We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disneyland comes to Chamonix” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc to your Saves list
Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   191, allee du Savoy - BP 8, 74401 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
GreenLeadersBronze level
England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Disneyland comes to Chamonix”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Club Med hotel evokes mixed reactions. Some things are very good and paradoxically, others seem to have fallen by the wayside.

The hotel now consists of three interlinked buildings, with the original, the Savoy, in the centre at the core. In its heyday (and very much pre-Club Med) it was an incredibly chic Belle Epoque hotel, owned by the railway company, which also owned the mountain behind and of course, the line, and whose clientele included the Aga Khan. However, since then the old girl has been somewhat knocked about to the extent that the only clue to its roots are the art nouveau railings on the balconies facing the town. All else has been erased - inside the colour scheme is dark red woodwork, with dark blue walls and a turkey carpet. Lighting is provided by wall lights in the form of plaster chamois heads with lamps above them and large round shades hanging from the ceiling. As one guest commented, the effect is similar to a low-class bordello. A similar scheme is followed inside the bedrooms with the addition of a cornice, which seems to represent snow coming down from the ceiling - all a bit tacky and probably more suited to Disney than Club Med. Lighting on the whole is dim throughout.

So, the decor is not good, but this does not spoil a good holiday. To my mind the real area of concern was the overall cleanliness of the place and the bedrooms. Maid service seems very scant - beds are quickly pulled together and give the impression of being properly made ... they are not, the bathroom/shower area through the persistent presence of hair evidenced poor cleaning as did the toilet area, and the carpet never saw a vacuum throughout our stay. To a certain extent this is repeated in the public areas and consequently, guests are urged to ensure they have a high standard of personal hygiene to the extent that there are alcohol hand cleaners at the entrance to the dining room. Despite this, quite a number of guests ended up with stomach complaints.

Food at the resort was fairly average at the beginning of our stay with a tendency to towards drying out or going cold, however with the run up to Easter, it improved dramatically and as a result came out above-average (just!).

The bar area on the lower ground floor is dark and pokey, consisting of a number of interlinked rooms and connects to a very large decked area, which is great to sit outside during the day when the sun is up and in the evenings is used by those who want to improve their chances of getting cancer. At night, pre-dinner, there are a good selection of nice snacks and usually live music in the form of a jazz trio or the Chef de Village, who has a good voice. Point to note about the bar, is that they make cocktails properly and well - in fact probably some of the best in Club Med, to my experience!

However, what really makes this hotel is the skiing. Each room has its own locker and most importantly in those lockers are boot dryers. The ski staff and especially the instructors are highly capable, local and know the mountains intimately. Given the nature of the area, the skiing is challenging and irrespective of colour of run, distinctly harder than other resorts in say the Trois Vallees or Portes de Soleil. Previous reviews note that skiing is broken into a number of areas, some of which need to be accessed by transport - there is a good network of public transport serving the area - all free - and Club Med also lay on buses for those taking the ski lessons - highly recommended! There is an altitude restaurant, which requires booking for those not taking lessons and which serves a sit down 3 course meal with cheese ... just in case the morning skiing has sharpened the appetite. Overall, these meals were very good and filling!

The hotel also offers an outdoor pool, which is heated to 28 degrees, segregated saunas and a steam room, along with spa treatments and stretch classes, which are of a good standard.

Chamonix is a very friendly town to walk round with plenty to do outside of Club Med in terms of shopping, bars, sports: skating, swimming, sightseeing - Les Aiguilles de Midi (on the ski pass and highly recommended) etc.

Overall, despite some real issues especially with cleanliness, this hotel remains on our list because of the quality of the skiing.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer buildings tend to be a little larger. Views of Mont Blanc are stunning, when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Great Member,

We would like to thank you for writing this Trip Advisor review after your stay in our Chamonix Mont Blanc Club Med Resort. It is only with constructive criticism such as yours that Club Med will be able to monitor and improve the standards and quality of services offered in all its Resorts worldwide.

We have noted your comments regarding the maintenance and cleanliness of your room and of the Resort’s common areas during your stay, and transferred them to the relevant department of our organisation (Quality Department) for their perusal. We can confirm that all rooms and the common areas at our Resort are cleaned on a regular basis by the housekeeping team, in which polishing, vacuuming, replacement of towels (for the rooms) and any further cleaning duties are carried out. On behalf of Club Med, please accept our sincerest apologies if this was not always the case. Club Med also takes whatever steps are necessary to ensure that a good standard of hygiene is maintained in all its Resorts, and has for many years implemented a preventive health policy to ensure better protection of the individual and the community.

On a more positive note, we were glad to read that you enjoyed the pre-dinner entertainment and snacks, the quality of the cocktails at the bar and the outdoor pool, spa and stretch classes. We were also really pleased to see that you enjoyed the whole skiing experience, from the ski lockers to the vast knowledge of our ski instructors, and from the amazing ski domain to the altitude restaurant!

With these positive thoughts in mind, we hope that we will have to opportunity to welcome you to another Club Med Resort in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

The Club Med UK team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    186
    91
    47
    29
See reviews for
170
132
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just back from two weeks' skiing in Club Med, one week in Chamonix, one in Val d' Isere and absolutely loved it. Skiing was first class service friendly and polite and food fabulous. Room on the small side and hotel a little dated but great location.

Room Tip: Ideal for those who like an international crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for writing this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Chamonix Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see that you had a good time and that you enjoyed our ski service, the friendliness and dedication of our staff, and the location of the Resort.

We would also like to thank you for you comment regarding the fact that you found the hotel a little old: this comment has been forwarded to the relevant departments in our organisation (Quality Department and Hotel Management) for his perusal.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts!

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Hotel. very impressive from the outside a little dark and dated inside. We were in Mont Blanc section. The room was basic no furniture apart from a stool at the mirror as the wardrobes were set into the wall with curtains across them. No bedside table one side had a little shelf. No problem with hot water. The corridors were dark and carpets could do with renewing. It just needs bringing up to date. Same with the bar/theatre and public rooms.
Food - Excellant. Waiters very helpful had our table waiting each night with the wine on ice.
Spa - very good excellent classes by Sarah for Legs, tums and bums, streatching and pilates. would reccommend after a days skiing. Nice to be able to swim in the outdoor pool.
Boot room - excellent with your own locker for skis and boots.
Ski guiding- our guide Frank was the best yet. What he didnt know about the area, mountain ranges, glaciers wasn't worth knowing. It was like skiing with David Attenborough. Club Med have their own buses to take you to the other areas like Le Tour and Les Grands Montets. The ski areas Brevent - Flegere are behind the hotel and this is where the Club Med mountain restaurant is. When you ski at Le Tour or Les Grands Montets you eat at a self service restaurant and choose what you want and Club Med pay - excellant service. The views from the top of Aiguille Verte of the Glacier D'argentiere are stunning. Nice touches like the GOs seeing you off in the morning with a toddy and on your return with mulled wine and cake. Buffett down in the bar area very good on return from a day on the slopes.
If you have a day off and the weather is good take the telecabin up L'Aiguille du Midi to 3842m - amazing views. The skiers go accross the ridge and then ski down the Le Montenvers mer de glace which you can get to by rack railway from the village. This takes 20 minutes to get to the glacier at 1913m. Here you then go down a small cable car then have to walk down 400 steps to reach the glacier and the ice cave. the skiers have to do this in reverse, 400 steps then the cable car. Well worth the visit. Best view from a railway platform ever. You do not need to queue at the casse for a ticket as this is covered by your ski pass. Just go straight through the booking hall onto the train (26 euros if you have to pay). Try to sit on the left hand side going up for better views of the valley.
Overall an excellant holiday staff very good hotel just needs some money spending on it now before it becomes too rundown.

Thanks to all for a good week.

Room Tip: I think the Savoy are better than Mont Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this great and detailed review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Chamonix Mont Blanc Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your friends had a such a good time there!

We have noted your comments with regards to the need of refurbishment of the rooms and common areas of the Resort. It is only with constructive criticism such as yours that Club Med will be able to monitor and improve the quality of services it offers, and we can assure you that they have been forwarded to the relevant department in our organisation for their attention.

On a very positive note, we were very glad to read that you enjoyed the quality of the food, the spa and indoor/outdoor pools, the organization in the boot room, the wide knowledge of your ski guide, the amazing ski domain and, last but not least, the friendliness and dedication of our G.O.s!

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed here during March, 2012 and really enjoyed it. It's not a very fancy club med but the rooms were nice, although a bit run down, and the food was great. The skiing was fantastic, as was the organization of the club. The instructor I had was really great but some of the groups are quite large. One perk is that there is a club med restaurant on the slopes so you can work in a meal during a full day of skiing. My one major complaint is that the showers aren't great and it's hard to find the right temperature. Also, they charge for internet access (20 euro per week) which seems a bit petty. All in all, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

all inclusive with many services included, nice spa, restaurant, bar, ski services, baby club... Food is OK, location is great. However personnel is not always as professional as you could expect for the price paid, which leaves you with the sensation that quality of service could be generally improved.

Room Tip: Le Savoy offer large and very comfortable rooms, some with an amazing view on the mont blanc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My parents visited Club Med CHamonix few years ago and loved it - so I might had exaggerated expectations but:
1. Hotel cleanliness - was not good. Our room was not clean ( dirty carpet with stains and dust bath room that was not vacuumed properly).
at the first day we mentioned to the receptionist that our room was not cleaned well enough - they had promised us to take care of it the next day - but they have not.
3. Although we are a couple - we had a 2 beds put together - which moved apart with no effort.
4. SPA - was very nice. Good souna I didn't try the Hamma and the swimming pool. the open swimming pool was to cold for me. but the facility is nice
5. SKI room - great. you have your oun locker for the ski equipment.
6. Food - was ok - I mostly ate cheez - other things vere not that good. However - my husband did find the other dishes nice - so it was ok.
7. Open bar - very good. No limitation and big variety of all sort of drinks.
8. Location - was good. it was close to the town centre( few min walking) and it is very close to one of the lifts that takes you to a near by ski resort. In addition - club med provided a special bas only for the guest of the hotel - which took us to another resort
9. SKi lessons were very good - our instructor was very patient and Professional

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed at the Club Med Chamonix at the end of Feb. 2012. While there was plenty of snow, the conditions were spring like, hard in the morning and slushy in the afternoon. I was in a ski school class for 4 out of the 5 days during the week and while the lessons were adequate, there was little individual instruction. The biggest disappointment besides the snow conditions was the food. The Club Med did nothing to enhance the reputation of French cuisine. Not to say that the food was bad, but that for the most part it was just so so. At every meal there was at least one item which would qualify as excellent, but you had to look for it. The red wine selection for the week was excellent but the coffee came from instant coffee machines!

The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. The ski rental shop was quite stressed on the Sunday that I arrive and I would suggest you get there early before the rush. The selection of skis to pick from was adequate for on piste skiing, but if there is plenty of powder, then you might want to go into the village for some wider skis.

The views of Mt. Blanc and the alps were magnificent!! If you get a chance I suggest that you join a group and ski the Valle Blanche, it is worth the effort. A word of caution, it can be very icy at the top of the tram, so if you have some traction aids for your boots, such as yaktracks, bring them along. Also if you have a back pack designed for carrying skis, bring it along. There is a 30 minute trek down from the top to where you put your skis on and another 30 minute trek out of the Valle Blanche.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc

Address: 191, allee du Savoy - BP 8, 74401 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#24 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its peak touching the clouds, Mont Blanc holds a fascination for everyone who comes near. Ever since two mountaineers first conquered the Giant of the Alps over two centuries ago, this Haute-Savoie resort, a pioneer in the practice of skiing, has managed to preserve a unique atmosphere. This Club Med Village is set in the cosy, welcoming decor of a former hotel, the Savoy, totally renovated. Along with the treatments at Cinq Mondes Spa* the Village helps you to detox and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc Hotel Chamonix
Chamonix Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.