We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cristal d'Argentiere Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Cristal d'Argentiere Apartments to your Saves list
Le Cristal d'Argentiere Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Charlet Straton, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

We have just come back from a week at these apartments and enjoyed them very much. The apartments themselves are relatively plain but very cosy and comfortable - and the heating works very well!!

They are centrally located, being close to what I suppose would be the High Street, with shops and restaurants and bars. The bus stops right outside the apartments giving access to 5 or 6 separate ski areas. Buses are clean and very regular - so pretty efficient.

The gondola at Grand Montets is a 10 minute walk (carting ski gear and children) but probably about 300-400m only.

Contrary to one of the reviews we ate at La Flambee on the main drag 5 nights out of 7. It is a delightful restaurant, with super food, very friendly staff, and a great wine list. Worth mentioning however that one of the main reasons we ate there so regularly is we found few opportunities elsewhere with good kid friendly food; although we tried and failed to get in at Le Dahu (booked up).

Skiing is good at Argentiere for intermediates and advanced skiers alike and the ski school was very good. Perhaps however fewer opportunities for beginners slopes - but do try Les Chostalets which is close to Grand Montets where there is a decent green run for young starters.

Le Tour also offers good skiing.

Only downsides are that the resort struggles a little to cope with high volumes of skiers aiming for the higher ground first thing. There is poorsih lift capacity to get away from village level. Once you are up the mountain, however, no such problems with a range of chairlifts and cable cars.

As for the accommodation, only two gripes. One is that they do not keep the outside paths properly gritted - which made them treacherous. The second point was that it would have been lovely had there been a residents' only bar / coffee lounge, within the lovely ground floor reception area. Whilst I know these are apartments with their own living areas, a bar would have been a nice way to relax in the evenings without having to venture out, and with kids tucked up in bed!

Overall we would definitely recommend this complex.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort and warmth
  • Disliked — Non gritted paths, no bar!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

Great place, great location so close to Grand Montets cable car, short walk even with all your gear on. Staff were a little snooty at times however not a great enough deterrent to keep me from going back there. Excellent mountain views from a large number of rooms so the chances are good.

Do be aware the smaller 5 person apartment has quite small Bunk beds really only suitable for children.


In the street;

The smaller of the two Deli's on the main road in Argentiere is great, stay clear of La Flambee's Restaurant. Rusticana is a great bar heard the food is good.

  • Liked — Location and Town.
  • Disliked — Bunk bed area is too small.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

Have just returned from a week at the Cristal d'Argentiere. The residence was perfect for us. Good location, nice rooms, good facilities and pleasant staff. Snow in Argentiere was not great but much better than in all the other resorts in the area. We booked through www.peakretreats.co.uk and it was their friendly staff who particularly recommended the place. We wanted to go to Chamonix with them initially but they told us that Argentiere would be more quiet and less crowded. I am glad that we chose Le Cristal and I would highly recommend these apartments. Make sure you get an apartment with views towards Mont-Blanc as some of the apartments haven't got that good views. Try Le Rusticana or Le Dahu for decent food.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The small outdoor car park
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a space in the underground car park
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2006

really great appartments, right beside resturants, bus and railway. So cosy and cute. bread delivered to reception each am very reasonable. totally recommend them Look for Mont Blanc 21 a huge appt. great kitchens too

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Cristal d'Argentiere Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cristal d'Argentiere Apartments

Address: Rue Charlet Straton, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cristal d'Argentiere Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Cristal d'Argentiere Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cristal d`Argentiere Apartments Hotel Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cristal d'Argentiere Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.