We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Cretes Blanches

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Les Cretes Blanches to your Saves list
Hotel Les Cretes Blanches
16, Impasse du Genepy, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
cardiff
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Just the job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

After ten days in the mountains we needed a reasonably priced room in the centre of town and Les Cretes Blanches was just the job. The price is reasonable - the room are well appointed - good size and clean. This is not 3 or 4 star by English standards but it is perfectly good for the price. The English staff are very helpful and the central location is very convenient. The lift was useful as we were on the top floor and had heavy bags.
Our bedroom was large with double bunks and two singles. All very clean and comfortable. We had a small balcony looking towards Mont Blanc - which was lovely.
In the bathroom the shampoo dispenser was empty and the sink plug had come away from the chain - so I guess the room service side could pay more attention to detail.
The last line is that I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a mid range hotel in Chamonix.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the West side which faces Mont Blanc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
29
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were at this hotel for two nights in late May 2012. It was a very nice place to stay which we would recommended to anyone staying in Chamonix. Below are some pros and cons as we see them to using the hotel.

Pros:
- Very clean room with a nice bathroom. Nicely laid out and attractive even if simple.
- Breathtaking views of the mountains from your balcony.
- Close walk to supermarket, attractions and nice areas for evening walks.
- Helpful and friendly staff.

Cons:
- The room has no fan or A/C, so in the summer could perhaps get warm if you do not leave the window/balcony door open. When we were there this was not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

If the weather is not on your side and you're sick, as I was during my time in Chamonix, the Hotel Le Cretes Blanches is a good place to be. This hotel was modern and spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Good value for money and the staff were friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here in between climbing-trips to the high mountains. It was the perfect place to rest and get ready for our next adventure. The hotel stored our unnecessary stuff, while we were climbing. The storage is in the basement and you'll need a hotel employee to get there.

The rooms were sufficiently large for packing and repacking gear for the next trip, but somewhat small. Ask for a room with a balcony, its the perfect place to enjoy sunset at the Mont Blanc with a cold beer. Rooms in general are modern, clean and welcoming.

The location is right off the main street. It's 3 minutes walk away from the main restaurants and bar area. We had no noise problems, as it is situated in a small alley. There's a large supermarket around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed at Cretes Blanches and found it to be very good value for money. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful from the moment we arrived. Our room had been recently renovated and was very clean if not a little small. Fantastic and would recommend to none. Oh and great location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, OR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay in Chamonix. The staff was great (English speaking), friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean, with an amazing view of Mont Blanc. Easy walking distance from the train station. We would definitely stay here again on a return visit to Chamonix.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We finished off our week's hiking around Mont Blanc and found the ideal place in Chamonix to rest up after our exertions. The staff were exceptionally helpful and gave us good tips for restaurants and activities in Chamonix. Breakfast was simple but good quality and the rooms were modern, large and very clean. Beautiful view from the balcony. All in all a great hotel for the family

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Cretes Blanches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Cretes Blanches

Address: 16, Impasse du Genepy, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Les Cretes Blanches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cretes Blanches Chamonix
Les Cretes Blanches Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Cretes Blanches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.