We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Grand Hotel des Alpes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Docteur Paccard, 75, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved this Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our two day stay, July 3 & 4th, 2014 was a real treat. The entire experience was Grand without being pretentious. The Hotel and Room was beautifully wood paneled, relaxing view of the river, spacious bath and shower, and above all friendly Staff. Francesca and her staff were always helpful and available. When we booked, this Hotel was rated#1 on Tripadvisor in its category, well, you're absolutely right. A First Rate Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    53
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
119
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Top notch would sum it up best. This place exceeded expectations on every front. Great room, lovely view (we were facing the plaza, our friends had a room facing the mountains, so just specific which you want). Very well appointed breakfast included. Location is as center of the walking district as you could possibly ask for. 5 minute walk to Monte Blanc gondola. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I couldn't get over how perfect this hotel is. We stayed here for two nights and they think of everything. The steam room/sauna/hot tub/pool is fantastic. The room was clean, cozy, quiet and had everything you need. The best part of the hotel is the staff. They are very friendly and willing to help with anything. We were given great restaurant recommendations. I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We found this hotel by chance. We walked down the pedestrian area in Chamonix and decided to stay for a night in this small town. We walked in the reception and asked for a room. Jérôme made us an interesting offer and guided us to 4 rooms, to have a look at the different categories. We decided to stay, to rooms were very nice, the situation quiet and the whole staff very sympathic. I'm speaking french, but I noticed that the reception staff speaks an excellent English, which is not so common in France.

The bed was very comfortable, we had a view to the river. It was very, very clean. The only negative point was, it was very hot in the room. You could not sleep without letting the window open (it was exceptionnally hot in Chamonix, they had 28 °C when we arrived). The rooms are cosy with wooden panels.

The have a parking garage, they show it on a map an then one member of the staff waits for you at the bridge before the garage and guides you into your parking lot and to the reception.

The breakfast terrasse in the garden was beautiful, beside the river. We did have breakfast at one of the pâtisseries, in France it is so easy to have a wonderful croissant and a french coffee outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were looking for a hotel with swimming pool. Grand Hotel des Alpes was our choice because of location in the very heart of Chamonix, good reviews from most visitors and very atractive price. When we arrived, there were no doubts, location was perfekt. The staff was very friendly. Room was moderate, but well kept. We did not try even breakfast at the hotel (I believe the meals are also very good), because we are not "hungry eaters" and price for breakfast would be surely overpriced. What we enjoyed most was the swimming pool, which is rather small, but absolutely sufficient, taking into consideration that we were using it alone.

Room Tip: Only problem was noisy walking street below our window. Each night starting from 23:30 up to 1:30 th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great location, very very good breakfast, nice rooms. Very clean and everyone so friendly and helpful and extremely NICE.
Would come back anytime.
We arrived late after midnight. The hotel was waiting for our arrival. Helped us with parking, luggage and everything else. Hotel close to restaurants and gondolas. Have no idea why someone would stay anywhere else in Chamonix unless of course you are on a hostel budget and that would be quite understandable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, New Jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Grand hotel in style and service. Boutique hotel in size, style and service. The best of both worlds. Was once a very large hotel, it is now a boutique hotel with friendly individual service from the front desk to the dining room, to the housekeeping. Great central location in Chamonix with a beautiful view of the Aiguille du Midi. Definitely a place to return to.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Alpes

Address: Rue du Docteur Paccard, 75, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.