Alps.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed two nights here recently. Well located within easy walking distance of the town centre the hotel has car parking and a pleasant garden with a pool. Rooms are spacious and comfortable but slightly on the basic side. Breakfasts are of the "Continental" variety but plenty of choice. Being so close to twon we opted to eat out rather than in the hotel's own restaurant. Not much atmosphere in the evenings and no real bar facilities. Don't forget the front door code if staying out "late"......it's locked at 22:00hrs!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear look out onto the garden and pool, most with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Oustalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Oustalet

Address: 330 rue du Lyret, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel L'Oustalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Oustalet
l Oustalet Hotel Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Oustalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.