We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ski hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Cretes Blanches

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Les Cretes Blanches to your Saves list
Hotel Les Cretes Blanches
16, Impasse du Genepy, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
Pornainen, Southern Finland, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good ski hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

An old three storey building in the heart of Chamonix. Has a small claustrophobic retro fitted elevator, good only for one or two persons, so not really help with big luggage. Property has a separate storeroom for ski equipment with boot dryer which is a huge advantage.
Our room was number 313 in the third floor, right next to the elevator and stairs. Nice view to the mountains. Room has a double bed and a bed sofa for third occupant. Enough wardrobes to store your clothes etc. TV was mounted high on the upper shelf of wardrobe so when laying in the bed watching the tv the colors were a bit distorted. Big bathroom with shower that had some kind of poor massage system, didn't find that very useful. Water was always hot so no worries there. Room had no fridge/minibar but windows did open and on the windowsill there was a railing so you can use that as an fridge in winter. No waterkettle either which was a minus. The walls are a bit on the thin side so keep your noise down.
Breakfast was good at least on a french standard. Good tasting not too white bread, cheese, ham, salami, boiled eggs, youghurt, fruit salad, coffee and a good selection of teas.
There was always a slight smell of kerosine or diesel oil especially at the hotel lobby, must be the heating system. We did get used to it but if you have a very sensitive nose it might be a problem.
Right next to the hotel is a supermarket called SuperU. Didn't like that one though. Found out that a chain called Petit Casino has a better selection of goods. These can be found all around Chamonix, the nearest to the hotel in the Alpina mall north of hotel. Ski bus also goes from the corner of this mall, about hundred meters from the hotel door.

Room Tip: Few rooms have a balcony, try to get one of those
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
28
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for our Christmas trip to Chamonix for 5 nights, it is in a great location, straight off the main street and walking distance to most places.

The rooms are basic and quite small, but they are warm and just what you need.

The girls on reception were very helpful.

If we were to return to Chamonix we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have stayed in Chamonix 15/08/12 and this is an excellent central location of town. The hotel is so tucked away, but the view of the glacier form the bedroom window is a must. We stayed in a different hotel in 2008 and again it was superb, but the hotel was full. It was, actually the sister hotel who sent us here. The room, bathroom and breakfast were excellent. The staff spoke English and were more than friendly and extremely helpful. Parking the motorbike was no problem either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed here for a week and have to say that I couldn't really have been happier to do so.

The hotel is very well placed, right in the middle of Chamonix yet just off the main road and therefore pretty quiet at night. Practically next door is a supermarket, and since it's off the main street there are plenty of shops and restaurants just a couple of minutes away.

The staff were absolutely fantastic when I was there - English-speaking, many of them were chatty and happy to give advice about what to see and where to go, and always trying to help if they can. The hotel serves a reasonable breakfast, perhaps a touch expensive for what you get but you can easily fill up for the start of your day. At lunch this becomes a quaint Japanese tea-room which I didn't use but would have liked to. They don't serve dinner at the hotel but are connected with a restaurant about 5 minutes' walk away and offer a €15 meal deal - cheap but, unfortunately, you don't get any choice in what you're offered (despite it being delicious).

The rooms are all you need for an adventure in the alps - simple, clean and comfortable. There's a TV if you need and an excellent shower for washing away the day's grime. There are no fans/air con, so it does get hot in the summer, but at least some rooms have French windows/a balcony, with a gorgeous view of Mont Blanc. They may be a bit cramped if you intend to stay inside all day.

Overall, considering the price and location, this hotel would be very tough to beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony to be able to fully enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

After ten days in the mountains we needed a reasonably priced room in the centre of town and Les Cretes Blanches was just the job. The price is reasonable - the room are well appointed - good size and clean. This is not 3 or 4 star by English standards but it is perfectly good for the price. The English staff are very helpful and the central location is very convenient. The lift was useful as we were on the top floor and had heavy bags.
Our bedroom was large with double bunks and two singles. All very clean and comfortable. We had a small balcony looking towards Mont Blanc - which was lovely.
In the bathroom the shampoo dispenser was empty and the sink plug had come away from the chain - so I guess the room service side could pay more attention to detail.
The last line is that I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a mid range hotel in Chamonix.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the West side which faces Mont Blanc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were at this hotel for two nights in late May 2012. It was a very nice place to stay which we would recommended to anyone staying in Chamonix. Below are some pros and cons as we see them to using the hotel.

Pros:
- Very clean room with a nice bathroom. Nicely laid out and attractive even if simple.
- Breathtaking views of the mountains from your balcony.
- Close walk to supermarket, attractions and nice areas for evening walks.
- Helpful and friendly staff.

Cons:
- The room has no fan or A/C, so in the summer could perhaps get warm if you do not leave the window/balcony door open. When we were there this was not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

If the weather is not on your side and you're sick, as I was during my time in Chamonix, the Hotel Le Cretes Blanches is a good place to be. This hotel was modern and spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Good value for money and the staff were friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Cretes Blanches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Cretes Blanches

Address: 16, Impasse du Genepy, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Les Cretes Blanches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cretes Blanches Chamonix
Les Cretes Blanches Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Cretes Blanches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.