We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Gourmets et Italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gourmets et Italy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gourmets et Italy to your Saves list
Hotel Gourmets et Italy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 rue du Lyret, 7400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Gourmets et Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel was very fun to stay at! The room that my 2 sisters and I stayed in was quite small for three people, but it was manageable. The beds were very warm and comfy. Our room was hot so we opened the window for the night. It was so loud! We all kept waking up in the night to the people walking home. It's way better to keep it closed during the night. Other than the noise, our stay was very nice. The lady at the front desk spoke great english and was very helpful when we were trying to figure out where to go see the Tour de France. Our family loved to go in the very warm and welcoming lobby area and play games and have something to drink. Also, the breakfasts in the morning were pretty good. Overall great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river. It isn't as loud if you open the window during the warm nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    38
    16
    9
    8
See reviews for
21
30
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We've spent 3 nights there in July 2013. The location is good and if you get the mountain view rooms, you'll be rewarded. How ever, the bed was very uncomfortable. I was scratching myself from night 2! Also, the noise would wake us up, either late at night or very ( I mean very) early in the morning. The parking is very little and the pool (on the ground) was closed. The decor is charming but old and the breakfast is very American. Not what you specte in a rustique italien hotel. I wouldn't go back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolle, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booked this hotel last minute on a portal site and got a very good rate. The reception was very friendly and efficient and a big plus was free parking (this is limited though to around 4 cars). The room was compact but nicely furnished with a great view and a balcony. Shower room recently renovated and perfectly nice and functional.
Did not take breakfast at €14.95 (from memory) as there is plenty of choice in town that represents better value in my opinion. The bar however was cosy and charming and the terrace by the river very nice indeed with tables and loungers. The pool is small and above ground but was not open even though weather was gorgeous - it obviously didn't worry me too much as I did not enquire as to why!
So relaxing and friendly was this hotel that we stayed another night and the hotel gave the same rate for the second as for the first. Lastly they offered to look after luggage and car after check out time (11 am) for the day and even provide shower facilities if needed after a day in the mountains. Nice touch. Nice hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Good hotel for the price, cosy, comfy rooms, with a view of Mount Blanc which was priceless both from the balcony and the bed. Bathrooms had been recently refurbished and were excellent. Friendly staff who were very helpful. Cute dog. Breakfast was comprehensive and tasty. Would recommend this hotel and would stay there again next season. The hotel is just round the corner from the square, and close to the two main lifts in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Thus isn't a bad hotel, but the thing that really annoyed me was that every day I had to moan at the hotel staff when I found that there was no bread / egg / bacon etc. I and other guest got fed up of having to ask.

They had only one poor lady in the kitchen, trying to run the whole of breakfast by herself, so not a well run place, especially considering how much we paid for our room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The decor is both chalet-like with a taste of early 1900s Chamonix memorabilia. There are two sitting rooms with plenty of books, games and TV, a small bar with nice wines and spirits, and outdoor seating when weather permits. The breakfast buffet is copious, and perfect before skiing. The location is good, but be careful with the steet-facing rooms where you can hear traffic and drunken revelers at night. The rear rooms are quiet. Nice bathrooms, including tubs and Thierry Mugler bath products (who knew?). The private steam and sauna room looks nice, but careful: you need to pay per person for each, and reserve in advance so it's well heated. Massage available in room was great (Ann). Staff are super nice. Parking for 6 cars, and a ski room downstairs. Too bad the outdoor jacuzzi wasn't open (maybe not in winter?).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gourmets et Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gourmets et Italy

Address: 96 rue du Lyret, 7400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gourmets et Italy 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gourmets et Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gourmets Et Italy Chamonix
Gourmets Et Italy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gourmets et Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.