We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere to your Saves list
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   187 Promenade Marie Paradis, 74400 Chamonix, France (Formerly Maeva Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed in two bedroomed appartment whic hwas privately rented. spotless appartment with good standard of decor and equipments. Apartments are very centrl for Chamonix town centre and access to bus routes and slopes. Chamonix is idylic town perfrect for family holiday skiing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    83
    51
    14
    11
See reviews for
77
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in the La Riviere apartments last year and were impressed so stayed here again this year and were impressed again. They're by no means luxurious but are great if you're going for the snow and just want somewhere clean and comfortable to stay. They're located in an area with plenty of shops, a 2 minute walk from the main street, at the main Chamonix Sud SkiBus stop and a 2 min walk from the Aiguille du Midi gondola. There is also a free heated private ski locker on the ground floor.

I was a bit nervous booking the first time as there were very mixed reports here but I wonder now if it's the difference between the main La Rivière building (where reception is) and the Les Aiglons building. We stayed in the Les Aiglons each time and found both apartments quiet, spacious with comfortable beds but we had friends rent one in La Rivière this year and not be so impressed. So my recommendation would be to rent one of their "Apartment 2 bedrooms for 6/7 people(In the Les Aiglons building) 55sqm" apartments which come with a small room with a single bunk bed in it (perfectly suitable for 6' males to sleep in), a room with a double bed and up to three beds (two of them perfect for adults) in the main living area from converting the sofas.

My only complaint is that the bath/shower is dreadfully designed so a few people having showers in a row will lead to a river of water running out the bathroom door, hardly a major issue though!

Room Tip: I'd suggest the Les Aiglons building as the rooms are bigger and sound like they are in better c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Good location close to transport links, and amenities.
Helpful staff.
Very clean room.
Let down by old cooking utensils and rock solid bed.
But overall for the price paid great value comparatively to other apartments.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelationClientPVR, Directeur général at Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Mr Ellis,

Thank you for your sharing your recent experience with us. It is a great pleasure to note your satisfaction, which I will be most happy to share with the entire team.

We hope to welcoming you again in our Pierre & Vacances Chamonix residence.

Best regards,
Karine GROSPELLIER
Manager Pierre & Vacances La Rivière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Managed to fill the apartment to its maximum capacity (5 people). Felt rather cosy but everyone had a bed to sleep in and there was enough room for everyone to move around in. The bootroom is easy to access and reasonably secure (code to get in and then a key for the lockers) although the lockers were pretty small - 2 snowboards and 3 sets of skis fit in with some careful arranging). Right next to the bus stop that leads to pretty much every stop in the Chamonix area, although the bus rides at the end of the day can be very cramped and slow. There's also a pizzeria just down the road (Hoppiza I think) which was delicious and a spar and skiset a few minutes walk away. The only criticisms of the apartment are that the dishwasher leaked a bit and the kitchennette was tiny.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelationClientPVR, Directeur général at Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Muddyfeet14,

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated your apartment and its equipment in regards to your recent stay at our residence and take note of your comments regarding the kitchen area and ski lockers.

We also thank you for your advice on the bus stops, the closeness of our partner Skiset and supermarket, accentuating our central geographic location in Chamonix.

We hope to welcoming have the pleasure to welcoming you again in our residence.

Best regards,

Karine Grospellier
Pierre & Vacances La Rivière manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Chamonix has a lot going for it as an outdoor holiday destination - and the prices generally reflect this. But these apartments and studios are at least a factor of two cheaper than any equivalent accommodation in the town. I paid about £200 for a week in a studio that could, potentially, sleep a family of four - where would you get that in the UK? My three younger colleagues stayed in a two-bedroom apartment for £260 for a week. Yes, the accommodation is fairly basic (although there's a dishwasher): you have to make up your own beds and you have to pay for extras such as towels, parking, and wifi, but it's very clean, fairly comfortable (as long as you're not expecting luxury), and centrally placed in the town. I thought it was an excellent all round choice and plan to stay there again one day. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the lovely young lady in reception who helped me on Friday afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelationClientPVR, Directeur général at Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear "TheProfessor34",

Thank you very much for your comments and your recommendation. We are really happy to read that you had a good stay in our residence La Rivière and that you particularly appreciated the value for money of our apartments, the geographical situation of our residence in Chamonix and the availability of our staff. It is with pleasure that we shall welcome you again.

Best regards,
Karine Grospellier
Pierre & Vacances La Rivière Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The accommodation is well located and the staff are extremely professional and friendly. But the rooms suffer from a lot of traffic noise (and some late night shouting from the street). Even if you do find a quieter room, you won't sleep. The double-bed id an ingenious sofa bed. its springs are uncomfortable and extremely noisy. More noisy than my snoring, so I'm reliably informed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelationClientPVR, Directeur général at Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Keith B.,

We thank you for having taken time to write down your opinion concerning your stay in our residence La Rivière and regret not having been able to bring you complete satisfaction.

Chamonix being more a town than a mountain resort and our residence being situated in a lively area, our residents can be bothered by the sound muisances generated by the activity and attendance of Chamonix. However, the location of our residence allows our customers to enjoy the closeness of shops and the various leisure activities proposed by the town.

Concerning the quality of our bedding, please be assured that further to the various comments, finding a solution to this matter is one of our current priorities.

Though, my staff and I hope to see you again in our residence.

Best regards,
Karine Grospellier
Site Director Pierre & Vacances La Rivière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Poor quality bedding, poor quality kitchen equipment but good sizes sunny balcony and good sized rooms. the bedding was old and we had to purchase more for ourselves as reception would not replace anything. Maintenance men promised to provide missing kitchen utensils and chipped dishes but then didn't turn up with them




  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere

Address: 187 Promenade Marie Paradis, 74400 Chamonix, France (Formerly Maeva Residence)
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine and typically Savoyard resort. Shops and activities close by. Entirely renovated apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Pierre & Vacances, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence La Riviere Hotel Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.